Author |
Message
|
paustin_ours |
Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 4:12 pm Post subject: amqsevt vs amqsrua |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
i have subscribed to
$SYS/MQ/INFO/QMGR/QM92/Monitor/CPU/QMgrSummary
and i get pcf messages in my subscription queue.
when i use amqsevt to consume message from the subscription queue, the messages don't have any events.
Quote: |
amqsevt -m QM92 -b -q QSUB2 -o json
Showing the last 2 records:
{
"eventSource" : { "objectName": "QSUB2",
"objectType" : "Queue" },
"eventType" : {
"name" : "None",
"value" : 0
},
"msgType" : {
"name" : "Statistics",
"value" : 21
},
"eventReason" : {
"name" : "None",
"value" : 0
},
"eventCreation" : {
"timeStamp" : "2021-01-04T19:37:44Z",
"epoch" : 1609789064
},
"eventData" : {
"queueMgrName" : "QM92",
"monitorClass" : 0,
"monitorType" : 1,
"monitorInterval" : 10015548,
"monitorFlagsNone" : 0,
"applType" : "Dos",
"codedCharSetId" : 157
}
}
{
"eventSource" : { "objectName": "QSUB2",
"objectType" : "Queue" },
"eventType" : {
"name" : "None",
"value" : 0
},
"msgType" : {
"name" : "Statistics",
"value" : 21
},
"eventReason" : {
"name" : "None",
"value" : 0
},
"eventCreation" : {
"timeStamp" : "2021-01-04T19:37:54Z",
"epoch" : 1609789074
},
"eventData" : {
"queueMgrName" : "QM92",
"monitorClass" : 0,
"monitorType" : 1,
"monitorInterval" : 10018326,
"monitorFlagsNone" : 1,
"applType" : "Vms",
"codedCharSetId" : 157
}
}
|
when i run command line, amqsrua -n 10 -m QM92
i get events.
what could i be missing here? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
markt |
Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 10:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 May 2002 Posts: 508
|
amqsevt is not a suitable tool for decoding those resource statistics, as it does not use the metadata topics to get the descriptions for the PCF elements.
That's why you see things like an "codedcharsetid" element:
MQIA_CODED_CHAR_SET_ID has the number 2, but in those PCF mesages the element "2" refers instead to a key in the metadata maps.
And that metadata is what amqsrua uses to decode them as you can see from its source code.
(Personally I'd prefer the resource stats metadata to use keys outside the MQIA/MQCA ranges - there's no reason for the key numbers to start from 0 and it would reduce the confusion as amqsevt would then just say "unknown" in these circumstances.) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 1:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
markt wrote: |
(Personally I'd prefer the resource stats metadata to use keys outside the MQIA/MQCA ranges - there's no reason for the key numbers to start from 0 and it would reduce the confusion as amqsevt would then just say "unknown" in these circumstances.) |
Me too! I tried to report the fact that it doesn't as a defect to A.Hickson, and was denied! _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 4:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
What, if any, qmgr events did you enable before you ran amqsevt? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 5:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
I didnt enable any.
i subscribed to the topic and created a subscription queue. then used the amqsevt against that subscription queue.
using amqsrua i am able to get events with values even without enabling any queue manager events. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 7:33 am Post subject: Re: amqsevt |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
paustin_ours wrote: |
i have subscribed to
$SYS/MQ/INFO/QMGR/QM92/Monitor/CPU/QMgrSummary
and i get pcf messages in my subscription queue.
when i use amqsevt to consume message from the subscription queue, the messages don't have any events. |
How did you subscribe?
What subscription queue?
You subscribed to CPU. What events did you expect to see?
Can you be a bit more precise as to what results you expected. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 8:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
Quote: |
How did you subscribe? |
i created a topic and subscription from MQ explorer
Quote: |
What subscription queue? |
QSUB2 - local queue created on qmgr
i was hoping to get data like this
Quote: |
amqsrua -n 10 -m QM92
CPU : Platform central processing units
DISK : Platform persistent data stores
STATMQI : API usage statistics
STATQ : API per-queue usage statistics
STATAPP : Per-application usage statistics
Enter Class selection
==> CPU
SystemSummary : CPU performance - platform wide
QMgrSummary : CPU performance - running queue manager
Enter Type selection
==> QMgrSummary
Publication received PutDate:20210104 PutTime:19290425 Interval:10.015 seconds
User CPU time - percentage estimate for queue manager 0.01%
System CPU time - percentage estimate for queue manager 0.02%
RAM total bytes - estimate for queue manager 157MB
Publication received PutDate:20210104 PutTime:19291425 Interval:10.006 seconds
User CPU time - percentage estimate for queue manager 0.03%
System CPU time - percentage estimate for queue manager 0.04%
RAM total bytes - estimate for queue manager 157MB
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
Display the complete subscription definition here.
Why did you use amqsevt rather than amqsrua to display results? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
Quote: |
dis sub(CPU) all
2 : dis sub(CPU) all
AMQ8096I: IBM MQ subscription inquired.
SUBID(414D512050465245504F514D31202020C92BEE5FB0A7272B)
SUB(CPU)
TOPICSTR($SYS/MQ/INFO/QMGR/PFREPOQM1/Monitor/CPU/QMgrSummary)
TOPICOBJ(CPU) DISTYPE(RESOLVED)
DEST(QSUB2) DESTQMGR( )
PUBAPPID( ) SELECTOR( )
SELTYPE(NONE) USERDATA( )
PUBACCT(0334353000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000006)
DESTCORL(414D512050465245504F514D31202020C92BEE5FB0A7272B)
DESTCLAS(PROVIDED) DURABLE(YES)
EXPIRY(UNLIMITED) PSPROP(MSGPROP)
PUBPRTY(ASPUB) REQONLY(NO)
SUBSCOPE(ALL) SUBLEVEL(1)
SUBTYPE(ADMIN) VARUSER(ANY)
WSCHEMA(TOPIC) SUBUSER(mqm)
CRDATE(2021-01-03) CRTIME(20:09:44)
ALTDATE(2021-01-03) ALTTIME(20:09:44)
|
amqsevt had the option to write messages out in JSON format.
Also with amqsrua i have to have a script running on the server with the different commands, CPU, DISK etc., vs if i can subscribe to this data and get them to a queue, i could read it using amqsevt [ which dont seem to work as i thought it would] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 1:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
paustin_ours wrote: |
amqsevt had the option to write messages out in JSON format. |
Ok.
paustin_ours wrote: |
Also with amqsrua i have to have a script running on the server with the different commands, CPU, DISK etc., vs if i can subscribe to this data and get them to a queue, i could read it using amqsevt [ which dont seem to work as i thought it would] |
Why with amqsrua do you have to have a script running on the server? _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 1:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
Quote: |
Why with amqsrua do you have to have a script running on the server?
|
Is there a way to run it remotely? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
paustin_ours wrote: |
Quote: |
Why with amqsrua do you have to have a script running on the server?
|
Is there a way to run it remotely? |
If memory serves, there's a amqsruac client-bindings version of amqsrua.
IBM provides source (mostly C) for sample programs. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
paustin_ours |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yatiri
Joined: 19 May 2004 Posts: 667 Location: columbus,oh
|
you are right, there is. Will use that. thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
markt |
Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2021 10:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 May 2002 Posts: 508
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|