Author |
Message
|
kotha |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 12:16 pm Post subject: [SOLVED]Buildtime-UPES |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
I have designed a process which has three activities:
Activity A------->Actvity B -----> Activity C [UPES]
Activity A -------------->Activity C [UPES]
based on the controlconditon the flow will be either A to B to C or A to C. where C is UPES.
Now, when the process flow is from A to B to C, I can see message in the Queue.
and When the process is from A to C, I cannt see any message in the queue and the workitem disappears.
Do I need to define UPES for every activity? It shouldnt be like that......
Last edited by kotha on Thu May 19, 2005 3:39 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 12:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Check your control connectors again.
I would suspect that the flow in not taking the A->C path at all. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
it is taking, even I tested with a dummy activity between A and C.
I changed the control connector to default, with condition and with out condition too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 5:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I bet you are using modeler.
And that your start condition for C says All incoming connectors are true.
Am I right  _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 5:12 am Post subject: [Solved]Buildtime-Upes |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
I was expecting answer from you!!!.
I am not using modeler but the start condition was "all incoming connectors are true". After your posting, I changed the condition to "Atleast one incoming connection true" and now it is perfect.
But I want to know What this condition is all about?. what is the difference?
your postings are helping me a lot.
many thanx Jmac! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Kotha:
The reason I suspected modeler is that this is one of the cases where Modeler and Buildtime have different defaults.
Now, lets talk about this "Start Condition".
What this does is determine WHEN an activity can start, and the first thing to remember is that unless you have more than one control connector comming into an activity the setting does not matter.
So, lets say you have multiple connectors comming into an activity. Each connector can be evaluated to one of the 3 "connector" states TRUE, FALSE, or UNEVALUATED. No activity will ever start if any control connector is in the UNEVALUATEDstate. What I am saying is that MQWF deals with syncronization of activities at a join activity without the use of the Start Condition. SO, if your connectors coming in do not have transition conditions then they are Always evaluated TRUE and again the setting of the Start Condition is moot. The only time Start Condition comes into play is when you have one or more of the incoming connectors that has a transition condition associated with it. In the case where that connector evaluates FALSE the activity will never start, and in a sense it becomes an "end" node.
Hope this helps _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Fri May 06, 2005 6:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
Thx Jmac! this helps me a lot. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
elvis_gn |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 4:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 1905 Location: Dubai
|
If i have say three activities A, B and C.
Suppose the output container of A and B are to C, and C has the condition "all connectors true".
Let us say that A and B are getting the same activity from some common higher level activity.
A ------------------------->|
higher level activity------>| C ------------
B ------------------------->|
If A submitted the workitem and it has come to C , will it be accessable at C ??? Where is it until B successfully submits to C ??? Or what state is it in ?? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 5:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
elvis_gn wrote: |
If i have say three activities A, B and C.
Let us say that A and B are getting the same activity from some common higher level activity.
A ------------------------->|
higher level activity------>| C ------------
B ------------------------->|
If A submitted the workitem and it has come to C , will it be accessable at C ??? Where is it until B successfully submits to C ??? Or what state is it in ?? |
Is C activity an UPES??. If so and if C has two or more incoming connectors, the condition of C(if C is UPES) is atleast one incoming connectors true.
If workitem A checked out, the flow is from higher activity-------->A----->C and B will not be accessible.
Try it out with different conditions to find the answer and post the conclusive answer!!!. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 5:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
elvis_gn wrote: |
If i have say three activities A, B and C.
Suppose the output container of A and B are to C, and C has the condition "all connectors true".
Let us say that A and B are getting the same activity from some common higher level activity.
A ------------------------->|
higher level activity------>| C ------------
B ------------------------->|
If A submitted the workitem and it has come to C , will it be accessable at C ??? Where is it until B successfully submits to C ??? Or what state is it in ?? |
This is what I am hearing.... I have A and B in parallel with a Join at C.
You don't say anything about transition conditions from A to C and from B to C, so I am going to assume no transition condition.
At the start A is Ready; B is Ready; C is Inactive.
Now you say A is finished.
So B is still either Ready or Running and C is still Inactive.
C will never put into a ready state until ALL control connectors that are entering have been evaluated. A control connector is only evaluated when the activity at its "source" end is completed. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
elvis_gn |
Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 1905 Location: Dubai
|
Hi,
hey jmac, u got my point.
What i want to know now is, A has finished, B is Ready....
Does C have a workitem ??
What is there in C at this point of time when B has his workitem in Ready state ??? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
elvis_gn wrote: |
Does C have a workitem ??
What is there in C at this point of time when B has his workitem in Ready state ??? |
You still have a way to go in understaning workflow.... I gave you the answer to your question in my last post.
jmac wrote: |
So B is still either Ready or Running and C is still Inactive. |
When are workitems generated for an activity, assuming that there will be a workitem generated? When it becomes READY _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kotha |
Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 6:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 333
|
elvis_gn wrote: |
Hi,
What i want to know now is, A has finished, B is Ready....
Does C have a workitem ??
What is there in C at this point of time when B has his workitem in Ready state ??? |
Jmac already gave the answer but let me put it another way.
When you mention the condition "atleast one incoming connector true", in your scenario---> C will be in Ready status if either A or B finished.
When you mention the condition "all incoming connectors true", in your scenario---> C will be in Ready status if both A and B finished.
Please make me correct if I understood wrong. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri May 13, 2005 6:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
kotha wrote: |
When you mention the condition "atleast one incoming connector true", in your scenario---> C will be in Ready status if either A or B finished.
When you mention the condition "all incoming connectors true", in your scenario---> C will be in Ready status if both A and B finished.
Please make me correct if I understood wrong. |
Kotha, not true... C will be in the inactive state until both A and B have finished. No activity will ever be put into Ready state untill all connectors coming into it have been evaluated.
The KEY thing here is that a Control Connector is a 3 state object:
If any connector is in an Unevaluated state C has to be Inactive. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
elvis_gn |
Posted: Sun May 15, 2005 10:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 08 Oct 2004 Posts: 1905 Location: Dubai
|
This is what i wanted to know from the beginning,
That C will be inactive.
Thx. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|