Author |
Message
|
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:49 pm Post subject: Channel not restarting fast enough |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
I am using a transmission queue and channel for intermittently connected systems (ie a computer gets unplegged).
I have tried and tried to adjust the retry settings of the channel to not much avail.
It always seems to take 5 minutes to get to a ready state no matter what I do.
If I manually restart the channel, it picks up immediately no problems.
Any ideas? I am really stuck, and this is a critical issue for using MQ - it has to be able to do better then this ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Please post the complete channel defintion from your runmqsc output.
Once the retry interval expires, it should start up immediatly if it can. Sounds like your retry interval is set 5 minutes. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:00 pm Post subject: Definitions |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
I defined the channels using runmqsc, but then setup the retry intervals from the UI - (as I have been experimenting).
Is there a way to dump out the current configuration?
For what its worth, here is the steps I used to configur it:
1) Creation @ Target System (ADFDLB01)
a) Create Queue Manager (Name: ADFDLB01) using Windows Explorer.
b) runmqsc ADFDLB01
c) Define a Local queue
Command: DEFINE QLOCAL(INCOMING) DESCR('Local Queue for Incoming Messages') GET(ENABLED) PUT(ENABLED) DEFPSIST(YES) MSGDLVSQ(FIFO) SCOPE(QMGR) USAGE(NORMAL)
d) Define a Receiver Channel
Command: DEFINE CHANNEL (FOR.ADFDLB01) CHLTYPE (RCVR)
2) Creation @ Source System (ADFDLS02)
a) Create Queue Manager (Name: ADFDLS02) using Windows Explorer.
b) runmqsc ADFDLS02
c) Define a Transmission queue
Command: DEFINE QLOCAL(ADFDLB01) DESCR('Transmission Queue for QM ADFDLB01') PUT(ENABLED) DEFPSIST(YES) SCOPE(QMGR) USAGE(XMITQ)
d) Defining a Remote Queue
Command: DEFINE QREMOTE (RQ.INCOMING.ADFDLB01) DESCR('Remote Queue For INCOMING local queue on QM ADFDLB01') RNAME (INCOMING) RQMNAME (ADFDLB01) DEFPSIST (YES) XMITQ (ADFDLB01)
e) Define a Sender Channel
Command: DEFINE CHANNEL (FOR.ADFDLB01) CHLTYPE (SDR) XMITQ(ADFDLB01) CONNAME('172.17.119.12(1414)')
f) Start the Sender Channel
command: START CHANNEL(FOR.ADFDLB01)
Note: after restarting the queue managers the time is down to about 2 and a half minutes, but still not sure what is going on.
Thanks for the quick reply. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Code: |
display channel(YourChannelNameHere) all
|
Post the output of this command. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:07 pm Post subject: Re: Channel not restarting fast enough |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
MichaelDNeale wrote: |
I am using a transmission queue and channel for intermittently connected systems (ie a computer gets unplegged). |
What operating system and MQVersions.
Quote: |
I have tried and tried to adjust the retry settings of the channel to not much avail.
It always seems to take 5 minutes to get to a ready state no matter what I do. |
Is the XMITQ set to TRIGGER?
Quote: |
If I manually restart the channel, it picks up immediately no problems.
Any ideas? I am really stuck, and this is a critical issue for using MQ - it has to be able to do better then this ! |
_________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:09 pm Post subject: The Info |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
On Outbound:
display channel(FOR.ADFDLB01) all
1 : display channel(FOR.ADFDLB01) all
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(FOR.ADFDLB01) CHLTYPE(SDR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) DESCR( )
XMITQ(ADFDLB01) MCANAME( )
MODENAME( ) TPNAME( )
BATCHSZ(50) DISCINT(6000)
SHORTRTY(999999999) SHORTTMR(1)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1)
SCYEXIT( ) SEQWRAP(999999999)
MAXMSGL(4194304) CONVERT(NO)
SCYDATA( ) USERID( )
PASSWORD( ) MCATYPE(PROCESS)
CONNAME(172.17.119.12(1414)) HBINT(300)
BATCHINT(0) NPMSPEED(FAST)
SSLCIPH( ) BATCHHB(0)
LOCLADDR( ) KAINT(AUTO)
MCAUSER( ) ALTDATE(2004-11-11)
ALTTIME(09.41.36) SSLPEER()
MSGEXIT( )
SENDEXIT( )
RCVEXIT( )
MSGDATA( )
SENDDATA( )
RCVDATA( )
On inbound:
display channel(FOR.ADFDLB01) all
1 : display channel(FOR.ADFDLB01) all
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(FOR.ADFDLB01) CHLTYPE(RCVR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) DESCR( )
BATCHSZ(50) SCYEXIT( )
SEQWRAP(999999999) MAXMSGL(4194304)
PUTAUT(DEF) SCYDATA( )
MREXIT( ) MRDATA( )
MRRTY(999999999) MRTMR(1)
HBINT(300) NPMSPEED(FAST)
SSLCIPH( ) SSLCAUTH(REQUIRED)
KAINT(AUTO) MCAUSER( )
ALTDATE(2004-11-11) ALTTIME(09.42.05)
SSLPEER()
MSGEXIT( )
SENDEXIT( )
RCVEXIT( )
MSGDATA( )
SENDDATA( )
RCVDATA( ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Seeing the output of this will be helpful too.
_________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:16 pm Post subject: Re: Channel not restarting fast enough |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
Versions: Windows 2003 Server
MQ: WMQ 5.3 (No fixpacks)
Using JMS from websphere.
Not sure what you mean by setting the XMITQ (left it at defaults).
csmith28 wrote: |
MichaelDNeale wrote: |
I am using a transmission queue and channel for intermittently connected systems (ie a computer gets unplegged). |
What operating system and MQVersions.
Quote: |
I have tried and tried to adjust the retry settings of the channel to not much avail.
It always seems to take 5 minutes to get to a ready state no matter what I do. |
Is the XMITQ set to TRIGGER?
Quote: |
If I manually restart the channel, it picks up immediately no problems.
Any ideas? I am really stuck, and this is a critical issue for using MQ - it has to be able to do better then this ! |
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
dis ql(ADFDLB01)
8 : dis ql(ADFDLB01)
AMQ8409: Display Queue details.
DESCR(Transmission Queue for QM ADFDLB01)
PROCESS( ) BOQNAME( )
INITQ( ) TRIGDATA( )
CLUSTER( ) CLUSNL( )
QUEUE(ADFDLB01) CRDATE(2004-11-05)
CRTIME(14.07.5 ALTDATE(2004-11-11)
ALTTIME(09.55.39) GET(ENABLED)
PUT(ENABLED) DEFPRTY(0)
DEFPSIST(YES) MAXDEPTH(5000)
MAXMSGL(4194304) BOTHRESH(0)
SHARE DEFSOPT(SHARED)
HARDENBO MSGDLVSQ(PRIORITY)
RETINTVL(999999999) USAGE(XMITQ)
TRIGGER TRIGTYPE(FIRST)
TRIGDPTH(1) TRIGMPRI(0)
QDEPTHHI(80) QDEPTHLO(20)
QDPMAXEV(ENABLED) QDPHIEV(DISABLED)
QDPLOEV(DISABLED) QSVCINT(999999999)
QSVCIEV(NONE) DISTL(YES)
DEFTYPE(PREDEFINED) TYPE(QLOCAL)
SCOPE(QMGR) DEFBIND(OPEN)
IPPROCS(1) OPPROCS(1)
CURDEPTH(0)
csmith28 wrote: |
Seeing the output of this will be helpful too.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Well the channel definitions look OK though I would not personally have the following settings:
Code: |
SHORTRTY(999999999) SHORTTMR(1)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1)
|
I usually use:
Code: |
SHORTRTY(10) SHORTTMR(60)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1200)
|
Just a personal preference.
But your tranmit queue is not properly configured for Triggering. You need to add the following values:
Code: |
INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)
TRIGDATA(FOR.ADFDLB01)
|
That should fix your problem if it is entirely MQ Related. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
When no messages travel down the channel for 6000 seconds, the channel will go inactive.
Quote: |
TRIGGER TRIGTYPE(FIRST) |
So, you have the XMITQ triggering when a message arrives. But:
Quote: |
INITQ( ) TRIGDATA( ) |
You won't be generating a Trigger Message to start the channel again.
So, if the remote end gets unplugged, and causes a channel failure, during the 100 minute period after the last transmission, then the channel will go into Retry mode, retrying every second:
Quote: |
SHORTRTY(999999999) SHORTTMR(1) |
But, if the 100 minutes are up before the remote end is unplugged, then the channel will go Inactive and will never automatically try and restart because the triggers are not correctly set.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
I tried what you suggested, but to no avail.
Do I need to restart the queue manager at all?
The channel just sits in "retry" mode for ages, and then eventually sends the message through, just like before.
csmith28 wrote: |
Well the channel definitions look OK though I would not
But your tranmit queue is not properly configured for Triggering. You need to add the following values:
Code: |
INITQ(SYSTEM.CHANNEL.INITQ)
TRIGDATA(FOR.ADFDLB01)
|
That should fix your problem if it is entirely MQ Related. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
No you don't need to restart your MQMGR those alterations take affect dynamically.
The Sender channel will only restart when the remote MQManager becomes available.
It will stay in a RETRY status untill it is able to re-establish communication with the remote MCA. So if it is taking ages for the remote server to recover from being unplugged, it's not MQSeries's fault. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MichaelDNeale |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 10 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
Hmmm yes... that is not good then.
I think that must be the issue. The remote QMis just not responding. I am simulating a network outage by pulling out the cable.
It doesn't make sense to me though, as as soon as the cable is replaced, I can ping the target machine.
Should I be looking at the configuration on the target queue manager at all?
csmith28 wrote: |
No you don't need to restart your MQMGR those alterations take affect dynamically.
The Sender channel will only restart when the remote MQManager becomes available.
It will stay in a RETRY status untill it is able to re-establish communication with the remote MCA. So if it is taking ages for the remote server to recover from being unplugged, it's not MQSeries's fault. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
csmith28 |
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 15 Jul 2003 Posts: 1196 Location: Arizona
|
Yes, you may want to investigate the AdoptNewMCA setting that can be placed in the qm.ini file for the remote mqmanager.
See the MQSeries System Administration Guide. _________________ Yes, I am an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|