Author |
Message
|
kt76 |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 6:37 am Post subject: MQMD msgid always changing |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Posts: 52
|
In our scenario, we are trying to publish a message with the message id supplied by the MQInput node.
However, the MQOutput node continuously overwrites the message id when it puts it on the output Q, even though we have explicitly unchecked
‘Generate New Messgae ID’ option.
Any pointers? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Do you mean "Publish" when you say Publish?
Because the Publisher node and/or the broker always assigns a new message ID when it publishes messages to subscribers. This has been talked about in more detail here before. The search function should find the other conversations for you relatively easy.
If you're just using an MQOutput node and you're not using Pub/Sub, then you'll need to explain more about what you're doing and how you know it's not working. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kt76 |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 Posts: 52
|
We have created a simple scenario
Mqinput -->Mqoutput (puts on q Q1)
We put a message and the ID geneartae dis say 123
When the message lands on the Q1, the mesage id chnages to 456
This seems wierd. Can you let me know |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
kt76 wrote: |
We have created a simple scenario
Mqinput -->Mqoutput (puts on q Q1)
We put a message and the ID geneartae dis say 123
When the message lands on the Q1, the mesage id chnages to 456
This seems wierd. Can you let me know |
Do this.
MQInput-->Trace-->MQOutput-->Trace
And then post the MQMD portions of the trace output. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Missam |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 16 Oct 2003 Posts: 424
|
Hi Jeff
I tried what you said
input-->trace1-->output--->trace2
With New Message Id Box Unchecked
MsgId from trace1
Quote: |
X'414d512044574d5344335132202020204002c357200a2f01'
|
MsgId from trace2
Quote: |
X'414d512044574d5344335132202020204002c357200a2f01'
|
And when i browse the queue using amqsbcg the MsgId is
Quote: |
X'414D512044574D5344335132202020204002C357200A2F01'
|
Here the point is i didn't understand why all alphabets in MsgId Showing in Capital Letters when i use amqsbcg.is it the same MsgId or different from Above
When New Message Id box Checked
MsgId from trace1
Quote: |
X'414d512044574d5344335132202020204002c357200a3301'
|
MsgId from trace2
Quote: |
X'414d512044574d5344335132202020204002c357200a3301'
|
MsgId from amqsbcg
Quote: |
X'414D512044574D5344335132202020204002C357200A2C03'
|
why both the traces showing the same Id and amqsbcg showing the actual changed one,with all letters caps |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 8:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
I'll trow in my 2 cents.
the msgid being 1a2bc is the same as 1A2BC, so the first test you did was succesful.
Second test (with new msgid checked) the trace2 showed the original msgid, which I think comes from the fact that after the mqoutput node you could have another node needing the original msgid.
To me the behaviour you describe is OK and as it was intended (i.e. no overwrite of the original msgid in the original data). I admit the use of lowercase characters is a bit confusing...
Michael |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 9:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
The difference in the case is purely down to how the 'application' decides to show it.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|