ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » runmqdlq question on multiple qmanagers

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 runmqdlq question on multiple qmanagers « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
lnm
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:04 pm    Post subject: runmqdlq question on multiple qmanagers Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Mar 2002
Posts: 43
Location: Florida

I have several Qmanagers running on each server (AIX and Windows). How do I have one dead letter handler running for each box, rather than each Qmanager separately. Or do I have to have one for each Qmanager? I want to use the same rules file for every Qmanager.
I can script it to pull the DLQ name and QM name. If I do that though, I have to let it run once for each Qmanager then stop. Any suggestions? I've searched and nothing really addresses this in the manuals.[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Well.

You could define the dead letter queue on each QM as a remote queue to a local queue on one of the QMs.

But then, what if the channel fails to that QM, and messages need to go to the Dead Letter Queue because they can't go through the channel?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lnm
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Mar 2002
Posts: 43
Location: Florida

I don't want to move the messages around to other Qmangers. Most of the rules will either fwd, retry, or discard the message. I'm using the same rules file, I thought it would just be easier to keep up with verifying that one process is running on a machine as oppose to 3, 6, or 20 for each Qmanager. Keep those ideas coming! thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

The source for runmqdlq is included in the sample code.

I don't think it does what you want out of the box.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

I started to think of some ideas but then I stopped. I think Jeff is right. This isn't possible out of the box.
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Of course it should be possible

Set up the DLQ as a remote queue.

All messages then pool in a specific qmgr.
The header still has the information for where the message was headed.
What you will be missing is if the message lands on a dlq of a different qmgr as the one it was destined to.

The qmgr that gets all the dead letter queue messages must have a default path to all the participating qmgrs. This will ensure that you can retry or use

Code:
action(fwd) fwdq(myq) fwdqm(myqm) header(no)


Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
csmith28
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 1196
Location: Arizona

fjb_saper wrote:
Of course it should be possible

Set up the DLQ as a remote queue.

All messages then pool in a specific qmgr.
The header still has the information for where the message was headed.
What you will be missing is if the message lands on a dlq of a different qmgr as the one it was destined to.

The qmgr that gets all the dead letter queue messages must have a default path to all the participating qmgrs. This will ensure that you can retry or use

Code:
action(fwd) fwdq(myq) fwdqm(myqm) header(no)


Enjoy


Except he said, "I don't want to move the messages around to other Qmangers."
_________________
Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Sorry

In that case no magic..

Have a dead letter queue on each qmgr and process the rules on it.
Don't forget to put
Quote:
Wait(Yes)
in the first line of your rules.
Start the dlq handler at qmgr start and let it run until quiesce/shutdown.

Have a second DLQ setup for all the messages that don't fit the rules.
This will be the one you really need to investigate manually.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
lnm
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Mar 2002
Posts: 43
Location: Florida

OK, but there isn't any reason why I can't use the same rules table for all of the dlq handler processes right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

No you should be fine.
Just overwrite inputq and inputqm at command line level when starting the dlqhandler.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

fjb_saper wrote:
No you should be fine.
Just overwrite inputq and inputqm at command line level when starting the dlqhandler.

Enjoy


Which is where he started...
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 7:51 pm    Post subject: Re: runmqdlq question on multiple qmanagers Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

lnm wrote:
I want to use the same rules file for every Qmanager.
I can script it to pull the DLQ name and QM name. If I do that though, I have to let it run once for each Qmanager then stop. Any suggestions? I've searched and nothing really addresses this in the manuals.


jefflowry wrote:
Which is where he started...

Not quite. As I stated with the parameter WAIT(YES) in the first line of the rule book you do not have to restart the dlq handler. It acts like a trigger monitor. Add to that an additional Queue where you put all the messages that did not match any of the filter rules -- dlq needing human intervention and you're set.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:56 am    Post subject: Re: runmqdlq question on multiple qmanagers Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

fjb_saper wrote:
Not quite. As I stated with the parameter WAIT(YES) in the first line of the rule book you do not have to restart the dlq handler.

Except when he wants to change which queue manager it's talking to.

And I thought that leaving a DLQH running constantly was not recommended, as it might lead to dead locks if the DLQH tries to replay a message before the situation that caused the message to go to the DLQ has been fixed?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lnm
PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 12 Mar 2002
Posts: 43
Location: Florida

So are you saying it would be best to run it, let's say every hour as opposed to running it constantly in the background?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

I'm a little bit alarmed that anyone would want to permanently run the DLQ handler anyway.

Probably my main worry is that you are getting that many that you want to run a DLQ handler with such regularity in the first place. Personally I would rather not get any dead letters at all, but if and when I do get them then I would want to take a quick look at them before I took any decisions as to what to do with them. Then I would run the DLQ handler when I was happy that I knew what needed doing.

Of course that is just my opinion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » runmqdlq question on multiple qmanagers
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.