ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » [Solved]No Operation Activity

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 [Solved]No Operation Activity « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Andy
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 4:29 am    Post subject: [Solved]No Operation Activity Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 122

What are the steps to use No Operation activity in MQWF?

Thanks
_________________
Andy


Last edited by Andy on Mon May 26, 2003 9:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

1. Define a program FMCINTERNALNOOP this object should be set to Handle any data structures and Run unattended. Assign FMCNSHOW.exe as the executable (Optional).

2. Define a UPES called EMPTY. Queue and QM do not matter since they will not be used.

3. For the NOOP activity define a Program activity, set the Data Structures, set START and EXIT automatic (Defaults), Set Execution to be via UPES and Select your EMPTY upes, and set Mode to Asychronous. Set staff appropriately

You should end up with FDL like this:

Code:
  PROGRAM_ACTIVITY 'Program' ( 'Default Data Structure', 'Default Data Structure' )
    START AUTOMATIC WHEN AT_LEAST_ONE CONNECTOR TRUE
    EXIT AUTOMATIC
    LAYOUT XPOS -300 YPOS 400
    NAME_POSITION XPOS -300 YPOS 325
    PRIORITY DEFINED_IN INPUT_CONTAINER
    PROGRAM 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'
    SYNCHRONIZATION CHAINED
  END 'Program'

_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED


Last edited by jmac on Tue Nov 11, 2003 5:41 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sshaker
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 185

this feature is more prevalent from version 3.4 .. but i understand this was intruduced in sp3 of version 3.3.2.. noop or no operation activity is an additional activity called FMCINTERNALNOOP after the source box in a process:

Quote:
It uses a default application named 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'

It uses the input data structure of the process as its input and output data structure.

It is connected to all starting tasks in the process and any other objects in the process.

It replaces the Process SOURCE in all data mappings between activities except in the Process SOURCE to Process SINK mapping.

It has a default (Not loop) data mapping from '_STRUCT' to '_STRUCT'

It uses the same initial values of the process and the Process SOURCE.

It establishes a data mapping with the Process SOURCE from '_STRUCT' to '_STRUCT'


sample fdl containing noop:

Code:
PROGRAM_ACTIVITY  'FMCINTERNALNOOP'('PersonInfo','PersonInfo')
   START AUTOMATIC WHEN ALL CONNECTORS TRUE
   EXIT AUTOMATIC
   PRIORITY DEFINED_IN INPUT_CONTAINER
   DONE_BY LEVEL  0  ..  0
   PROGRAM 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'
   SYNCHRONIZATION CHAINED
   END 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'
DATA DEFAULT 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'
   MAP '_STRUCT' TO '_STRUCT'
DATA FROM SOURCE TO 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'
   MAP '_STRUCT' TO '_STRUCT'
CONTROL FROM 'FMCINTERNALNOOP' TO 'CollectCreditInformation'
DATA FROM 'FMCINTERNALNOOP' TO 'CollectCreditInformation'
   MAP 'FirstName' TO 'FirstName'
   MAP 'LastName' TO 'LastName'


in the buildtime.. the noop is added just after the source ...

regards
shaker
_________________
shaker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

sshaker wrote:
Quote:
It uses a default application named 'FMCINTERNALNOOP'

It uses the input data structure of the process as its input and output data structure.

It is connected to all starting tasks in the process and any other objects in the process.

It replaces the Process SOURCE in all data mappings between activities except in the Process SOURCE to Process SINK mapping.

It has a default (Not loop) data mapping from '_STRUCT' to '_STRUCT'

It uses the same initial values of the process and the Process SOURCE.

It establishes a data mapping with the Process SOURCE from '_STRUCT' to '_STRUCT'



Shaker:

where did this quote come from... I am not certain that it is 100% correct.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sshaker
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 185

I know it is surprising to have this documentation not from ibm .. but from holosofx.. it is from workbench user guide!!

looks ur never tired.. and not enjoying ur holiday!!

regards
shaker
_________________
shaker
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmac
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Shaker:

A personal opinion, but I would not trust the doc from WBI Modeler on the NO Op activity. The Modeler implementation is totally bogus as far as I can see.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
MaheshPN
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 9:11 am    Post subject: What are the steps to use No Operation activity in MQWF? Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 245
Location: Charlotte, NC

Hi,
http://www-3.ibm.com/software/integration/support/supportpacs/individual/wd01.html
Please download this pdf. it explains how to implement dummy activity with examples(Page 66). This is a very good document from IBM.

Mahesh,
IBM Certified Solution Expert - MQWorkflow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Prahasith
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2003 5:26 pm    Post subject: Re: What are the steps to use No Operation activity in MQWF? Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 184
Location: Kansas City

Thanks Mahesh the link has been very useful to me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Andy
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 122

jmac wrote:
1. Define a program FMCINTERNALLOOP


A correction, its FMCINTERNALNOOP


Thanks
_________________
Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQRR
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 6:33 pm    Post subject: FMCINTERNALNOOP Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 110

I nearly wasted an hour by not knowing I should define the program as
only "FMCINTERNALNOOP".
The post helped me. thanks
Can anyone explain why it should be named only "FMCINTERNALNOOP"

MQRR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rishi
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Location: United States

Hey Guys check the following link. This is the first time I am posting on this site.. so excuse me if I did something wrong

http://www-1.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?rs=0&context=SW900&q=empty+activity&uid=swg21078709&loc=en_US&cs=utf-8&cc=us&lang=en


Rishi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MQRR
PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2003 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 10 Aug 2003
Posts: 110

Rishi,
This link was already posted by jmac, anyway thanks for the info.
And Dont worry about doing something wrong, we are all here to find out where we went wrong
MQRR
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » [Solved]No Operation Activity
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.