Author |
Message
|
ast |
Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2002 1:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Feb 2002 Posts: 7
|
Greetings,
After having developed an interface for an AS400 server using MQSeries Java Client, I now finally testing against the AS400 instead of a queue on WINNT get a lot of "¤¤¤¤¤***&&&###" characters instead of the ones intended. The machine I am running it on is a Windows NT.
So the question is, are MQSeries 5.1 character specific in any way, or what is it I am missing.
Thanks
/AST |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
StefanSievert |
Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2002 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 28 Oct 2001 Posts: 333 Location: San Francisco
|
Do you use the convert option on your MQGET within your Java program? If I'm not wrong, the AS/400 uses EBCDIC as opposed to ASCII on WinNT.
_________________ Stefan Sievert
IBM Certified * WebSphere MQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ast |
Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2002 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Feb 2002 Posts: 7
|
Hello,
As for now I do not use the character conversion. I cannot find any examples for that so any help will be appreciated
/AST |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2002 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Specify MQGMO_CONVERT option in MQGET call. Remember, this option will work for for STRING data types only. If you have any binary data then you will have to write user-exit to do the conversion.
_________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ast |
Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2002 11:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Feb 2002 Posts: 7
|
Thanks... It works now.
But I still have yet another problem when I am writing to the AS400. I have tried to use the characterSet function on my MQMessage object, but it still does not work.
Thanks again
/AST |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dnaren |
Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2002 12:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 10 Aug 2001 Posts: 45 Location: Charlotte, NC
|
check the MQMessenger app in 'Code Repository' Section. You will get an idea about using the Character Set and encoding options with your messages.
Good luck Feel free to ask me questions about that program. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ast |
Posted: Tue Apr 16, 2002 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Feb 2002 Posts: 7
|
Hello,
I could not add the characterSet() command succesfully to the message to be sent, so instead I converted the message before sending it with a script found on the net.
Thnaks for the help anyway
/AST |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|