ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Java / JMSCan you use Mac to connect to MQ?

Post new topicReply to topic
Can you use Mac to connect to MQ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:33 am Post subject: Can you use Mac to connect to MQ? Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 301

I have an application programmer using a Mac to try and communicate to a mainframe MQM. I've never had a programmer come to me with this type of request. No MQClient for Mac obviously.

From what I read, the Mac Toolkit has some type of development kit for developing JAVA, C++, Cobol programs. But I don't get the impression that distributing code developed in this kit to Production Mac computers is possible.

Is this correct? Any pointers/info on using Mac with MQ would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:40 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2040
Location: Melbourne, Australia

https://developer.ibm.com/messaging/2019/02/05/ibm-mq-macos-toolkit-for-developers/

Published on 05/02/2019
"We are very pleased to announce that the IBM MQ MacOS toolkit for developers is now available. This toolkit provides the ability to develop and interact directly with MQ from your Mac, for developers using the language interfaces; such as C, C++, COBOL, GoLang, and Node.js; which are built on the platform-native C library (libmqm) . This extends the capability we already provide for Java developers on Mac, with the IBM MQ com.ibm.mq.allclient.jar."

Is this what you are looking for?
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cicsprog
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 3:05 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Posts: 301

Ya read that...but in that...

This also wont give you a supported way to run applications, for that youll need to take the code youve developed on the Mac and build it on your production platform of choice (MQ system requirements).

So you can only develop on Mac but not run Production apps on Mac?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 3:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 849
Location: Illinois, USA

Is the application programmer writing a Java application? If so, it sounds like the allclient jar can run on Mac based on that blurb.
_________________
Working with MQ since 2010.

Miami Dolphins 2019 - Tank you for the memories.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 8:02 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1282
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

cicsprog wrote:
So you can only develop on Mac but not run Production apps on Mac?

Correct.
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2019 3:04 pm Post subject: Re: Can you use Mac to connect to MQ? Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2040
Location: Melbourne, Australia

cicsprog wrote:
I have an application programmer using a Mac to try and communicate to a mainframe MQM. I've never had a programmer come to me with this type of request. No MQClient for Mac obviously.

Yep. I would guess that all Mac apps that use MQ messaging back-end are hosted by web servers or other devices. You could try the other Intel X86 GUI OS that dominates enterprise environments.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Java / JMSCan you use Mac to connect to MQ?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.