Author |
Message
|
EddieA |
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
davesiemek |
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 7:09 am Post subject: RFH2 header |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Aug 2008 Posts: 1
|
If I'm not mistaken, the RFH2 header is not ASCII, it is Unicode. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 1:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
No to kill all this nice budding cobol development, but is there an XMS package for the mainframe in C libraries ? This should then take care of creating the RFH header...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Like the mainframe, COBOL is definitely not dead, not dying, not even feeling all that bad.
Another career opportunity as COBOL programmers take retirement. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:57 pm Post subject: Re: Hi |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
hikaps14 wrote: |
It's been few Years now. Have we proceeded any further in cobol? |
What do you mean, exactly? Proceeded with what? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hikaps14 |
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Jan 2012 Posts: 4
|
The Final COBOL code to generate RFH2 Header with correct population of USR folder.
Have searched MQS guide & Cobol guide. Not Found much help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hikaps14 |
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Jan 2012 Posts: 4
|
Thanks, I also found this and a few more. I have got the basic RFH2 Structure.
I am looking for any variable we need to set while Message PUT. I have set MQMD Format as RFH2-HEADER.
I also need to Populate USER-FOLDER. Not able to find anything, how to populate it.
The best would have a sample script. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hikaps14 |
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:02 pm Post subject: COBOL + MQ RFH2 HEADER |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Jan 2012 Posts: 4
|
Need some Help.
I had some progress in Cobol + RFH2 header.
Currently I am able to Populate either of 3 folders at a time. usr, mcd , jms.
If I populate only single folder, it gets populated correctly along with a check mark in RFHUtil.
If I try and send all 3 folders together. Only the topmost folder gets checked & populated correctly. Rest 2 folders get ignored.
The way I am passing these are as below in order:
1)name-value length
2)name value data
2 A) mcd(len, data)
2 B) jms(len, data)
2 C) usr(len, data)
any clue guys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:07 am Post subject: Re: COBOL + MQ RFH2 HEADER |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
hikaps14 wrote: |
any clue guys. |
My first guess would be the alignment is wrong. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:39 am Post subject: Re: COBOL + MQ RFH2 HEADER |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Vitor wrote: |
hikaps14 wrote: |
any clue guys. |
My first guess would be the alignment is wrong. |
My first guess would be that someone is not using MQSETMP, or whatever the cobol version is.
i.e. USE MESSAGE PROPERTIES. STOP THINKING ABOUT MQRFH2 HEADERS. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 6:58 am Post subject: Re: COBOL + MQ RFH2 HEADER |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
i.e. USE MESSAGE PROPERTIES. STOP THINKING ABOUT MQRFH2 HEADERS. |
I see nothing to indicate that WMQv7 is in use.
Given that the problem has been raised by someone who chose to reopen a 7 year old post (which spasmed 4 years ago) it's unlikely they're up to date with software levels.
But yes, the problem of generating RFH2 headers will fix itself in time. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:03 am Post subject: Re: COBOL + MQ RFH2 HEADER |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Vitor wrote: |
mqjeff wrote: |
i.e. USE MESSAGE PROPERTIES. STOP THINKING ABOUT MQRFH2 HEADERS. |
I see nothing to indicate that WMQv7 is in use. |
And yet, I see nothing to indicate that it's not.
A reminder that continuing to struggle against this technical challenge may in fact be eliminated entirely by using proper coding techniques for modern mq applications can only be helpful, yes?
My most likely suspect when trying to troubleshoot MQRFH2 building code is that length calculations are not properly including all of the necessary components. And then that fields are not being properly padded to the necessary byte boundaries - and then that those padding changes are not being added back into the lengths... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:05 am Post subject: Re: COBOL + MQ RFH2 HEADER |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
mqjeff wrote: |
My most likely suspect when trying to troubleshoot MQRFH2 building code is that length calculations are not properly including all of the necessary components. And then that fields are not being properly padded to the necessary byte boundaries - and then that those padding changes are not being added back into the lengths... |
Yes but the way I said it was shorter!  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hikaps14 |
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Jan 2012 Posts: 4
|
Thx for all you responses.
Quote: |
i.e. USE MESSAGE PROPERTIES. STOP THINKING ABOUT MQRFH2 HEADERS. |
I tried searching for MQSETMP. I found a link for Cobol invocation in WMQ. I am not sure, if I need this.
As far as alignment is concerned, I have tried various permutation/combinations. When Calculating lengths, I am don't think I am missing anything. I could be wrong in alignment though.
I will try to give more details regarding my alignments.
All individual length fields are multiples of 4. Have padded spaces at the end of each data D1, D2 & D3 if required.
1)name-value length ( len of D1 + D2 + D3 + 12)
2)name value data
2 A) mcd
L1 - MCD length (len of D1)
D1 - MCD data (convert this data into UTF-8 )
2 B) jms
L2 - JMS length (len of D2)
D2 - JMS data (convert this data into UTF-8 )
2 C) usr
L3 - USR length (len of D3)
D3 - USR data (convert this data into UTF-8 )
Which ever folder I mention first, that gets populated correctly.
I have also tried removing L1, L2, L3 from layout and then have combined length on Namevaluelength without those 12 bytes.
I am not able to find the specific layout for cobol,z/os for RFH2. Is it any specific structure I need to follow?
[/quote] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|