ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral Discussiondspmq output changed without qmgr being started

Post new topicReply to topic
dspmq output changed without qmgr being started View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gbarber
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2022 1:33 pm Post subject: dspmq output changed without qmgr being started Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 16 Jan 2020
Posts: 10

I shutdown my V9.1.0.3 queue manager using endmqm <qmgr>
After that the dspmq output showed "STATUS(Ended normally)"

After my server administrator did some work I logged in again to start up the queue manager, but before I executed the strmqm <qmgr> command I ran dspmq again, expecting the output to be "STATUS(Ended normally)", but to my surprise the status reported was "STATUS(Ended unexpectedly)"

I checked the MQ logs and the QMGR logs and there are no entries from the time between when dspmq reported status as "Ended normally" and the time when dspmq reported status as "Ended unexpectedly"

Any idea what dspmq has to see (or not see) for it to think that the qmgr ended unexpectedly? Maybe some files changed timestamps or something like that as a result of the server work that was done?

Incidentally, the qmgr seems to have started up ok and dspmq now shows a status of "STATUS(Running)"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbarber
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2022 9:11 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 16 Jan 2020
Posts: 10

I found out that some of the filesystems were recovered from backups that were taken weeks ago (a time when the qmanager was running). I didn't think the filesystems affected contained any MQ related files, but seems like they must have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2022 5:10 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9230
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

gbarber wrote:
I found out that some of the filesystems were recovered from backups that were taken weeks ago (a time when the qmanager was running). I didn't think the filesystems affected contained any MQ related files, but seems like they must have.

Please be precise. What file systems were restored? I will speculate (guess) that the restored files included some in MQs program or data path. I will also guess that the backup was taken while the qmgr was running - called a fuzzy backup - the qmgr in an inconsistent state.
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
I have no preferred pronouns, but I do have preferred adjectives, namely: brilliant and handsome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral Discussiondspmq output changed without qmgr being started
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.