Author |
Message
|
Albator |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:30 am Post subject: monitoring a queue manager |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Hello everyone!
I am using a monitoring tool to check if there is a tcp/ip connection available on port 1414 every minute. The problem is that I get an error generated in the event log every minute (which make sense since QM does not know how to handle that connection<--my assumption). Is there any way i can monitor the queue manager without generating an error? For instance, when you try to make a normal web tcp/ip connection, the web browser expects an action (such as GET). Anything I can do so the queue manager discards the connection or request gracefully?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 8:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Exactly what is this monitoring tool doing to "check if there is a tcp/ip connection available on port 1414"?
Quote: |
Is there any way i can monitor the queue manager without generating an error? |
Yes there are a number of home grown, free/shareware scripts/utilities and licensed products available but to be more specific it would help to know OS this MQManager running on? _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Albator |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
OS: Win2k Adv. server, Hardware Clustered.
MQ version: 5.3
The the tool verifies if a tcp/ip connection can be done, which mean the three way handshake is established and the connection is terminated because there is no request.
Any specific tools you recommend? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Checking that you can get to port 1414 won't guarantee that the qmgr is available. It only tells you that you have a listener running. If you are trying to see if the qmgr is available, you probably need to write a program that MQCONNs/MQDISCs to confirm that the qmgr is truly available. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
bower is right, you may also want to consider creating a .BAT that will use the dspmq command. Something simple.
Does your company already have a network monitoring tool in place like HP/Openview, CA-Unicenter or Tivoli?
Those, among others can be set up to monitor your Even Viewer Application Log for certain WebSphere MQ Events. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Keka |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 28 Dec 2002 Posts: 96
|
You can write a java program using PCF commands and make a connection to the queue manager.. We use this one as this confirms the queue manager & command sever being up for the queue manager. But again this is only if you need the command server check also. We use this to check channels and queue depths on xmit queues for all the queue managers from one place..
ofcource you can go for tools like contact admin, BMC petrol or QPASA..You will end up paying a lot of money for simple checking that you needed.. _________________ Keka |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Albator |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Thank you all for your replies. I will try the .bat solution as a first step... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Dec 01, 2004 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
On windows use amqmdain -status and sift through the output.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|