ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportrdqm.ini

Post new topicReply to topic
rdqm.ini View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
belchman
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 5:30 am Post subject: rdqm.ini Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 369
Location: Ohio, USA

Have any of you been able to find a doc that explains the rdqm.ini, it properties and what the properties do?

I have searched and have found nothing.

We are in the initial stages of our first RDQM implementation and I am struggling with understanding how to set up communications to be most resilient.

If no one knows where the rdqm,ini is documented well, does anyone have any notes they discovered when they implemented RDQM?

I am hoping to understand what the entire set of properties are within rdqm.ini and what the properties do.

This page leaves a lot to the imagination:

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSFKSJ_9.1.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q130290_.htm

Thanks,
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_colgrave
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 7

That page fully describes the contents of the rdqm.ini file that are relevant to HA. The page contains examples of using one, two or three IP addresses per node.

There is a separate page that describes the optional use of the rdqm.ini file for DR: https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.2.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q133984_.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 369
Location: Ohio, USA

John,

We have referred to that page many times but it leaves a lot to the imagination. It just says things like

    HA_Primary
    HA_Alternate
    HA_Replication
    DR_Replication


with scant explanation of what those properties support.


It would be sweet if there was a page like this


https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/SSFKSJ_9.0.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q018910_.htm

that was relative to rdqm.ini.

As it is, we will have to extrapolate what the properties of the rdqm.ini will cause to happen based solely on the property name.

For example, for HA_Replication on node A, is that the address of where the replication data is being sent or where it is being received? I know the answer now, but it took too long to figure out.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashdog
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 8:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 64

Just out of curiosity, which MQ version will you be using ? I've not been able to get RDQM working using LTS version including 9.2.0.0. I've only gotten CD versions to work. Of which I tried 9.1.4.0 and 9.1.5.0.

And yes, documentation is sparse on that subject. I suggest though to read the drbd and pacemaker documentations.

Cheers,
Gerhard
_________________
You win again gravity !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 9:07 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 369
Location: Ohio, USA

We will be using 9.2.0 LTS.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_colgrave
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2020 11:18 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 7

9.2.0.0 is both a CD release and an LTS release and RDQM should work fine.

The KC page says "The rdqm.ini file gives the IP addresses for all of the nodes in the Pacemaker cluster." so you give the one, two or three IP addresses of each node, not the IP addresses they connect to (each node connects to the other two).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 3:36 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 369
Location: Ohio, USA

Thank you John
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashdog
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 6:45 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 64

Do you have a working 9.2.0.0 RDQM installation on RHEL 7 or 8?
I will be installing 9.2. on RHEL 7.8 in the next 2 weeks on my office systems. In my homelab I failed to get it running. Also on RHEL 8. But I can only open a PMR if my office installation fails too.

Cheers,
Gerhard
_________________
You win again gravity !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
belchman
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 6:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 369
Location: Ohio, USA

Not yet. We installed MQv9.2 on Redhatv7.8 but are still working on getting pacemaker cluster set up.

Have meetings today about how many IPs we need on each node.
_________________
Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crashdog
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2020 7:56 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 02 Apr 2017
Posts: 64

It depends a bit on how you set it up. Physical NICs or virutal NICs. In later case one IP for the replication and heartbeat will be sufficient. If you have physical NICs it also depends on how they're connected.
At least that's my takeaway from reading the documentation.

The floating IP can be attached to the same nic as used for general purpose. e.g. eth0:1. The only requirement from what I understand is there they (nic names) are unique on each node and reserved per queue manager.

Cheers,
Gerhard
_________________
You win again gravity !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportrdqm.ini
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.