|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
CICS 3270 bridge exit messages uppercased |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
royr |
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 2:58 am Post subject: CICS 3270 bridge exit messages uppercased |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 30 Jun 2001 Posts: 65 Location: Israel
|
Hi,
This is really a CICS question, but I'm posting it here in case anyone has experience with the 3270 bridge exit.
I wrote my own simple 3270 bridge exit which retrieves a message from an MQ queue and returns it the to the user program when it issues CICS RECEIVE. It works, but the user program receives uppercased text, even if the actual message is in lowecase. My exit returns the message as-is, but CICS somehow uppercases it on the way from the exit to the user program.
I tried altering the user program to use CICS RECEIVE with the ASIS parameter, but it made no difference. The CICS API Reference says that the inbound data will be uppercased depending on the terminal definition. What is the terminal definition for transactions running under the bridge environment? How do I change it? I guess it's related to the bridge facility definition, but I couldn't find any parameter that controls uppercasing.
Clues, anyone? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bob_buxton |
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 4:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 23 Aug 2001 Posts: 266 Location: England
|
I am somewhat confused about what you are trying to do.
Are you trying to use the CICS Bridge directly rather than using the supplied MQ-CICS 3270 bridge (CKBR transcation).
What version of CICS are you using and which flavour of CICS bridge - In CICS TS 2.2 there is a Link bridge which is simpler to use than the Attach bridge in earlier CICS releases.
In any case I think you may need to look at the FacilityLike fields where you can supply an existing terminal definition to be used as the model for the bridge's facility. _________________ Bob Buxton
Ex-Websphere MQ Development |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
royr |
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 4:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 30 Jun 2001 Posts: 65 Location: Israel
|
Hi Bob,
We have CICS TS 1.3. I'm not trying to convert existing 3270 transactions, but existing transactions which use SNA LU0 for input and output. We are trying to provide a mechanism that allows the transaction programmer to use MQ without "knowing" about it. The exit gives me control in key points (init, term, RECEIVE, SEND...) which I use to convert the communication protocol from SNA to MQ.
Another reason we're not using the Link bridge is that we have quite a lot of different transactions (a few hundreds, maybe a thousand), and we want each transaction to have its own "inbox" queue. The supplied bridges all use a single "input" queue which is a single point of failure. This may cause inter-transaction interference (i.e, one transaction filling the queue, disabling other transactions). Also, the client needs to add a header (MQCIH) to specify which transaction is requested, which adds complexity as the clients are running on multiple platforms and languages.
So I'm using the CICS bridge directly, e.g., I wrote a program that acts as a bridge exit and start the user transaction with START BREXIT(MYEXIT).
As for the Facility - what terminal definition can I use that does not cause uppercasing?
Cheers,
Roy. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
royr |
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2003 5:20 am Post subject: [solved] CICS 3270 bridge exit messages uppercased |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 30 Jun 2001 Posts: 65 Location: Israel
|
Hi,
Got a reply at a neighboring forum: If unspecified by the bridge exit or the transaction profile definition, the FACILITYLIKE defaults to CBRF. CBRF is a default terminal definition which is associated with the TYPETERM "DFHLU2", which has a UCtrans option of "Yes". Changing that to No solved the problem  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|