ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » number of channels open

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 number of channels open « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
dhanunjay
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:03 am    Post subject: number of channels open Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham, AL

hi all.
Is there a way to find the number of channels that are open at a given point of time.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

echo "dis chstatus(*)"|runmqsc
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhanunjay
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham, AL

thanks jeff. i still have a prob.

i exec the following cmd
echo "display channel(*)" |runmqsc qmgr

i get
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(c_name) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)

then i take one of the channel and do this
echo "display chstatus(c_name) " |runmqsc qmgr

i get
AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.

whats wrong?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
mqonnet
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 1114
Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.

Use this instead.

"then i take one of the channel and do this
echo "display chstatus('c_name') " |runmqsc qmgr
"

Since the name of the channel is lower case it has to be with single quotes.

Cheers
Kumar
_________________
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

dhanunjay wrote:
thanks jeff. i still have a prob.

i exec the following cmd
echo "display channel(*)" |runmqsc qmgr


That's not what I said.

I said "display chstatus(*)", which will display the status of all open channels.

If you get nothing back for "display chstatus(<some channel>)" that means that the channel isn't running.

Please read the Script manual for more information about using MQSC commands.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqonnet
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 1114
Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.

Good catch jeff. I missed that one completely, since the topic of discussion had been channel status. :)

dhanunjay, In any case you still need what i suggested in my previous post.

Cheers
Kumar
_________________
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
dhanunjay
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham, AL

jefflowrey wrote:

That's not what I said.

I said "display chstatus(*)", which will display the status of all open channels.



the name of my channel is all caps. i changed the name for the post.
i tried display chstatus(*) which gives the same msg.

1 : display chstatus(*)
AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.

so none of the channels are running? even the system ones?

thanks all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
mqonnet
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 1114
Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.

"so none of the channels are running? even the system ones?
"
--- Unless you start one or configure it to automatically start, how would you expect/assume one would start automatically. Take a look at the manuals suggested by Jeff and also look into the intercommunication manual.

Cheers
Kumar
_________________
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Also, remember that a status of "Inactive" is different than a status of "Running", and "dis chstatus" only displays channles that are "Running".
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JT
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 1564
Location: Hartford, CT.

Jeff,

I didn't think this was true:
Quote:
and "dis chstatus" only displays channles that are "Running".
To verify I issued the runmqsc command: dis chstatus(*) on a v5.3.4 queue manager (Solaris) and noticed one of the channels that showed up in the list was in a "stopped" state.
Code:
dis chstatus(*)                                                                   
     5 : dis chstatus(*)                                                           
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.                                           
   CHANNEL(TO.ZMQQ)                        XMITQ(SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE)   
   CONNAME(xxxxx(7015))                       CURRENT                                 
   CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)                        STATUS(STOPPED)                         
   RQMNAME()                                                                       
Went to the Intercommunications manual (page 118) and it states:
Quote:
Display Status
The MQSC command DISPLAY CHSTATUS displays the status of a channel
whether the channel is active or inactive. It applies to all message channels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

There's a difference between channels that have been "saved" and channels that haven't been "saved".

Quote:
C:\>runmqsc
5724-B41 (C) Copyright IBM Corp. 1994, 2002. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Starting MQSC for queue manager .


dis chstatus(*) saved
1 : dis chstatus(*) saved
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.<qmgr>) XMITQ( )
CONNAME(QM.WBIMB) SAVED
CHLTYPE(RCVR) STATUS(RUNNING)

:
dis chstatus(*) current
2 : dis chstatus(*) current
AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.

_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhanunjay
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 May 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Birmingham, AL

JT wrote:
Jeff,

I didn't think this was true:
Quote:
and "dis chstatus" only displays channles that are "Running".
To verify I issued the runmqsc command: dis chstatus(*) on a v5.3.4 queue manager (Solaris) and noticed one of the channels that showed up in the list was in a "stopped" state.
Code:
dis chstatus(*)                                                                   
     5 : dis chstatus(*)                                                           
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.                                           
   CHANNEL(TO.ZMQQ)                        XMITQ(SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE)   
   CONNAME(xxxxx(7015))                       CURRENT                                 
   CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)                        STATUS(STOPPED)                         
   RQMNAME()                                                                       
Went to the Intercommunications manual (page 118) and it states:
Quote:
Display Status
The MQSC command DISPLAY CHSTATUS displays the status of a channel
whether the channel is active or inactive. It applies to all message channels.


what does it mean if i get
Code:
dis chstatus(*)
     1 : dis chstatus(*)
AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.


there are a lot of applications that are using this qmanager with out any issues. should there be any system channel thats supposed to be running. or if there is no conv going on btwn qmgrs the chstatus will result that status??

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
mqonnet
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 1114
Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.

"what does it mean if i get
Code:
dis chstatus(*)
1 : dis chstatus(*)
AMQ8420: Channel Status not found.
"
---I am not sure if the above is *NOT* *self-explanatory*.

This means there is no channel active/running at this point in time.

"there are a lot of applications that are using this qmanager with out any issues"
---Then whats the problem that we are talking about????

"should there be any system channel thats supposed to be running"
---IF YOU STARTED ONE, IT WILL BE RUNNING.

"if there is no conv going on btwn qmgrs the chstatus will result that status"
---Not sure what "conv" means. But i would think you are saying there is no communication between 2 qmgrs.
It is as simple as this. If you had started a channel *EVER*. you would see a status. If you did *NOT*, then you *wont* see a status.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
Kumar
_________________
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bbburson
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 378
Location: Nowhere near a queue manager

Quote:
It is as simple as this. If you had started a channel *EVER*. you would see a status.


Not quite. If you start a channel and it later goes INACTIVE because there is no traffic within DISCINT time, it will *NOT* show up when you use "dis chs(*)".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqonnet
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Feb 2002
Posts: 1114
Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.

"Quote:
It is as simple as this. If you had started a channel *EVER*. you would see a status.


Not quite. If you start a channel and it later goes INACTIVE because there is no traffic within DISCINT time, it will *NOT* show up when you use "dis chs(*)"."

Bruce, the above quote is "out of context". If you look at the complete discussion, you would realize that.

Cheers
Kumar
_________________
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » number of channels open
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.