Author |
Message
|
shannon |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 7:55 am Post subject: Handling large MQ messages |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7
|
Hi,
I would like to know how other MQ administrators are handling large MQ messages. We have customers that will be sending 4M messages to us. These messages will be hopping through multiple queue managers before reaching their final destination of a z/os queue manager. Are their any best practices out there for handling large messages (eg. compress them, do not use persistant messages, seperate channels, batchsize...)?
Thanks
Shannon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 8:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Find out how large the messages will be then modify the MAXMSGL attributes for all the objects involved including the MQManagers, Channels QLocals, XMITQ's and the dead letter queues.
If the actual size of the messages is 4meg then make the MAXMSGL 6meg to give yourself a little breathing room. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shannon |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7
|
Thanks, good point about the 6M! I am also concerned about how quickly these messages will travel through the network and logging the messages since they are hopping through a number of queue managers. 4M seems quite large to me. Should we insist they compress the messages first for performance?
Thanks
Shannon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
4 megs is not that large. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
4 megs is not that large. |
jefflowrey is right, 4meg does not constitute a large message. I have 12meg messages going across some of my MQManagers and once they are placed on the MQManager they are delivered in mili-seconds.
However it does take a bit longer for the applications to get these messages off the MQManager but it hasn't caused any problems so far. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shannon |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7
|
We have an application that sends 10 1Meg messages to an external partner. The messages fly around our network very quickly but take 1 hour to be sent to the external partner. I am assuming this slowdown must be related to the underlying network???? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Yes.
How fast is the link to the external party?
Also - it may be a confusion in date/time stamps. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shannon |
Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 10:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7
|
I am not sure. Thanks for your feedback on this topic.
Shannon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jdyer |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:04 am Post subject: how? |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 24 Nov 2004 Posts: 6
|
where do you get the message size information. I apologize, I'm knew to this. How can I get document attributes that are in the queue such as size, timestamp, etc.? _________________ Jeff |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
If you just want to look at the message size or any other queue/message/qmgr attribute, you might want to check out the support pack MO71.
If you want to have it for your monitoring, please look at your other post, where you asked the same question  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shannon |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7
|
If you are looking for the date and time that a message was put on a queue you need to look at the putdate and puttime in the MQMD of the message itself. Not sure how to get the message size.
Shannon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sebastianhirt |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 07 Jun 2004 Posts: 620 Location: Germany
|
Quote: |
Not sure how to get the message size. |
You would also get it from the MQMD. The name of the field should be something like data length or message length or something simmilar. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shannon |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 Posts: 7
|
I don't see it in the MQMD but there is a MQGMO option called ReurnedLength which will give you the message length but you must be using MQGMO_VERSION_3 or higher.
Shannon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 5:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
If you want the message size of a specific message, you can get that by issuing an MQGET with a zero length buffer. WMQ will return the actual message length in the message length parameter. However, you'd be better off specifying what you think is the correct size and then re-getting the message if it is returned truncated with a larger buffer.
If you want the MAXMSGL parameter for the queue, you can this from a PCF message. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 4:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
csmith28 wrote: |
jefflowrey wrote: |
4 megs is not that large. |
jefflowrey is right, 4meg does not constitute a large message. I have 12meg messages going across some of my MQManagers and once they are placed on the MQManager they are delivered in mili-seconds. |
Chris, you can move 12Meg messages between QMs in milliseconds?
Would you mind sharing some of the hardware specs that allow you to acheive that rate? I am not being sarcastic, just curious. I loaded up an XMITQ with 300KB messages, and once the channel started, all I got was about 20 to 25 per second going across. It was my LAB Windows 2000 server sending to a z/OS QM. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|