ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTCP Keeaplive Configuration

Post new topicReply to topic
TCP Keeaplive Configuration View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
tczielke
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:50 pm Post subject: TCP Keeaplive Configuration Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 813
Location: Illinois, USA

I asked the following in an IBM MQ PMR, but was curious if anyone on the forum knows the answer.

Quote:
I know in the IBM MQ manual there is a way to turn on TCP keeaplive by using the TCP stanza in the qm.ini and specifying Keeaplive=yes. On Linux, this will then cause the channel socket that MQ creates to turn on keepalive and leverage the operating system settings for keepalive:

OS Example:
net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_time = 900
net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_probes = 5
net.ipv4.tcp_keepalive_intvl = 15

However, with socket programming, I know there is also a way to override those OS settings when you turn on keepalive. So are there other qm.ini keepalive settings that can be specified so that IBM MQ not only turns on TCP keepalive, but also allows the tcp_keepalive_time to be overridden to another setting for the socket that is created?

For example, I would like IBM MQ to turn on keepalive and change the tcp_keepalive_time to be 600 seconds, instead of the OS default of 900.

_________________
Working with MQ since 2010.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 4:13 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1992
Location: Melbourne, Australia

The description of KAINT at https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.1.0/com.ibm.mq.ref.con.doc/q081900_.htm implies it is only implemented on z/OS. However, it seems it is possible to programmatically set the 3 TCP keepalive parameters in socket connections on UNIX & Windows, to override the OS settings, but it hasn't been implemented in MQ ??
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 6:30 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 813
Location: Illinois, USA

Thanks for the link. It does sound like it is not supported on multi-platforms.
_________________
Working with MQ since 2010.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTCP Keeaplive Configuration
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.