|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
time a msg is in a queue |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
MQGuy2000 |
Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2003 10:28 am Post subject: time a msg is in a queue |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 20 Jul 2003 Posts: 131
|
is teher anyway we can say how much time a message is on a queue. I mean teh time at which the message is put on a queue and teh time it is taken by the application??
Did any come across this scenario?
Please help.
MQGuy2000 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Well, with a product like MQSeries, you need to consider the clock differences between machines hosting the queue managers. Assuming you have some central clock server that all the machines are sync'ed to, you can be depend on machine A's clock being the same as machine B's. Let's say an application connects to A's queue manager and puts the message to a queue in B's queue manager. When the message is handed off to A's queue manager, the PUTTIME attribute in the MQMD gets set. The message may linger on A for a while (the channel to B may be down, or there may be other messages on the transmission queue, etc.) but it will eventually make it to the queue on B. Now another application retrieves the message. When the MQGET call returns, it should immediately get the current time. It can now compare this to the PUTTIME attribute in the message, the delta being the time it took the message to get from the putting application to the getting application.
Another way to do it is to have the putting application get the current time right before it puts the message and then append this value to the message contents (or even the correlid if your application is controlling that). This method is useful when you want the time to already be in a certain format on the receiving end (like milliseconds since 1970, etc...) _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
If you are putting and getting from the same queue, the easiest way is to do the put with a known Expiry value. When you do the get, the Expiry will have been decremented by however long the message was on the queue, in tenths of a second. Subtract the Expiry after the get from the known value that was used on the put and you will have the number you are looking for, down to the 1/10 of a second. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|