Author |
Message
|
ankurlodhi |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 7:24 pm Post subject: getting MQRC 2538 when connecting to Queue manager |
|
|
Master
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 Posts: 266
|
Hi All,
I am trying to run mq2qf utility to perform a get, put , browse operations from my application. but i am getting MQRC 2358 host not available every time. while the MQ API's in the same pipeline are running fine.
Thanks
Ankur
Last edited by ankurlodhi on Thu Jul 21, 2022 8:56 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 4:51 am Post subject: Re: getting MQRC 2358 when connecting to Queue manager |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20751 Location: LI,NY
|
ankurlodhi wrote: |
Hi All,
I am trying to run mq2qf utility to perform a get, put , browse operations from my application. but i am getting MQRC 2358 host not available every time. while the MQ API's in the same pipeline are running fine.
Thanks
Ankur |
Something seems to be wrong with your code:
Code: |
mqrc 2358
2358 0x00000936 MQRC_NEXT_OFFSET_ERROR |
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 6:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9453 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
What is mq2qf utility? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 3:14 pm Post subject: Re: getting MQRC 2358 when connecting to Queue manager |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
ankurlodhi wrote: |
Hi All,
I am trying to run mq2qf utility to perform a get, put , browse operations from my application. but i am getting MQRC 2358 host not available every time. while the MQ API's in the same pipeline are running fine.
Thanks
Ankur |
MQRC 2358 (edit: 2538) covers a multitude of sins related to your app connecting to the queue manager. Look in the MQ error log on the application side, it will contain the low level error message. Note that MQ uses TCP/IP Sockets. The error probably relates to the socket connect function being unable to resolve the host name that you provided.
You can test the MQ connection using the amqscnxc program. This will eliminate or confirm your app code or configuration as a contributor to the issue. _________________ Glenn
Last edited by gbaddeley on Sun Jul 24, 2022 3:15 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ankurlodhi |
Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 Posts: 266
|
Please pardon me the Error is MQRC 2538. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2022 2:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1954 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
Look in the amqerr01.log on the machine where your application is running and find the error message that gives you more information about why you are getting MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE.
What do you mean by "MQ API's in the same pipeline are running fine" - what is a pipeline in this context?
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2022 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
ankurlodhi wrote: |
Please pardon me the Error is MQRC 2538. |
Even I read it as 2538 This is the one of the most common RC when MQ Clients are first configured. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ankurlodhi |
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2022 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 19 Oct 2010 Posts: 266
|
hughson wrote: |
Look in the amqerr01.log on the machine where your application is running and find the error message that gives you more information about why you are getting MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE.
What do you mean by "MQ API's in the same pipeline are running fine" - what is a pipeline in this context?
Cheers,
Morag |
BY MQI API in the pipeline i mean, the rest API calls, which are being ran from a different directory are working fine. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Wed Jul 27, 2022 9:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1954 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
ankurlodhi wrote: |
hughson wrote: |
Look in the amqerr01.log on the machine where your application is running and find the error message that gives you more information about why you are getting MQRC_HOST_NOT_AVAILABLE.
What do you mean by "MQ API's in the same pipeline are running fine" - what is a pipeline in this context?
Cheers,
Morag |
BY MQI API in the pipeline i mean, the rest API calls, which are being ran from a different directory are working fine. |
The REST API is using an HTTP connection to get to the MQ WebServer. The MQ WebServer is then making MQ API calls with a locally bound connection the queue manager.
From what you have described, your failing application is a client application and is not managing to successfully make its network connection. As mentioned earlier, if you look in the AMQERR01.LOG you will see the possible reasons why that you should check, things like "is the listener running" and so on.
The two routes in are very different, so just because one is working does not imply that the other route should also work. It requires different things to be set up.
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|