|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
What happens if I put-disable a cluster queue? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:01 pm Post subject: What happens if I put-disable a cluster queue? |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
QM1, QM2 and QM3 are in CLUSTER1.
QM1 hosts a local queue called MyQueue. MyQueue is clustered to CLUSTER1. MyQueue exists only on QM1. It is MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED.
QM4 has regular SNDR/RCVR channels to and from QM3. QM3 is the gateway.
QM4 has a remote queue def to MyQueue, specifying the Remote Queue Manager name as CLUSTER1.
I can put messages to the remote queue def on QM4, and they arrive on MyQueue on QM1.
I then Put Inhibit MyQueue, and try to send more messages. They all land in the DLQ on the gateway, QM3. So far so good.
I close all the queues, and change the remote queue def on QM4 to have Remote Queue Manager name of QM1. MyQueue on QM1 does not change. It is still clustred. It is still put inhibited.
I put more messages into the remote queue def on QM4, and they all go to MyQueue on QM1, even though the queue is put inhibited! If I try and put messages to MyQueue by connecting directly to QM1, I get the Put_Inhibited error as expected.
I then decluster MyQueue. The remote queue def on QM4 still points to MyQueue/QM1. MyQueue on QM1 is still put inhibited. I try and put more messages to the remote queue def, and they all go to the DLQ on QM1. This is normal.
How/why do the messages get into a queue that is Put-Inhibited if the queue is clustered, but the sender specifically points to the QM?
I did find the following in the Cluster Manual, but still can't make sense of it. The puts should fail if the queue is Put Inhibited!
Quote: |
What happens if I put-disable a cluster queue?
When a cluster queue is put-disabled, this situation is reflected in the full
repository of each queue manager that is interested in that queue. The workload
management algorithm tries to send messages to destinations that are put-enabled.
If there are no put-enabled destinations and no local instance of a queue, an
MQOPEN call that specified MQOO_BIND_ON_OPEN returns a return code of
MQRC_CLUSTER_PUT_INHIBITED to the application. If
MQOO_BIND_NOT_FIXED is specified, or there is a local instance of the queue,
an MQOPEN call succeeds but subsequent MQPUT calls fail with return code
MQRC_PUT_INHIBITED.
You can write a user exit program to modify the workload management routines
so that messages can be routed to a destination that is put-disabled. If a message
arrives at a destination that is put-disabled (because it was in flight at the time the
queue became disabled or because a workload exit chose the destination explicitly),
the workload management routine at the queue manager can choose another
appropriate destination if there is one, or place the message on the dead-letter
queue, or if there is no dead-letter queue, return the message to the originator.
|
_________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
That's very interesting...
I suppose the key to unraveling this mystery is knowing exactly what the "workload management routine" algorithm on QM1 is. _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JasonE |
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 1:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 03 Nov 2003 Posts: 1220 Location: Hursley
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Thanks Jason. I only found this futzing around in my lab environment while testing some stuff. Its not a real problem for us at this time.
Its good to know that CSD06 fixes it.
Thanks again. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JasonE |
Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 5:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 03 Nov 2003 Posts: 1220 Location: Hursley
|
I just hope it does. It does sound a similar problem though  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|