ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Using the { ... } method to build a field reference.

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Using the { ... } method to build a field reference. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
duffMan
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 9:20 am    Post subject: Using the { ... } method to build a field reference. Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 75

I just want to confirm my suspicion that when peforming an expression such as:

Code:
 SET OutputRoot.XML.Test.A = InputRoot.XML.MyMessage.{x};


that the value of x cannot refernce multiple levels of the message tree, but rather a single element.

i.e. x='myElement' is OKAY
x='myAggreggate.myElement' is NOT OKAY.

at I least couldn't get it to work....

I would have to do something like:

Code:
 SET OutputRoot.XML.Test.A = InputRoot.XML.MyMessage.{y}.{x};



where y='myAggreate'
x='myElement'

This is not terribly useful if the full path is dynamic. The other option is to use the EVAL statement such as:

EVAL('SET OutputRoot.XML.Test.A = InputRoot.XML.MyMessage.' | x | ');
where x=myAggregate.myElement;


Has anybody else experienced this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kirani
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 05 Sep 2001
Posts: 3779
Location: Torrance, CA, USA

Yes, {} doesn't work when the value reference to multiple levels. I remember one post, which discussed this problem. You can get around the problem using EVAL statement. Did you report this problem to IBM?
_________________
Kiran


IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
duffMan
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 75

No I have not yet reported the problem...however am tempted to do so.

I did try the EVAL, and functionly it works, but performance is cut 70% (in my case).

Lucky for me I really only need two levels, so I created a little function which parses a string 'MyAggregate.MyElement' into two separate strings which each of which get wrapped in {}. i.e.

InputRoot.XML.Root.{path1}.{path2}.

The performance of degredation of this is only about 1-2%.

However, I will contact IBM.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Using the { ... } method to build a field reference.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.