ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ External to Azure

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ External to Azure View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
bobbee
PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2021 2:04 pm Post subject: MQ External to Azure Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 20 Sep 2001
Posts: 466
Location: Tampa

Have a client that has to connect to a new vendor who has their MQ on AZURE. Assuming this is Server 2 Server.

Nothing really changes for my client. They will get a DNS/IP to connect to????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 8:50 pm Post subject: Re: MQ External to Azure Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20460
Location: LI,NY

bobbee wrote:
Have a client that has to connect to a new vendor who has their MQ on AZURE. Assuming this is Server 2 Server.

Nothing really changes for my client. They will get a DNS/IP to connect to????

Yes that's the way to work it. Obviously you need to tell Azure to accept the connection from the origin IP. And I'd expect the connection to be TLS 1.2 (or above)
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bobbee
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 4:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 20 Sep 2001
Posts: 466
Location: Tampa

It seems MS ExpressRoute is in the mix. Never heard of this till now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 5:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

bobbee wrote:
It seems MS ExpressRoute is in the mix. Never heard of this till now.


Welcome to Azure, enjoy your stay.

ExpressRoute doesn't make any difference to you at an MQ level. It's a proprietary (and chargeable) way to link your on-premise network with your Azure network resources in a seamless, secure, flexible, redundant and chargeable way. There are all sorts of fun configurations you can set up but, for you, there's a queue manager with an IP address you're connecting to.

If you think of it as connecting to another on-premise queue manager that's behind a lot of firewalls and needs a lot of routing to get to, that image will serve you well. The amount of grief you'll get from the network people is equivalent
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ External to Azure
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.