ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportvgextend drbdpool on RDQM HA setup?

Post new topicReply to topic
vgextend drbdpool on RDQM HA setup? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
ryddan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2020 6:07 am Post subject: vgextend drbdpool on RDQM HA setup? Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Sep 2001
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

Is it possible to extend drbdpool?

I need to create a new QueueManager on RDQM but there is not enough space in drbdpool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crashdog
PostPosted: Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:22 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 72

You can extend any logical volume (LV) on rhel with the command lvextend.
look here for details : https://access.redhat.com/documentation/en-us/red_hat_enterprise_linux/8/html/configuring_and_managing_logical_volumes/assembly_modifying-logical-volume-size-configuring-and-managing-logical-volumes
Cheers,
Gerhard
_________________
You win again gravity !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryddan
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 7:26 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Sep 2001
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

The LV (logical volume)can only be extended on RDQM if you backup everything on it and then restore data.

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.2.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q133350_.html

drbdpool is the VG (Volume Group). Can't find any information if that could be extended in documents.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crashdog
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 3:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 72

The question is what you really want to achieve. You mentioned in your first post that you want to create a new rdqm. Not extend the space for an existing rdqm.

I just tried to extend drdbpool on my lab system.
For that I just extended the physical drive (in my case a virtual disk on MS hyper-v).
then using fdisk to resize the partition. Reboot and use pvresize to add the newly created space. In my case I added 10 GB to sdb:

Before :
Code:


[root@t-mqhub1 ~]# lsblk
NAME                      MAJ:MIN RM  SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda                         8:0    0  127G  0 disk
├─sda1                      8:1    0  512M  0 part /boot/efi
├─sda2                      8:2    0  512M  0 part /boot
└─sda3                      8:3    0  126G  0 part
  ├─vg_root-lv_root       253:0    0   44G  0 lvm  /
  ├─vg_root-lv_swap       253:1    0   16G  0 lvm  [SWAP]
  ├─vg_root-lv_home       253:2    0  512M  0 lvm  /home
  ├─vg_root-lv_var        253:3    0   49G  0 lvm  /var
  └─vg_root-lv_tmp        253:4    0    1G  0 lvm  /tmp
sdb                         8:16   0  110G  0 disk
└─sdb1                      8:17   0  110G  0 part
  ├─drbdpool-tmqhubha1_00 253:5    0   10G  0 lvm
  │ └─drbd100             147:100  0   10G  0 disk /var/mqm/vols/tmqhubha1
  └─drbdpool-tmqhubha3_00 253:6    0   10G  0 lvm
    └─drbd101             147:101  0   10G  0 disk


[root@t-mqhub1 ~]# pvdisplay
  --- Physical volume ---
  PV Name               /dev/sdb1
  VG Name               drbdpool
  PV Size               <100.00 GiB / not usable 0
  Allocatable           yes
  PE Size               4.00 MiB
  Total PE              25599
  Free PE               20479
  Allocated PE          5120
  PV UUID               L63qCU-ik9Q-rdOv-SysX-ddVd-8pN7-hGZWhx


Code:

 pvresize /dev/sdb1


after:
Code:

[root@t-mqhub1 ~]# pvdisplay
  --- Physical volume ---
  PV Name               /dev/sdb1
  VG Name               drbdpool
  PV Size               <110.00 GiB / not usable 2.00 MiB
  Allocatable           yes
  PE Size               4.00 MiB
  Total PE              28159
  Free PE               23039
  Allocated PE          5120
  PV UUID               L63qCU-ik9Q-rdOv-SysX-ddVd-8pN7-hGZWhx

the existing rdqms are happily running just like before:
Code:

[root@t-mqhub1 ~]# lsblk
NAME                      MAJ:MIN RM  SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda                         8:0    0  127G  0 disk
├─sda1                      8:1    0  512M  0 part /boot/efi
├─sda2                      8:2    0  512M  0 part /boot
└─sda3                      8:3    0  126G  0 part
  ├─vg_root-lv_root       253:0    0   44G  0 lvm  /
  ├─vg_root-lv_swap       253:1    0   16G  0 lvm  [SWAP]
  ├─vg_root-lv_home       253:2    0  512M  0 lvm  /home
  ├─vg_root-lv_var        253:3    0   49G  0 lvm  /var
  └─vg_root-lv_tmp        253:4    0    1G  0 lvm  /tmp
sdb                         8:16   0  110G  0 disk
└─sdb1                      8:17   0  110G  0 part
  ├─drbdpool-tmqhubha1_00 253:5    0   10G  0 lvm
  │ └─drbd100             147:100  0   10G  0 disk /var/mqm/vols/tmqhubha1
  └─drbdpool-tmqhubha3_00 253:6    0   10G  0 lvm
    └─drbd101             147:101  0   10G  0 disk

[mqm@t-mqhub1 ~]$ rdqmstatus -m TMQHUBHA1
Node:                                   t-mqhub1.md80.ch
Queue manager status:                   Running
CPU:                                    0.04%
Memory:                                 184MB
Queue manager file system:              87MB used, 9.8GB allocated [1%]
HA role:                                Primary
HA status:                              Normal
HA control:                             Enabled
HA current location:                    This node
HA preferred location:                  This node
HA floating IP interface:               eth0:1
HA floating IP address:                 192.168.178.91

Node:                                   t-mqhub2.md80.ch
HA status:                              Normal

Node:                                   t-mqhub3.md80.ch
HA status:                              Normal




Addendum : you have to do this on all 3 nodes of course.

Hope this helps.
Cheers,
Gerhard
_________________
You win again gravity !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryddan
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 4:32 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 10 Sep 2001
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

Thanks for your help trying this.
Seems like it should work then.

I normally add a new empty disk to volume group

Prepare disk first : pvcreate /dev/sdX
then
vgentend VolumeGroup /dev/sdX

Have you also tried to restart one or more of the servers after?
I guess I also have test it first in labb setup. What I really would like is IBM to write instructions for it if it's possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
crashdog
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 4:43 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 72

Yes, reboot is no issue. I also set the preferred node and it switched just fine.

Code:

[mqm@t-mqhub1 ~]$ rdqmadm -m TMQHUBHA1 -p -n t-mqhub2.md80.ch
The preferred replicated data node has been set to 't-mqhub2.md80.ch' for queue
manager 'TMQHUBHA1'.
[mqm@t-mqhub1 ~]$ dspmq
QMNAME(TMQHUBHA1)                                         STATUS(Running elsewhere)
QMNAME(TMQHUBHA3)                                         STATUS(Running elsewhere)


Code:

[mqm@t-mqhub2 ~]$ dspmq
QMNAME(TMQHUBHA1)                                         STATUS(Running)
QMNAME(TMQHUBHA3)                                         STATUS(Running elsewhere)
[mqm@t-mqhub2 ~]$ rdqmstatus -m TMQHUBHA1
Node:                                   t-mqhub2.md80.ch
Queue manager status:                   Running
CPU:                                    0.06%
Memory:                                 181MB
Queue manager file system:              87MB used, 9.8GB allocated [1%]
HA role:                                Primary
HA status:                              Normal
HA control:                             Enabled
HA current location:                    This node
HA preferred location:                  This node
HA floating IP interface:               eth0:1
HA floating IP address:                 192.168.178.91

Node:                                   t-mqhub1.md80.ch
HA status:                              Normal

Node:                                   t-mqhub3.md80.ch
HA status:                              Normal


Maybe IBM considers this a too common task to specifically document it. Respectively they might look at it as OS task and not directly MQ related.

Cheers,
Gerhard
_________________
You win again gravity !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportvgextend drbdpool on RDQM HA setup?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.