ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » 2058 MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR with use of MQCHLTAB in C#

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 2058 MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR with use of MQCHLTAB in C# « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

pnicolay wrote:
or is he making the assumption based on the fact that I use MQEnvironment settings for host, port and channel) ?


No, he's using the method documented at the bottom of the link you posted to determine connection type based on what you've set or not set. There's no assumption.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

mqjeff wrote:
You always want to make it significantly more complicated that it should be.

Why can't we just leave it at SET?

Jeff, were you having a bad day yesterday? Complicated? I think you meant Explicit.

This is an English language description of the solution:
RogerLacroix wrote:
Or did you set the NMQ_MQ_LIB to mqic.dll

This is an explicit sample of the solution:
RogerLacroix wrote:
Or did you set the NMQ_MQ_LIB to mqic.dll
Code:
<configuration>
  <appSettings>
    <add key="NMQ_MQ_LIB" value="mqic.dll"/>
  </appSettings>
</configuration>


I gave the explicit sample because a lot of people have problems reading / understanding the English language.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

It's more complicated to adjust the .NET assembly than it is to issue the windows command line SET command in the runtime environment.

It may be *better* to adjust the .NET assembly, but it is still more COMPLICATED.

SET NMQ_MQ_LIB=mqic.dll is a simpler invocation, if only because it is fewer characters.

I realize that you frequently have to deal with people who speak Quebecois, but I didn't expect that this usage of 'complicated' required much explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

pnicolay wrote:
I do wonder however why I would need to set it since not using a channel definition table works fine (or is he making the assumption based on the fact that I use MQEnvironment settings for host, port and channel) ?

No, I am not making any assumptions.

1) If you want to use "managed" mode with your .NET application then set it up and it will work.

2) If you want to use a CCDT with your .NET application then you CANNOT use "managed" mode, you need to use "client" mode.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

mqjeff wrote:
SET NMQ_MQ_LIB=mqic.dll is a simpler invocation, if only because it is fewer characters.

That doesn't work.

Setting an environment variable is not the same as setting application configuration information.

I have not tested WMQ v7.0.1.3 with a .NET application, so WMQ may now check both but previously WMQ only checked application configuration information.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

RogerLacroix wrote:
mqjeff wrote:
SET NMQ_MQ_LIB=mqic.dll is a simpler invocation, if only because it is fewer characters.

That doesn't work.




It certainly used to, at least for VB6 stuff....

It's worth testing. But I'm not gonna bother.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

mqjeff wrote:
It certainly used to, at least for VB6 stuff....

It's worth testing. But I'm not gonna bother.

Ah ha. You made the assumption that VB6 == .NET, it is not.

VB6 uses the native WMQ framework which means you can use bindings or client mode.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mqjeff
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

RogerLacroix wrote:
mqjeff wrote:
It certainly used to, at least for VB6 stuff....

It's worth testing. But I'm not gonna bother.

Ah ha. You made the assumption that VB6 == .NET, it is not.


No... I merely assumed that the .NET framework would read the same environment variables that the VB framework did....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pnicolay
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 26

I changed my test program from...

Code:
MQManager = new MQQueueManager("MYQM");


to...

Code:
Hashtable connProps = new Hashtable();
connProps.Add(MQC.TRANSPORT_PROPERTY, MQC.TRANSPORT_MQSERIES_CLIENT);
MQManager = new MQQueueManager("MYQM", connProps);


... but now the .Net program waits forever on the new MQQueueManager (and takes 50% CPU) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pnicolay
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 26

And changing my app.config file to (removing again the hash table)...

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuration>
    <configSections>
    </configSections>
    <appSettings>
      <add key="NMQ_MQ_LIB" value="mqic.dll"/>
    </appSettings>
</configuration>


... results in the same issue on the new MQQueueManager.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

I may be missing a post in this growing thread, but have you confirmed the correct installation of the client on the machine you're running on, and the correct client configuration on the queue manager, using one of the samples?

I accept unreservedly that, if there was a problem with either of those things the .NET should has got a 2059. But it can't hurt to check.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pnicolay
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 26

The installation is a Websphere MQ Server 7.0.1.3 on my PC (of which I don't use the server part, it itsn't active). I presume this is a valid client as well, I doubt if I can install a seperate client on top of it.

The MYQM to which I'm connecting is running on an iSeries, and works fine from C# without a channel definition table, as well as from Java (so the server configuration should be fine).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Remember when you create the qmgr with name QMGR in your program that if that is not the actual name of the qmgr (see qmgr name and corresponding entry in channel table mismatching) you need to use *QMGR as the qmgr name to create your qmgr object...
ex
actual qmgr name QMGR1
qmgr name on channel definition in table is MYQMGR
you build the object using "*MYQMGR"


_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pnicolay
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 29 Nov 2010
Posts: 26

I can confirm that following names all match;

- name of the actual queuemanager on iSeries
- name of the queuemanager in the client connection channel
- name of the queuemanager on the new statement in C#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ramires
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 24 Jun 2001
Posts: 523
Location: Portugal - Lisboa

Do you still have the 2058 error?
Can you do a trace from the client side?
Can you use the sample amqsputc like explained here:

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21166938

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Page 2 of 4

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » 2058 MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR with use of MQCHLTAB in C#
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.