Author |
Message
|
cs97jb |
Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 10:50 am Post subject: MQ Error: AMQ9534 Channel XXX is currently not enabled. |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
Hi,
It seems that a channel was ended but I'm not able to understand the explanation? What does it mean "is currently not enabled"??
Thanks,
Jignesh. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 11:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
What is the AMQ message number? _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
The message is:
02/01/2005 09:09:09
AMQ9534: Channel 'xxx' is currently not enabled.
EXPLANATION:
The channel program ended because the channel is currently not enabled.
ACTION:
Issue the START CHANNEL command to re-enable the channel.
This doesn't help explain to me why the channel was stopped/ended.
Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Jignesh. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
The information you require should be in the amqerrxx.log somewhere
Someone, somewhere has issued a stop for the channel. The channel will not be able to be triggered until a manual (or bat file) start command is issued. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
So are you saying that the channel cannot be stopped automatically and that it can only be stopped via a script of some kind or manually?
Also, if the Queue Manager is stopped, do the channels also stop? And if the Queue Manager starts, do the channels also start??
Thanks,
Jignesh. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
That depends on the disconnect interval on the channel. If the disconnect interval is set to 0 then, once the channel is started, the channel will never become inactive without 'manual' intervention. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
cs97jb wrote: |
So are you saying that the channel cannot be stopped automatically and that it can only be stopped via a script of some kind or manually?
Also, if the Queue Manager is stopped, do the channels also stop? And if the Queue Manager starts, do the channels also start??
Thanks,
Jignesh. |
basic MQ is that if the QM is running and the channels are started then they will run but may be inactive)
if yu shut down your QM and then restart then a manual operation is required to re start the queues which is normally carrie dout by a start up script routine |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
So starting up the QM doesn't automatically start up the channels... I see.
Once the QM is started, entries are placed in the AMxxxx.log file of this. However, if a script/manual process/etc.. was used to start up the channels, that should also be seen in the AMxxx.log file too, right?
This is what is in the log file:
01/13/2005 15:48:09
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'XXX' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/13/2005 15:48:09
AMQ9545: Disconnect interval expired.
EXPLANATION:
Channel 'YYY' closed because no messages arrived on the
transmission queue within the disconnect interval period.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/13/2005 15:48:09
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'YYY' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/24/2005 20:15:35
AMQ9411: Repository manager ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
The repository manager ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/24/2005 20:15:39
AMQ9542: Queue manager is ending.
EXPLANATION:
The program will end because the queue manager is quiescing.
ACTION:
None.
----- amqrimna.c : 845 --------------------------------------------------------
01/24/2005 20:15:49
AMQ8004: WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' ended.
EXPLANATION:
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' ended.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/24/2005 20:19:14
AMQ8003: WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' started.
EXPLANATION:
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' started.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
01/24/2005 20:19:14
AMQ9410: Repository manager started
EXPLANATION:
The repository manager started successfully.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/01/2005 09:09:09
AMQ9534: Channel 'XXX' is currently not enabled.
EXPLANATION:
The channel program ended because the channel is currently not enabled.
ACTION:
Issue the START CHANNEL command to re-enable the channel.
----- amqrcsia.c : 896 --------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 12:15:32
AMQ9002: Channel program started.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'XXX' started.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 12:15:41
AMQ9002: Channel program started.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'YYY' started.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: XXX is the sender channel. YYY is the receiver channel. QM1 is the Queue Manager.
Can someone look at this log and see where the problem might be. From what I've read in this thread, it seems that once the QM was started, the channel(s) weren't started - am I correct?
Thanks,
Jignesh. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
@cs97jb
Now pay attention.
Code: |
02/01/2005 09:09:09
AMQ9534: Channel 'XXX' is currently not enabled.
EXPLANATION:
The channel program ended because the channel is currently not enabled.
ACTION:
Issue the START CHANNEL command to re-enable the channel. |
The above alert means that the MQManager attempted to start the XXX channel but the XXX channel has a status of STOPPED. A channel that has a status of STOPPED cannot be started by the MQManager.
Open a DOS window and type:
Code: |
c:\WINNT\system32> runmqsc MQMANAGERNAME <enter> |
Then type:
Code: |
dis chs(XXX) status |
You should see something like:
Code: |
1 : dis chs(XXX) status
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(XXX) XMITQ(XXX.QX01)
CONNAME(server.domain.com(1413)) CURRENT
CHLTYPE(SDR) STATUS(STOPPED)
RQMNAME(RQMANANGER) |
Then issue the following:
Then run the "dis chs" command again and you should see something like this:
Code: |
1 : dis chs(XXX) status
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(XXX) XMITQ(XXX.QX01)
CONNAME(server.domain.com(1413)) CURRENT
CHLTYPE(SDR) STATUS(RUNNING)
RQMNAME(RQMANANGER) |
Then type:
This should make your "AMQ9534: Channel 'XXX' is currently not enabled." problem go away unless you have a more complicated problem on your hands. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 10:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
Hi,
Thanks for this information. I now understand that the queue manager was trying to start a stopped channel (which it can't). My concern is why the channel was in a stopped state.
The thing is, the channel XXX was started (as shown in the log snipet in the previous thread) manually by me but today, it was again in a stopped state. The only thing that has happened since starting it yesterday and seeing the stopped state today is that once I started it yesterday, messages were being sent (obviously) and then, in the evening, the machine was shutdown and then restarted this morning. Could the shutdown/startup have caused the channel to stay in a stopped state?
Here is the snipet of the log carried on from earlier in the thread:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 14:14:27
AMQ9545: Disconnect interval expired.
EXPLANATION:
Channel 'XXX' closed because no messages arrived on the
transmission queue within the disconnect interval period.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 14:14:28
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'XXX' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 14:14:28
AMQ9545: Disconnect interval expired.
EXPLANATION:
Channel 'YYY' closed because no messages arrived on the
transmission queue within the disconnect interval period.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 14:14:28
AMQ9001: Channel program ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'YYY' ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 17:35:28
AMQ9411: Repository manager ended normally.
EXPLANATION:
The repository manager ended normally.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 17:35:30
AMQ9542: Queue manager is ending.
EXPLANATION:
The program will end because the queue manager is quiescing.
ACTION:
None.
----- amqrimna.c : 845 --------------------------------------------------------
02/03/2005 17:35:39
AMQ8004: WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' ended.
EXPLANATION:
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' ended.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/04/2005 08:53:52
AMQ8003: WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' started.
EXPLANATION:
WebSphere MQ queue manager 'QM1' started.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/04/2005 08:53:52
AMQ9410: Repository manager started
EXPLANATION:
The repository manager started successfully.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
02/04/2005 10:37:23
AMQ9002: Channel program started.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'XXX' started.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for the help here. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Anirud |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 285 Location: Vermont
|
could you do a
under runmqsc and post it here? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
cs97jb wrote: |
Could the shutdown/startup have caused the channel to stay in a stopped state? |
No, under normal circumstances when an endmqm is issued it will not alter the saved status of a Channel. For example, if channel XXX was in a RUNNING state when the endmqm was issued, once the strmqm is issued the XXX Channel will be started.
If Channel XXX was in an "inactive" state when the endmqm was issued the channel will be left in an "inactive" state when the strmqm is issued.
Note: If a "stop chl(XXX)" is issued and the channel is anything other than a CHLTYPE(SVRCONN) the event should be recorded in the ~qmgr/QM1/error/AMQERR01.LOG.
I am only aware of two things can cause a channel to go into a STOPPED status. Either a "stop chl" was issued or the Channel was in a RETRY status and the value of LONGRTY has been exceeded. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cs97jb |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Feb 2005 Posts: 20
|
Here is the output from Anirud's command:
I changed the CONNAME IP address to something else (sensitive info I'm afraid)
dis chl(XXX) all
2 : dis chl(XXX) all
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(XXX) CHLTYPE(SDR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) DESCR( )
XMITQ(QM2) MCANAME( )
MODENAME( ) TPNAME( )
BATCHSZ(50) DISCINT(6000)
SHORTRTY(10) SHORTTMR(60)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(240)
SCYEXIT( ) SEQWRAP(999999999)
MAXMSGL(4194304) CONVERT(NO)
SCYDATA( ) USERID( )
PASSWORD( ) MCATYPE(PROCESS)
CONNAME(11.100.11.111(1111)) HBINT(300)
BATCHINT(0) NPMSPEED(FAST)
SSLCIPH( ) BATCHHB(0)
LOCLADDR( ) KAINT(AUTO)
MCAUSER( ) ALTDATE(2004-04-13)
ALTTIME(09.37.25) SSLPEER()
MSGEXIT( )
SENDEXIT( )
RCVEXIT( )
MSGDATA( )
SENDDATA( )
RCVDATA( )
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
vennela wrote: |
I remember reading in some of the posts that if the messages cannot be delivered and if the dead letter queue on the remote QMGR is also full, then a channel can go to a stopped state.
I'll try to find some links |
Well yeah, there is that.
Ok, I am only aware of three things that can~~~~~  _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|