ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » error while accessing input container value

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 error while accessing input container value « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
DragonFist
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 11:39 am    Post subject: error while accessing input container value Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

When I am rying to access the input container member, I am getting the following error
FMC38009E MQSeries Workflow API Error :
API Return Code : 113
Error Origin : e:\v340\src\fmcjccon.cxx, line 738
Error Message : FMC00113E Container member not set
Nested Exception : None

the code i m using is

WorkItem workitems[]=service.queryworkitems(filter,null,null);

ReadOnlyContainer inputContainer = workitems[0].checkOut();

System.out.println("...Accessing Input Container Value......");

System.out.println(" Printing input Container"+inputContainer.getElement("requestId"));

System.out.println("Got input container value");

requestId= inputContainer.getLong("approverId");

System.out.println(approverId);


It is throwing the exception whili I am trying to set the value to requestId from the input container value. Am I doing anything wrong? When does workflow throws that Container memer not set error?

Thanks in advance
_________________
DragonFist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

How does your Data Structure look like. Is it nested and is the element you are referncing to an immediate child or a grand child kind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jmac
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

FMC_ERROR_MEMBER_NOT_SET rc = 113 is a perfectly acceptable response to a get request from a container. What this return code means is that the member had no data mapped into it by any predecessor containers.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
DragonFist
PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

I got it.. it is working fine. I have a scenario where if a program activity's state expires moves to the next activity. I am mapping the data to the next activity from the expired activity. I could see the data in the next activity, but not able to access the input container value as I stated the problem earlier in this post. So if a program activity expires and even though the data is mapped to the next activity... you can not access the data in the next program activity. is that wat happening in my case. Im not just clear about accessing the input contianer values in the next activity after the previous activity is expired.

Also if I want to use a filter.. will it work if set filter= "READY" and use it in
service.queryWorkItems(filter, null, null);
where READY is for querying workitems that are in ready state.
When I try to do this, it is returning an error saying incorrect filter value. How do I set the filter value.
thanks in advance
_________________
DragonFist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Filter should be
STATE IN READY

I usually look at the workflow javadoc for the syntax of filters and sort criteria. If you look in the queryWorkItems method documentation you will find the syntax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
manoj
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 30 Jan 2002
Posts: 237
Location: Virgina

First of all if you want to pass data from an expired activity to another acitivity (if i am not wrong) you have to use data default connector and
maps the input container of the activity which expires to its ouput container.

Secondly if all the data elements you use in your data container are not mandatory then always process the exception for individual data members (use a "try catch" in java for each element ..most of the time you can ignore the exception based on the return code).

Thirdly..If possible use "=" always and try not to use "IN" ,"LIKE" etc in the filter...For large work list "IN" or "LIKE" etc is going to kill your system.

thanks
_________________
-manoj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

manoj wrote:
First of all if you want to pass data from an expired activity to another acitivity (if i am not wrong) you have to use data default connector and maps the input container of the activity which expires to its ouput container.


True statement

manoj wrote:
Secondly if all the data elements you use in your data container are not mandatory then always process the exception for individual data members (use a "try catch" in java for each element ..most of the time you can ignore the exception based on the return code)..

Good programming practice. The way I look at it there are 2 possible acceptable returncodes from a get from container. 0 and 113... all others are probably some problem

manoj wrote:
Thirdly..If possible use "=" always and try not to use "IN" ,"LIKE" etc in the filter...For large work list "IN" or "LIKE" etc is going to kill your system.

Do you have a source for this information? I don't think I've ever seen this stated before, but it does make sense to me.

THANKS
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
manoj
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 30 Jan 2002
Posts: 237
Location: Virgina

We sufferd a lot which we think is because of excessive LIKEs and INs.
Especially when we use the global container members also in our filters.
So i always tell try not to use these...

regards
_________________
-manoj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
DragonFist
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 52

Thank you all for the info... Manoj I was using the data default connector for expiration when I mentioned about the error. Maybe I was not mapping them correctly.. that might be the reason why I couldnot access the value for that particular data element and it was throwing the error 113. I am able to retreive it as soon the workitem is created. So i guess its my data mapping problem that throwed me that error. I will check on it.

Thanks
_________________
DragonFist
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » error while accessing input container value
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.