Author |
Message
|
MQRuss |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 12:27 pm Post subject: VB ActiveX MessageID vs. VB.NET message ID |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Location: Macon. GA
|
Ok, Hope this is a good forum for this particular post. Found some similar type postings.
I have a long running VB application that makes calls to MQSeries through ActiveX. Before PUT is called MessageID and CorrelationID are set to "".
We are moving to .NET (thankfully)
We see no problem with most of our queues. However in one particular case the application on the other end isn't finding our message (2033).
He does see it in the dead letter Q.
He seems to be pulling based on MEssageID and maybe CorrelationID.
in the .NET DLL often mentioned here MessageID is an array of BYTE. as is CorrelationID. Furthermore it's already blank. Also there is a new param MessageIDString which I set to "".
Basically I can generate a message in VB and then one in .NET and the two messages look exactly the same. However at the other end only the VB style messages are picked up.
Scratching my head with this one for a while. I can't find any difference between the messages.
Hoping someone might have an idea what the difference is?
Any advice much appreciated.
Russ _________________ ____________
Russ
MQ Newbie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 2:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
Try looking at the messages with amqsbcg. I'm guessing that the difference might be blanks vs. nulls in the IDs. amqsbcg will dump the IDs in hex which will make it easy to tell. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQRuss |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 2:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Location: Macon. GA
|
I'll certainly pass that along.
Part of the problem is the other end of the queue is in Arizona.
I'm just outside of Atlanta. I think they are going to have to work it from that end with us since it's their app that's not picking up the message.
Thanks for the quick response.
I'll post again if I ever get anywhere.
Russ _________________ ____________
Russ
MQ Newbie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQRuss |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 2:23 pm Post subject: or here |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Location: Macon. GA
|
Or I could trun off Expiry and use it here.
Maybe I should change my name to MQKnucklehead.
Russ _________________ ____________
Russ
MQ Newbie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQRuss |
Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 9:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Location: Macon. GA
|
Ok,
One difference identified.
Every character in my message is seperated by a group of nulls. We've tried several different options here and nothing seems to produce the string the same way our old VB code does.
I'm not yet sure if this is happening with the messages that work on other queues or not.
Again even the slightest hint of something would be appreciated.
I'll post more if and when i have it.
Thanks
Russ _________________ ____________
Russ
MQ Newbie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Well that sounds like unicode vs normal 8 bit chars _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQRuss |
Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Location: Macon. GA
|
Agreed,
I've been using the same constants and statements that my od VB code uses in every instance. (hoping to avoid any mis-steps)
I'm digging thru now trying all these other formats.
also giving writeString and writechar a shot where I had previously just set messagedata = to my string.
Thanks for the speedy responses guys,
keep 'em coing if you have any other ideas.
Russ _________________ ____________
Russ
MQ Newbie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQRuss |
Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2003 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 16 Sep 2003 Posts: 13 Location: Macon. GA
|
Problem solved!!
Upgraded to the 5.3 Client and CSD05
Had to add the MQ00_INQUIRE option to my Dynamic Build.
and _mqMsgSend.CodeSet = 457 to my SEND.
Thanks for the help guys.
Russ _________________ ____________
Russ
MQ Newbie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|