ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Queues on remote servers

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Queues on remote servers « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
klamerus
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 4:54 am    Post subject: Queues on remote servers Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Just using an extract from one of the samples,

What sort of string would I provide for qmName to connect to a queue manager named "Bob" on a remote server named "Bill" that was running on the default ports?

MQCONN(qmName, &hConn, &compCode, &connReason);

I've never quite gotten this to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

It depends on how you have defined the client connection information...

But usually it's a good idea to put in the actual Qmgr name.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Yes, I'm really looking for the syntax of how to put together the queue manager name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

Quote:
MQCONN(qmName, &hConn, &compCode, &connReason);


Try

Quote:
MQCONN("your qmgr", &hConn, &compCode, &connReason);
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

The queue manager name in all cases will be "Bob". Except that, in some cases, you can leave it blank.

The parameters to establish a client connection are not specified in the MQCONN call directly. They are established in one of three ways
  • Through a properly formatted MQSERVER environment variable
  • Through a lookup of the Qmgr Name in the MQ Client Channel Table (located using the MQCLNT* Environment variables)
  • Through the parameters to MQCONNX


At least in things like VB and C/C++ that use the MQCONN call. The .NET object-oriented interface uses the MQEnvironment object - as does the Java object-oriented interface.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

I was hoping there might be another syntax something like the UNC notation. For instance:

\\BILL(1414)\Bob

or something similar. Especially in a program that needs to connect and work with multiple remote queue managers. For instance, if we want to query the depths on queues on 5 separate servers from a single centralized location, you'd prefer to not be playing games iwth environmental variables.

So, It MQCONNX is might be better. I haven't used that before, but can you toss out how to use that to connect to QM BOB on server BILL?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

Code:

'**************************************************************************************
' Build a hash table to hold all the connection info
'**************************************************************************************
Dim myHashTable As New Hashtable
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.HOST_NAME_PROPERTY, "TheHostName")  'TheHostName = "Bill"
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.PORT_PROPERTY, ThePort)
myHashTable.Add(IBM.WMQ.MQC.CHANNEL_PROPERTY, "TheChannelName")
'**************************************************************************************
' Connect to the Queue Manager  - Note you do not need to specify a QM name for clients
'**************************************************************************************
myQMObject = New MQQueueManager(" ", myHashTable)

That's how I do it in VB.NET
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

klamerus wrote:
I haven't used that before, but can you toss out how to use that to connect to QM BOB on server BILL?


Use the object oriented interface, exactly how Peter showed you. It's vastly simpler than using MQCONNX.

Otherwise, see http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22794
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Sorry, so to jump back I should clarify I'm looking at C. A sample in C would be what I'm looking for here.

That being said, we are going in the VB.Net direction on everything here - so I'd appreciate anyone forwarding me any code (no matter how "unproud" people may be of it) to help us build up on samples in that area.

Given your example in VB.Net, if you don't specify a QM, and if we're looking to connect to a queue (named BOB), what would we put in the ChannelName to get to that queue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

klamerus wrote:
A sample in C would be what I'm looking for here.

jefflowrey wrote:
see http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=22794

_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

klamerus wrote:
Given your example in VB.Net, if you don't specify a QM, and if we're looking to connect to a queue (named BOB), what would we put in the ChannelName to get to that queue


Your MQAdmin will tell your what SVRCONN channel is available on the QM for you to use to connect a client to. He / She will also provide the port #. Any you alreadt nknow the hostname.

Because there can only be 1 QM, ever, listening on a particular hostname / port number, that is unique enough, and thus you do not need the QM name in the connect, although if you want, you can code it.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klamerus
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

Very nice pointer/reference. Thank you.

I like the response about the person's "#$!!#!@!#!@" code.

Too funny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
klamerus
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2005 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 199
Location: Detroit, MI

I think I'll take a spin at the VB.Net with this one too. That is where we want to go with this. Perhaps now is the time.

Now I just have to figure out how to get my working sample doing the Statistics Resets to work in the .Net framework
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Queues on remote servers
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.