ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » JMS with MQseries

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 JMS with MQseries « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
munna
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:02 pm    Post subject: JMS with MQseries Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 28

Hi all, i have a question about JMS. how can I use JMS with websphere application server(WAS), to make WAS commuicate with MQseries (via the JMS API)? can we directly use the JMS API in the EJB's of the application server and have it communicate over mqseries? pls help. Thank You Regards Munna
_________________
Appreciate your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

moved to Java/JMS forum.
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vennela
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

The answer depends on how you are trying to use MQ:
If you are trying to use MQ in bindings mode:
Before installing WAS you must install MQSeries on the box (I think otherwise embedded MQ of WAS5 will be installed ).

If you are trying to use MQ in client connections mode: (this means the queues are physically on a box seperate from where WAS is) all you need is a SVRCONN channel defined on the QMGR.

Code:
can we directly use the JMS API in the EJB's of the application server and have it communicate over mqseries?

Yes
But you should define your JMS objects. Using the WAS admin console you should be able to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
munna
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 28

vennela,
we are planning to use mqclient on the development machine and connect to the WAS 5.0 version. Also do i need to have the MA88 support pac if using MQ 5.3, (my understanding is, we need MA88 only for versions prior to 5.3). also can u suggest me any document which has a comprehensive kinda view or a sample which uses JMS with MQ.

Thank you

Regards
Munna
_________________
Appreciate your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

There are samples installed on your MQSeries server, if you installed the Development SDK option. They will be in <MQ Install Root>/Tools/Java/jms on a Windows platform, and somewhere similar on Unix platforms.

To use JMS from an EJB in WAS, you need to first configure the WAS server so that it is using MQSeries instead of Embedded messaging. This is done by pointing the MQ_INSTALL_ROOT server variable to the location on the server where the MQ Client has been installed, and restarting your server.

Then you need to use the Administration console to create Queue Connection Factories and Queue Destinations (Or Topic Connection Factories and Topic Destinations) in the Websphere MQ JMS Provider.

Then you will use JNDI to lookup your QCFs and Queue Destinations from the Initial Context, in your EJB.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
byrned
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:23 am    Post subject: similar question Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Location: Ireland

Hi,

I have a query that leads on from the information you provided.

I have a queue connection factory set up on WAS 5.0. I have connected it to a 5.3 queue manager and it works fine

However, I was wondering if it is possible to connect the queue connection factory to a cluster of queue managers. The problem I see with this is when you are setting up the queue connection factory you need to specify the queue manager name and host. I need to connect it to two queue managers on two seperate AIX servers for failover.

Any help appricated.

Deborah.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

You can't 'connect' a QCF to a cluster of qmgrs. Even with the regular MQ product, you only connect to a single queue manager.

If you are truly looking for failover, you don't quite get it with WMQ clustering. You need to look into using something that is more OS based.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
sumeet
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 16

vennela wrote:
The answer depends on how you are trying to use MQ:
If you are trying to use MQ in bindings mode:
Before installing WAS you must install MQSeries on the box (I think otherwise embedded MQ of WAS5 will be installed ).


Why is it necessary to install MQ Series before installking WAS (is there a difference in the MQ Series that comes with WAS than the one that is available as an independent software)?

Cheers,
Sumeet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

sumeet wrote:
is there a difference in the MQ Series that comes with WAS than the one that is available as an independent software


This depends on what you mean by "the MQSeries that comes with WAS".

Some versions of WAS ship with a full licensed version of MQSeries. Some merely ship with an Embedded Messaging JMS provider.

The two things are different. The Embedded Messaging JMS provider does not allow you to connect to external entities, and the full MQSeries does.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
munna
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 28

thanks for the help guys.
_________________
Appreciate your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » JMS with MQseries
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.