ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Codepage translation

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Codepage translation « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Thomasb
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 5:59 am    Post subject: Codepage translation Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden

Hi!

Guess this question is basic to most of you but it has generated at lot of frustration for me.

I'm new to MQ but have successfully installed a queue manager on a Windows 2000 server and set up communication to a QM on z/OS. I'm able to send and receive messages but the data I receive is unreadable. Codepage on the host is 500.

I'm using VS.NET and the sample programs that ships with service pack 7 to verify the installation.

This is a code fragment from the example program vmqsget.vb which I'm using

.
.
Dim mqMsg As MQMessage
Dim mqGetMsgOpts As MQGetMessageOptions

mqMsg = New MQMessage
mqGetMsgOpts = New MQGetMessageOptions
mqGetMsgOpts.WaitInterval = 15000

mqQueue.Get(mqMsg, mqGetMsgOpts)

If (mqMsg.Format.CompareTo(MQC.MQFMT_STRING) = 0) Then
<do something>
Else
<do something>
End If
.
.

Guess it's possible to add some options to activate the translation between codepages, but I can't figure out what!????????????

Cheers!
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
kevinf2349
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 1311
Location: USA

You need to set the convert option on for the MQGET (MQGMO_CONVERT)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7722

And the putting app must specify "MQSTR " in the MQMD_FORMAT field.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Codepage translation
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.