|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
SVRCONN channels not stopped permanently after qmgr restart |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
jthm |
Posted: Mon May 16, 2022 4:17 am Post subject: SVRCONN channels not stopped permanently after qmgr restart |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 7
|
Currently working with MQ v9.1.0.10 I notice a behaviour of the QMGR, which is not consistent I would say.
I have a SVRCONN channel which I stop in my QMGR.
Code: |
STOP CHANNEL(MQAPPS.CL)
2 : STOP CHANNEL(MQAPPS.CL)
AMQ9533W: Channel 'MQAPPS.CL' is not currently active.
DISPLAY CHSTATUS(*) ALL
3 : DISPLAY CHSTATUS(*) ALL
AMQ8417I: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(MQAPPS.CL) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
BUFSRCVD(0) BUFSSENT(0)
BYTSRCVD(0) BYTSSENT(0)
CHSTADA(2022-05-16) CHSTATI(13.43.20)
COMPHDR(NONE,NONE) COMPMSG(NONE,NONE)
COMPRATE(0,0) COMPTIME(0,0)
CONNAME( ) CURRENT
EXITTIME(0,0) HBINT(300)
JOBNAME(0000000000000000) LOCLADDR( )
LSTMSGDA( ) LSTMSGTI( )
MCASTAT(NOT RUNNING) MCAUSER( )
MONCHL(OFF) MSGS(0)
RAPPLTAG( ) SECPROT(NONE)
SSLCERTI( ) SSLKEYDA( )
SSLKEYTI( ) SSLPEER( )
SSLRKEYS(0) STATUS(STOPPED)
STOPREQ(NO) SUBSTATE( )
CURSHCNV(0) MAXSHCNV(0)
RVERSION( ) RPRODUCT( ) |
Then I try to connect from a client.
Code: |
/opt/mqm/samp/bin/amqsputc LQ EDC5
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
MQCONN ended with reason code 2537 |
I get an error message as expected
Code: |
mqrc 2537
2537 0x000009e9 MQRC_CHANNEL_NOT_AVAILABLE |
Then I stop the QMGR and start it again.
I check for the channel status.
Code: |
DISPLAY CHSTATUS(*) ALL
1 : DISPLAY CHSTATUS(*) ALL
AMQ8417I: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(MQAPPS.CL) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
BUFSRCVD(0) BUFSSENT(0)
BYTSRCVD(0) BYTSSENT(0)
CHSTADA( ) CHSTATI( )
COMPHDR(NONE,NONE) COMPMSG(NONE,NONE)
COMPRATE(0,0) COMPTIME(0,0)
CONNAME( ) CURRENT
EXITTIME(0,0) HBINT(300)
JOBNAME(0000000000000000) LOCLADDR( )
LSTMSGDA( ) LSTMSGTI( )
MCASTAT(NOT RUNNING) MCAUSER( )
MONCHL(OFF) MSGS(0)
RAPPLTAG( ) SECPROT(NONE)
SSLCERTI( ) SSLKEYDA( )
SSLKEYTI( ) SSLPEER( )
SSLRKEYS(0) STATUS(STOPPED)
STOPREQ(NO) SUBSTATE( )
CURSHCNV(0) MAXSHCNV(0)
RVERSION( ) RPRODUCT( ) |
It looks the same way like before the restart.
I try to connect with the client.
Code: |
/opt/mqm/samp/bin/amqsputc LQ EDC5
Sample AMQSPUT0 start
target queue is LQ
aaa
bbb |
I can connect and put messages. The channel status is now.
Code: |
DISPLAY CHSTATUS(*) ALL
2 : DISPLAY CHSTATUS(*) ALL
AMQ8417I: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(MQAPPS.CL) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
BUFSRCVD(0) BUFSSENT(0)
BYTSRCVD(0) BYTSSENT(0)
CHSTADA( ) CHSTATI( )
COMPHDR(NONE,NONE) COMPMSG(NONE,NONE)
COMPRATE(0,0) COMPTIME(0,0)
CONNAME( ) CURRENT
EXITTIME(0,0) HBINT(300)
JOBNAME(0000000000000000) LOCLADDR( )
LSTMSGDA( ) LSTMSGTI( )
MCASTAT(NOT RUNNING) MCAUSER( )
MONCHL(OFF) MSGS(0)
RAPPLTAG( ) SECPROT(NONE)
SSLCERTI( ) SSLKEYDA( )
SSLKEYTI( ) SSLPEER( )
SSLRKEYS(0) STATUS(STOPPED)
STOPREQ(NO) SUBSTATE( )
CURSHCNV(0) MAXSHCNV(0)
RVERSION( ) RPRODUCT( )
AMQ8417I: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(MQAPPS.CL) CHLTYPE(SVRCONN)
BUFSRCVD(7) BUFSSENT(6)
BYTSRCVD(2540) BYTSSENT(2332)
CHSTADA(2022-05-16) CHSTATI(13.49.03)
COMPHDR(NONE,NONE) COMPMSG(NONE,NONE)
COMPRATE(0,0) COMPTIME(0,0)
CONNAME(192.168.174.21) CURRENT
EXITTIME(0,0) HBINT(300)
JOBNAME(00009FAC00000004)
LOCLADDR(::ffff:192.168.174.125(2222))
LSTMSGDA(2022-05-16) LSTMSGTI(13.49.07)
MCASTAT(RUNNING) MCAUSER(mqapp01)
MONCHL(OFF) MSGS(4)
RAPPLTAG(amqsputc) SECPROT(NONE)
SSLCERTI( ) SSLKEYDA( )
SSLKEYTI( ) SSLPEER( )
SSLRKEYS(0) STATUS(RUNNING)
STOPREQ(NO) SUBSTATE(RECEIVE)
CURSHCNV(1) MAXSHCNV(10)
RVERSION(07050004) RPRODUCT(MQCC) |
So the channel is still "stopped". but now there is an additional instance, which is in state "running".
This is not the behaviour I would expect or like. I would expect the behaviour is not changed by a restart.
But does it works as designed like that?
What is the benefit of this kind of behaviour? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Mon May 16, 2022 3:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Hi,
Is your queue manager at MQ version prior to 8.0 ?
https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/ibm-mq/9.2?topic=function-restarting-stopped-channels has a caveat:
Quote: |
If the queue manager stops while a channel is in RETRYING or STOPPED status, the channel status is remembered when the queue manager is restarted. From IBM MQ 8.0 onwards, this applies to SVRCONN channels as well. Previously, the channel status for the SVRCONN channel type was reset if the channel initiator stopped while the channel was in STOPPED status. |
If it is some other issue, you may not be able to raise a Service Request with IBM for an unsupported version. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jthm |
Posted: Tue May 17, 2022 12:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 7
|
Hi,
thank you for your response.
As I wrote at the beginning. The queue manager is/was on version 9.1.0.10. Now it is on version 9.1.0.11. With this version the behavior remains the same.
I use a client version of v8.0.0.4. But this should not matter, because we talk about a behavior of the queue manager, when it is restarting.
I found also the link you provided, but the behavior is like I describe. It looks like a bug, doesn't it? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue May 17, 2022 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jthm wrote: |
Hi,
thank you for your response.
As I wrote at the beginning. The queue manager is/was on version 9.1.0.10. Now it is on version 9.1.0.11. With this version the behavior remains the same.
I use a client version of v8.0.0.4. But this should not matter, because we talk about a behavior of the queue manager, when it is restarting.
I found also the link you provided, but the behavior is like I describe. It looks like a bug, doesn't it? |
Works in 9.2.0.3 ...  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu May 26, 2022 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
jthm,
I noticed this as well last year. It was on some old MQ 8 queue managers just about to go away, and it worked as expected when I tried on our 9.2 queue managers so I never followed up. I just assumed yet another good reason to get these v8 QMGRs shut down.
It sure seems like a bug, but maybe one fixed in 9.2? _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu May 26, 2022 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
jthm wrote: |
It looks like a bug, doesn't it? |
Agreed. If you have not already raised a case with IBM, do so. _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jthm |
Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2022 6:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Newbie
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 7
|
Thank you for your responses.
I asked the customer to open a case. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|