ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportQMID and Channel Seqnum - Is there a better way than this ?

Post new topicReply to topic
QMID and Channel Seqnum - Is there a better way than this ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
pcelari
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 10:57 am Post subject: QMID and Channel Seqnum - Is there a better way than this ? Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Location: New York

Greetings ...

I need to migrate a very old qmgr to a new host, but want to make the move transparent to the many partners with server-to-server channels between us.

Since QMID cannot be altered, it seems I'll have to do a backup on the old server, move the backup to the new host and restore the qmgr, so I can keep the QMID unchanged. This way, I only need to sync the channel sequence numbers upon switching traffic to the new host, especially the receiver channels, with the last current seqnum from the old host.

The problem is, I'll have to keep the old qmgr name, which is difficult to justify as we have a new naming convention.

I have the feeling there must be is a better way than this... Would some experts here mind sharing some insight?

thanks a lot!
_________________
pcelari
-----------------------------------------
- a master of always being a newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 11:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6227

Question: Why do you need to retain the QMID?

Suggestion: Use a new queue manager and use the old name in a QMGR-alias-object within it (channel names would have to remain the same however).

The above suggestion assumes you cannot persuade your partners to make any changes to their end, but why not discuss the migration with them? Who knows, they may be amenable to changes.

This issue is one of the reasons I always try to put gateway queue managers in between infrastructure I control and any Third-Parties - the queue managers behind it can be moved/migrated anywhere within 'my' infrastructure, names can change but be managed by the use of alias objects, and there is no direct link between 'them' and 'internal us'...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcelari
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 12:02 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Location: New York

exerk wrote:
Question: Why do you need to retain the QMID?

Suggestion: Use a new queue manager and use the old name in a QMGR-alias-object within it (channel names would have to remain the same however).



thanks for the insight! You're right on! Yes, I'll use a qmgr-alias with empty fields. Retaining QMID is necessary for the channel session to be restored after switch-over connection to the new host, which also takes over the old IP. Of course seqnum also have to be synchronized.

If we have just a handful of partners, it wouldn't be a problem to get them involved. But the number is just to high to get them meaningful involved at hour zero. That's why I try to make the process a transparent one, if possible.
_________________
pcelari
-----------------------------------------
- a master of always being a newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2021 2:13 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2223
Location: Melbourne, Australia

exerk wrote:
Question: Why do you need to retain the QMID?

Only if the qmgr is in a MQ cluster, and it is not practical to remove it from the cluster, and then add it back in after recreating.

Your method of setting the sequence number to the correct value on the receiving end is OK, but its also acceptable to reset the sequence numbers back to 1 on the sending end, provided the channels were cleanly stopped when the old qmgr was shut down, and the partners agree to do it.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportQMID and Channel Seqnum - Is there a better way than this ?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.