ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Interpreting a byte from MQRFH2 header

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Interpreting a byte from MQRFH2 header « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
woolmerc
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2004 3:59 pm    Post subject: Interpreting a byte from MQRFH2 header Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 21

Hi guys,

This is probably a really simple question, but something I haven't been able to get on top of yet.

I have a message coming into the broker that has an RFH2 user portion. One of the values I am retrieving is a simple byte -- either a 0 or 1. I need to base some conditions in my ESQL code based on the value of this byte.

So far I have not been able to code an expression that will test this value. I have tried:

Code:
DECLARE msgAction REFERENCE TO InputRoot.MQRFH2.usr.ACTION;
IF (msgAction = '1')
......


but this does not work. The value of the byte (when = 1) is seen as  by the broker.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
_________________
Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
maxis
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 144

I dont have exact answer but I do have idea to solve it ..

Put the trace node and get the complete trace .. may be ${Root}

That will give the exact tree structure and hierarchy; use this in the ESQL and try again.


cheers
M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hari
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Location: USA

Try Casting to a CHARACTER, and see if that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hari
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 117
Location: USA

try casting the actual expression and not the REFERENCE variable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Hari wrote:
try casting the actual expression and not the REFERENCE variable


Why?

That would eliminate the benefits of using a reference.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
woolmerc
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 21

Thanks for trying to help guys.

I had already tried the casting but it also failed. I was kinda hoping the broker would perform an implicit cast for me. Unfortunately not.

I have now redesigned how I am putting the value into the RFH2 header so that the broker now sees it as a 1.

Thanks again,
_________________
Chris Woolmer
Programmer
KAZ Group Limited
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Interpreting a byte from MQRFH2 header
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.