ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » CCDT round robin and GET

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 CCDT round robin and GET « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
LJM
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 7:37 am    Post subject: CCDT round robin and GET Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Posts: 22

Hi ALl,

just a quickie

i define a CCDT for my client to use

eg

DEFINE CHANNEL(QM1.SVRCONN) CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN) CONNAME('qmgr1(1701)') AFFINITY(NONE) CLNTWGHT(50) QMNAME(QM1)

DEFINE CHANNEL(QM2.SVRCONN) CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN) CONNAME('qmgr2(1701)') AFFINITY(NONE) CLNTWGHT(50) QMNAME(QM2)

this will round robin my mq ( java ) clients when PUT to Q1 between QM1 and QM2 evenly

however

will this also round robin my client when GET from Q2 between QM1 and QM2 ?

i cant test this yet, just want a theoretical answer to feed back to dev team

Thanks
Loz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Presumably you will 'round-robin' the client applications because Client 1 - 5 will specify one queue manager, and Client 6 - 10 will specify the other?

Do the client applications PUT only and GET only, or can they PUT AND GET?

Do you want to automatically load-balance the client applications? If so, investigate the automatic load-balancing of JMS MQ Clients introduced with v9.1.3.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LJM
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Posts: 22

Hi,

situation is two qmrs, QM1 and QM2 with same locally defined clsuter queue Q,

i have upstream QMGR PUT to cluster in a RR DEFBIND(NOTFIXED) to distribute load to Q@QM1 and Q@QM2


i have some java then GET only from Q@QM1 and same java on" another box" GET from Q@QM2

i want to add a little redundacny so my java GET from Q@QM1 / Q@QM2 round robin - was thinking via CCDT - just in case java box fails,

im on WMQ8 here ( i know ! )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Have two threads/instances from each 'java box', one thread/instance connecting to QM1 and the other to QM2. If one 'java box' fails, there will be at least one thread/instance servicing each queue in each queue manager.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 9394
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

LJM wrote:
i have upstream QMGR PUT to cluster in a RR DEFBIND(NOTFIXED) to distribute load to Q@QM1 and Q@QM2

Does the app specify BIND option to explicitly override the DEFBIND?
_________________
I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:42 pm    Post subject: Re: CCDT round robin and GET Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1914
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

LJM wrote:
i define a CCDT for my client to use

DEFINE CHANNEL(QM1.SVRCONN) CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN) CONNAME('qmgr1(1701)') AFFINITY(NONE) CLNTWGHT(50) QMNAME(QM1)

DEFINE CHANNEL(QM2.SVRCONN) CHLTYPE(CLNTCONN) CONNAME('qmgr2(1701)') AFFINITY(NONE) CLNTWGHT(50) QMNAME(QM2)

this will round robin my mq ( java ) clients when PUT to Q1 between QM1 and QM2 evenly


A CCDT does not have an effect on MQPUT. The CCDT has an effect on MQCONN. If your CCDT is round-robin-ing your MQPUTs, you must be doing an MQCONN for every MQPUT which is ill-advised.

You mention that you also have clustering with BIND(NOTFIXED). It will be this technology that is round-robin-ing your MQPUTs. The CCDT is just providing connectivity.

Your CCDT as above is not even providing connectivity fail-over/redundancy, since both QMNAME fields have different values. If you created a group of CCDT entries all with the same QMNAME (a group name you invent), then this could provide some connectivity fail-over if one member of the group wasn't available.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LJM
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Posts: 22

Hi Morag, yes a typo in my thread, i was using your example for CCDT from your MQGEM post #8

..........

I think im just asking the wrong question,

can i use CCDT on my clients to round robin GETS from a Q@QM1 and Q@QM2

eg get from 1st , then get from 2nd, then get from 1st then get from 2nd.

by way of connecting to one then connecting to the other in the list

Im purely from an comms / infra view, ill let the dev worry about the code of the MQCONN, and any WITH WAITS and all that jazz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

LJM wrote:
HI think im just asking the wrong question,


You're also thinking about this the wrong way.

LJM wrote:
can i use CCDT on my clients to round robin GETS from a Q@QM1 and Q@QM2

eg get from 1st , then get from 2nd, then get from 1st then get from 2nd.

by way of connecting to one then connecting to the other in the list


Connecting is a computationally expensive operation. The application should connect to the queue managers, then continue to use those existing connections for the get operations.

LJM wrote:
Im purely from an comms / infra view, ill let the dev worry about the code of the MQCONN, and any WITH WAITS and all that jazz.


And if you tell the devs / let the devs "connect to one and then the other", not only will they complain about poor MQ performance but all the bandwidth in your infrastructure will be sucked up.

A better way would be as my worthy associate alluded to. Define one CCDT that has queue managers in the order QM1 / QM2, and another in the order QM2 / QM1 but both have an attribute of QMGRNAME(YOURQMGR). Give half the application one CCDT, the other half the other, and tell everybody to connect to a queue manager called YOURQMGR.

This will distribute the connections and if one queue manager fails, the reconnect will automatically switch over to the surviving queue manager.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

LJM wrote:
...can i use CCDT on my clients to round robin GETS from a Q@QM1 and Q@QM2

eg get from 1st , then get from 2nd, then get from 1st then get from 2nd.

by way of connecting to one then connecting to the other in the list...

You can but it's horrifically inefficient and resource-intensive - the major hit is on the conn/disconn. My advice is - DON'T!

And I suspect others will back me on that...

...and, as if by magic
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LJM
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Posts: 22

Vitor wrote:


A better way would be as my worthy associate alluded to. Define one CCDT that has queue managers in the order QM1 / QM2, and another in the order QM2 / QM1 but both have an attribute of QMGRNAME(YOURQMGR). Give half the application one CCDT, the other half the other, and tell everybody to connect to a queue manager called YOURQMGR.

This will distribute the connections and if one queue manager fails, the reconnect will automatically switch over to the surviving queue manager.


Thanks - i now ( finaly ) understand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LJM
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 05 Jul 2018
Posts: 22

exerk wrote:
Have two threads/instances from each 'java box', one thread/instance connecting to QM1 and the other to QM2. If one 'java box' fails, there will be at least one thread/instance servicing each queue in each queue manager.


thanks agian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

exerk wrote:
...and, as if by magic


Bibberdy.....bobberdy......boo!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
exerk wrote:
...and, as if by magic


Bibberdy.....bobberdy......boo!

No wizardy emoticon unfortunately, so I shall name you Zardoz
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

exerk wrote:
Vitor wrote:
exerk wrote:
...and, as if by magic


Bibberdy.....bobberdy......boo!


No wizardy emoticon unfortunately, so I shall name you Zardoz




Ok, I'm good with the flying head but if Sean Connery turns up bare chested sporting leather trousers I'm outta here!!!!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6339

Vitor wrote:
exerk wrote:
Vitor wrote:
exerk wrote:
...and, as if by magic


Bibberdy.....bobberdy......boo!


No wizardy emoticon unfortunately, so I shall name you Zardoz




Ok, I'm good with the flying head but if Sean Connery turns up bare chested sporting leather trousers I'm outta here!!!!

Or Admiral Baldrick...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » CCDT round robin and GET
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.