ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportWMQ performance

Post new topicReply to topic
WMQ performance View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
MKHODER1
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:18 am Post subject: WMQ performance Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 16

Hello,

I found very little information on the topic performance MQ, that's why I post on the forum.

I have 550 IIB applications.

Each application is started by MQInput => one queue per application.

In some applications there is MQGet.

My apps process about 14 million messages per day.

95% of my queues are not persistent.

The total result of this command echo "dis chs (*) where (status eq" running ")" | runmqsc myQM : 560.

Can someone tell me, how much memory do I need on the WMQ ?

For more information
MaxChannels=5000
MaxActiveChannels=5000

Many thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8534
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Are you just curious? Or, are you experiencing performance issues - like missing SLAs?

Your o/s should be able to tell you how much system memory (footprint) your qmgr is using.

It might help if you mentioned which o/s, MQ VRM, performance monitoring tools, etc..
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeterPotkay
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:23 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 7582

Google "ibm mq performance report"

The first two results will contain useful information on what MQ is capable of. The reports contain details on the systems used to produce those numbers.
No, the systems won't be exactly like yours, probably not even close, but you can extrapolate.

Queues are not persistent or non persistent, individual MQ messages are.

Are all your IIB Message Flows running in MQ Client mode, connecting to a queue manager on another server, or appliance? If you are asking about channels we can assume yes, but please clarify.

The amount of memory your channels use will be influenced by the size of the messages and how many concurrent connections there are.

The cost of outages > the cost of people trying to figure out do I need 18.2 GB of RAM or 18.1 GB of RAM > the cost of more memory

I don't know that there is a reliable, accurate formula that works across all platforms across all workloads that tells you exactly how much memory is needed. Too many variable variables.
_________________
Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MKHODER1
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 12:46 am Post subject: Performance Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 16

Hi,

Thanks for your answers.

The OS is RedHat 7.6v.

Queues non-persitent.

The all message flows running in MQ client mode (MQPolicy), and connecting to a remote queue manager on other server.

I do not have large messages.

I use about 40gb max and the min is about 10gb.

I have a significant number of this process amqzlaa0

Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 5:29 am Post subject: Re: Performance Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8534
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MKHODER1 wrote:
Hi,

Thanks for your answers.

The OS is RedHat 7.6v.

Queues non-persitent.


Queues are neither persistent nor non-persistent. Messages may be persistent or non-persistent.

MKHODER1 wrote:
The all message flows running in MQ client mode (MQPolicy), and connecting to a remote queue manager on other server.

I do not have large messages.


Please be precise. In KB or MB, how large are your messages?

MKHODER1 wrote:
I use about 40gb max and the min is about 10gb.


You use 40gb ... 10gb of what?

MKHODER1 wrote:
I have a significant number of this process amqzlaa0


Please be precise. What is "a significant number?"
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MKHODER1
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:01 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 16

Hi,

Messages non-persistent.

Size of each messages 500 KB max.

Memory consumption changes in the day.
In the morning I have batch flows that turn and memory consumption is 40 GB.
In the evening I do not have batch flows, memory consumption decreases and reaches 10 GB.

amqzlaa0 : This is a connection process.

I have a lot that consumes 2%, 3%, 1%

3% -fip10
3% -fip53
3% -fip46
3% -fip57
2% -fip31
2% -fip28
2% -fip27
2% -fip44
2% -fip52
2% -fip11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:32 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8534
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

I repeat my earlier question: Are you just curious? Or, are you experiencing performance issues - like missing SLAs?
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MKHODER1
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 8:16 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 16

Hi,

I'm having a problem and it's not curiosity.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8534
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MKHODER1 wrote:
Hi,

I'm having a problem and it's not curiosity.

Thanks

What problem? What symptoms?

Is this a new problem? What has changed?

What solutions have you tried? What were the results?
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MKHODER1
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 10:09 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Posts: 16

Hi,

it is a subject that I am working on, I have provided you with the necessary information.

I agree that there is no rule to do the calculation, depending on the number of events, the number of channel connections and the size of the messages.

I need your experiences on the MQ, if a new client wants to migrate to the WMQ, with the information above, how many Gb of RAM do you offer?

I hope I was clear and thank you for your answers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 3:26 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8534
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

MKHODER1 wrote:
Hi,

it is a subject that I am working on, I have provided you with the necessary information.

I agree that there is no rule to do the calculation, depending on the number of events, the number of channel connections and the size of the messages.

I need your experiences on the MQ, if a new client wants to migrate to the WMQ, with the information above, how many Gb of RAM do you offer?

I hope I was clear and thank you for your answers.

So, it's kinda like a college or trade school project.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Dec 09, 2019 4:04 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25858
Location: Texas, USA

MKHODER1 wrote:
I agree that there is no rule to do the calculation, depending on the number of events, the number of channel connections and the size of the messages.


There is the performance report mentioned by my worthy associate. You also have a number of metrics which you posted earlier and from which you obtained the 10 - 40Gb usage.

MKHODER1 wrote:
I need your experiences on the MQ, if a new client wants to migrate to the WMQ, with the information above, how many Gb of RAM do you offer?


I'd offer 40Gb because otherwise it will run out of memory. I'd then investigate to determine what it is that's soaking the extra 30Gb of memory in one use case and not the other.

(Poor program design leaps immediately to my mind, but that's mostly reflex )
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportWMQ performance
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.