|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Mqseries System Segmentation |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
margilca |
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:06 am Post subject: Mqseries System Segmentation |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Sep 2004 Posts: 1
|
I need your help, TIA for any feedback, hint or idea.
My scenario is as follows
.- applA putting and getting msgs longer than 32k
.- applB putting and getting msgs but could not handle more than 32k per put/get
.- applC putting and getting msgs but could not handle more than 32k per
put/get
I could not modify applA and applB since they are third party apps, I can modify applC
.- mqseries 5.3
At fisrt I used message segmentation (application segmentation) for applC, and it works as expected.
I think the same trick can be done to let msgs flow from/to applA and applB. As starting point I created a mirrored queue that have a maxmsglen of 32k, then I modified mirrorq.c exit program to mirrorize msgs longer than 32k put by applA to the mirror queue after having set
md.Version = MQMD_VERSION_2 and
md.MsgFlags = MQMF_SEGMENTATION_ALLOWED
The message descriptor and flags are really changed on the receiveing mirror queue, but the put fails if the message is longer than 32k, reporting
MQPUT failed with rc = 2030 MQRC_MSG_TOO_BIG_FOR_Q
Any ideas or hints?
Cheers
Margilca |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqonnet |
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 10:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Feb 2002 Posts: 1114 Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.
|
What platform are you trying to do this. Bear in mind that z/os does not support automatic message segmentation.
How are you verifying that the MD is actually being changed before the put. Can you paste your code here.
Another thing to remember is MQMF_SEGMENTATION_ALLOWED is specified, but the nature of the data present in the message prevents the queue manager splitting it into segments that are small enough to place on the queue.
I see a mention of exit. What kind of exit and how is it being invoked. Did you try to simulate the exit as if it were a straight forward mq app that would try to put message on a local queue. What hapenned.
Cheers
Kumar _________________ IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PGoodhart |
Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 17 Jun 2004 Posts: 278 Location: Harrisburg PA
|
Just to clarify, the settings on the message at put time, override any queue settings. You should be able to test if you actually got the message settings right by putting out a small message (in your case less then 32K) and then interogate the MQMD on the other end when the message goes accross sucessfully. _________________ Patrick Goodhart
MQ Admin/Web Developer/Consultant
WebSphere Application Server Admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|