Author |
Message
|
Henry |
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 12:09 am Post subject: JMS server setup with external MQ server |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 73
|
hi!
There are some samples about the development of JMS under WSAD5. The environment setup required the MQ Server is installed in the same machine as the WSAD and the internal JMS is used.
What is the setup when the MQ Server is installed in a different machine? which JMS server should be used? Internal JMS Server, MQSeries, MQSeries Embeded Server?
Is there any document about the JMS Server setup with external MQ Server?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu Dec 04, 2003 6:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
I would have said that the internal jms server and the embedded jms server were the same thing? You can setup all of the 'MQSeries' related information for these through the WAS admin console.
As far as using regular MQSeries, you'll need to use both the admin console and MQSeries for administration. Under the Admin Console, you'll define your connection factories and destinations using the WebSphere MQ JMS Provider. You'll have to supply qmgr names, queue names, MQ properties, etc. Under MQ, you'll create the actual objects.
As far as documentation, I don't know of anything specific. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kolban |
Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2003 8:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 22 May 2001 Posts: 1072 Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
|
My understanding is that embedded MQ is a copy of MQ shipped with WAS and WSAD. The "internal JMS or internal MQ" are nothing to do with MQ .. instead this is a JMS emulator used ONLY for testing. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Henry |
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 73
|
Thanks for the information!
From the WAS Admin Console, there are several JMS Servers. Generic JMS Server, WebSphere JMS Server and WebSphereMQ JMS Server. If I use an external MQ Server, which one should I use?
On my MQ Server, Do I need to run the JMSAdmin to setup the QueueConnectionFactory, QueueFactory etc? Or I just need to define the queue objects and channel objects only on my MQ Server?
Thanks! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kman |
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 11:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 309 Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
|
In WAS Admin Console you only have three options. The Generic JMS Server is for anything other than MQ. The WebSphere JMS Server is internal and prepackaged, also called embedded. WebSphereMQ JMS Server is when WebSphere JMS Server is not enough for you. This is when you use the 'full' webSphereMQ. It is said full because the embedded WebSphere JMS Server is WebSphereMQ, with some functions taken off.
You use your Admin Console to administer your JMS resources. You don't have to use the JMSAdmin anymore. In fact, should not use JMSAdmin at all for version5 onwards. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Henry |
Posted: Wed Dec 10, 2003 11:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 73
|
The WAS is not installed onto the same server as the MQ one. In other words, there are two servers. One server is installed WAS and another one is installed MQ. Is WebSphereMQ JMS Server used for this case?
Apart from it, how can I make the JMS Server point to the MQ Server?
Are those Q connection Factory and Queue Factory setup from the WAS Admin Console? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kman |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 309 Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
|
WebSphereMQ JMS server is used when you need to interact with other applications, or other queue managers. The embedded JMS, the one that comes with WAS and WSAD, is an MQ queue manager too, but does not allow for communicaiton with other queue managers. In a queue manager to queue manager communication, channels must be setup. Embedded JMS or WebSphere JMS Server, does not have this so called channels to allow for intercommunication. That's when you need full WebSphereMQ.
When you install your WebSphereMQ, you can define your qcf and destination using the Admin Console. This will point to WMQ Server. Also there is the environment variable that sets the path to where you install your WMQ. I think it is at the Resources.
Your QCF, Topic and destination are all done at the Admin Console. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Henry |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 73
|
Thanks for your Information!
I am using Solaris to run MQ Server. Is that mean I set the QCF and QF from the MQ Server? if yes, what should I use to define the QCF and QF on the MQ Server?
Thanks again!! I am new to MQ JMS and sorry for the stupid question. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kman |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 12:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 309 Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
|
It looks like you have your MQ Server on another system, not on the same system with your WSAD or WAS. So you don't have your Admin Console there.
I am afraid I haven't had the opportunity to try your configuration. If you don't have MQ Server on the same system with your WSAD, then I am not sure how you can configure the Resources to the remote system. I think in the Server view in WSAD, you can get to the path tab for your JMS.
Since your MQ Server is on a different system the configuration is a bit tricky or cannot be done at all. I believe the Admin Console only configures the QCF, Topic and destination locally. It also does start and stop JMS server, and I don't think it can do remotely. As far as I know, you can't start and stop MQ queue manager remotely.
If you need to put messages on the MQ server on the Solaris, then you need to have a full MQ on your JMS server system. Only that will allow the channel link to be setup for intercommunication. And your internal JMS or Embedded JMS cannot do this.
So you cannot have your app server without full mq to try to use MQ on another machine.
Unless we wait and see somebody else who have done such config, and tell us how to do it.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 6:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
If you're setting up MQSeries on a different machine than the one running WAS, then you need to configure your QCFs etc. to act as clients.
This is done in the WAS Admin. You set up the QCF, and give it the host, port, and channel (as well as possibly the clientID) that are necessary. Then you set the Transport type to "CLIENT" instead of "BINDINGS".
But this may affect your ability to do XA transactions with MQSeries. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Henry |
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Oct 2003 Posts: 73
|
Thanks to JeffLowrey!
On WAS, there is a MQ JMS Server to set those QCF and Q. Apart from it, do I need to set other things on the WAS? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Robert |
Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 6:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 Aug 2002 Posts: 46 Location: Quebec, Canada
|
Hi Henry,
If you intend to develop Message Driven Beans you will need to define Message Listener Ports on the WAS Console.
These Message Listener Ports will invoke your Message Driven Beans when non sollicitated incoming JMS messages arrive on the queue.
Robert |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|