Author |
Message
|
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 8:09 pm Post subject: Can MQ add XML format to messages? |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
Putting app is sending a fixed length foramtted message, but the receiver app is getting the message in xml format with increase in size.
Is MQ doing this ? or the receiving app is doing something?
Appreciate your time. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
MQ will not change the body of the message into XML.
However, what might be happening, and this is just a guess (!!!) is that the putting app is a JMS app and some properties are being pre-pended to the message that the receiving application doesn't know how to deal with.
You can alter the queue that the receiving application is getting from using the following command, and that will mean it will no longer get given the message property data, and only get the message body.
Code: |
ALTER QLOCAL(q-name) PROPCTL(NONE) |
However, given that this is just a guess, you might like to show us a little more about the changed data so we can be more sure about what you are describing.
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 11:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
hughson wrote: |
However, what might be happening, and this is just a guess (!!!) is that the putting app is a JMS app and some properties are being pre-pended to the message that the receiving application doesn't know how to deal with.
Cheers,
Morag |
Thanks for your time, Morag.
Yes, sender is a jms app. How do I check if "some properties are being pre-pended to the message" ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
Have a look at the message content you are complaining about. Are the first three characters RFH?
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQMB&WAS |
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 11:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 12 Jun 2016 Posts: 130
|
hughson wrote: |
Have a look at the message content you are complaining about. Are the first three characters RFH?
Cheers,
Morag |
Yes, the message has "RFH" at the beginning.
What can the sending app do to not cause this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 11:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
MQMB&WAS wrote: |
What can the sending app do to not cause this? |
If it is easier to correct the sending app than to alter the queue the receiving application reads from, then it should ensure it uses targetClient=1
e.g.
Code: |
Queue queue = queueSession.createQueue("queue:///" + queueName + "?targetClient=1"); |
I gave you the change to the queue because that means that other applications getting messages from this JMS application who can understand the properties are not affected. By changing the sending application, you affect everyone and no-one will get the properties any more. _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2021 4:07 pm Post subject: Re: Can MQ add XML format to messages? |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
MQMB&WAS wrote: |
Putting app is sending a fixed length foramtted message, but the receiver app is getting the message in xml format with increase in size.
Is MQ doing this ? or the receiving app is doing something?
Appreciate your time. |
What is the receiving app? ie. IIB flow, JMS
The RFH is not actually in pure XML format, it is a sequence of binary structures containing Properties as XML string data. In the Message Data, are you seeing binary stuff as well as XML, before the actual data payload? _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2021 8:11 pm Post subject: Re: Can MQ add XML format to messages? |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
gbaddeley wrote: |
In the Message Data, are you seeing binary stuff as well as XML, before the actual data payload? |
The OP has already confirmed the following:
MQMB&WAS wrote: |
hughson wrote: |
Have a look at the message content you are complaining about. Are the first three characters RFH? |
Yes, the message has "RFH" at the beginning. |
_________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|