Author |
Message
|
RimRim |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2023 1:30 am Post subject: Open Input Count & Open Output count |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 18 Jan 2023 Posts: 5
|
Hi, this may be simple, but am confused in undertsanding it.
Open Input count - denotes appl connected to put messages in to queue
Open Output count - denotes appl connected to get messages from the queue
Am I right in stating above.
If so, i have a scenario that application is connected to a local queue to get the messages, but input count shows as 1 and output count shows a 0.
Have I misunderstood Open input and output count.
It would be as simple as it is..but can you help me to clear this confusion. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2023 2:37 am Post subject: Re: Open Input Count & Open Output count |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
RimRim wrote: |
Hi, this may be simple, but am confused in undertsanding it.
Open Input count - denotes appl connected to put messages in to queue
Open Output count - denotes appl connected to get messages from the queue
Am I right in stating above.
If so, i have a scenario that application is connected to a local queue to get the messages, but input count shows as 1 and output count shows a 0.
Have I misunderstood Open input and output count.
It would be as simple as it is..but can you help me to clear this confusion. |
Open Input Count => number of application having the queue open for input i.e. getting messages from the queue
Open Output Count => number of applications having the queue open for output i.e. putting messages to the queue
Hope it helps  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2023 7:36 am Post subject: Re: Open Input Count & Open Output count |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
Open Input Count => number of application having the queue open for input i.e. getting messages from the queue
Open Output Count => number of applications having the queue open for output i.e. putting messages to the queue
Hope it helps  |
Did you intend => to mean equal to or greater than here? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2023 3:32 am Post subject: Re: Open Input Count & Open Output count |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
bruce2359 wrote: |
fjb_saper wrote: |
Open Input Count => number of application having the queue open for input i.e. getting messages from the queue
Open Output Count => number of applications having the queue open for output i.e. putting messages to the queue
Hope it helps  |
Did you intend => to mean equal to or greater than here? |
Neither nor. I intended it to mean implies or gives. May be I should have used ->  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2023 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
When an application issues MQOPEN it can pass options (MQOO) which include input, output, inquire, set, browse.
Some apps like to use all of them when they don't need to. This can prevent use of remote or cluster queues which won't open for input or browse. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Sat Jul 08, 2023 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
zpat wrote: |
This can prevent use of remote or cluster queues which won't open for input or browse. |
. . . as MQGETs are from local queues. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Sun Jul 09, 2023 1:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Yes, the MQOPEN will fail if a remote or cluster queue is opened for input or browse. Even if the program only intends to MQPUT.
It's actuallly a bit confusing as the MQOPEN will return a queue not found error if a local queue is not found, even when there is a cluster queue of the same name.
We've had cases of applications working in test environments putting to local queues but then not putting to cluster queues in production. All due to the incorrect MQOO settings. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2023 3:51 pm Post subject: Re: Open Input Count & Open Output count |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
RimRim wrote: |
Hi, this may be simple, but am confused in undertsanding it.
Open Input count - denotes appl connected to put messages in to queue
Open Output count - denotes appl connected to get messages from the queue
Am I right in stating above.
If so, i have a scenario that application is connected to a local queue to get the messages, but input count shows as 1 and output count shows a 0.
Have I misunderstood Open input and output count.
It would be as simple as it is..but can you help me to clear this confusion. |
Think of it in terms of what the app is doing with the queue. When it opens the queue, it requests what it wants to do (ie. MQOO values)
Input means the app wants to take input from the queue (ie. get messages)
Output means the app wants to output messages to the queue (ie. put messages) _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|