ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportMQ HA Configration

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ HA Configration View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
GopiKrishna
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 9:11 am Post subject: MQ HA Configration Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 19 Feb 2020
Posts: 8

Hi All,

We are trying to configure MQ HA using 2 Queue managers and a Load balancer
The load balancer would be putting messages to the 2 queue mangers in round-robin.Is it possible to do with this setup.?We need to do it for 2 way communication. From Load balancer to Queue manager it's working fine ..But from Queue manager to load balancer its not working properly Can anyone please help



Thanks,
GopiKrishna
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alaychem
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:46 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 10 Feb 2016
Posts: 66

HA means that one MQ is on standby, how do you mean to implement round-robin? I suspect you are not really do HA setup, but active-active. Am I right?

If so, you should use MQ cluster, not load balancer (you do need it for HTTP).


Last edited by alaychem on Mon Aug 24, 2020 10:58 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:17 am Post subject: Re: MQ HA Configration Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26072
Location: Texas, USA

GopiKrishna wrote:
From Load balancer to Queue manager it's working fine ..But from Queue manager to load balancer its not working properly


Given the tiny amount of information provided, I'd guess that you're using the default configuration of the load balancer. You need to configure it so traffic is sent to the same target for a given connection, sometimes called making the connection "sticky".

Note that this works for MQ client connections; it will fail utterly if you try this trick for queue manager to queue manager connections.

alaychem wrote:
I suspect you are not really do HA setup, but active-active.


Using active / active is a variety of high availability in that applications continue to have access to a queue manager in the event one fails. The solution architecture needs to specifically cater for a situation where messages are unavailable because they're on the downed queue manager, which it does not in the active / passive HA I believe you're thinking of.

We must assume the OP has catered for this. Or overlooked it.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportMQ HA Configration
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.