ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportScandinavian char not showing right...

Post new topicReply to topic
Scandinavian char not showing right... View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Ammu509
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 5:41 am Post subject: Scandinavian char not showing right... Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Posts: 6

I am unable to send Scandinavian letter in IBM App connect. In WMB version 8, I can see the letter reflecting properly but in App connect it's displayed as: �. Please suggest me ways to resolve this issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 5:48 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25787
Location: Ohio, USA

Ammu509 wrote:
I am unable to send Scandinavian letter in IBM App connect. In WMB version 8, I can see the letter reflecting properly but in App connect it's displayed as: �.


Awesome post

Ammu509 wrote:
Please suggest me ways to resolve this issue.


Use the same CCSID in ACE that you do in WMB.

Include a subject line when you post to this forum.

Try explaining your problem; send the letter where? From where? Using what?

Where in WMBv8 do you see the letter reflecting properly?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ammu509
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 6:06 am Post subject: Unable to process Scandinavian letter Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Posts: 6

I actually included subject line earlier but was not displayed for some reason.

Sorry for not explaining the issue in the detail.

I am trying to fetch the value with Scandinavian letter from property file and send it to back end system (JSON Format). I had set CCSID as shown below:
Set outputroot.properties.codedcharsetid = 1208;

While debugging I saw getting replaced by �. Also in backend system also it's getting displayed as �.

[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 6:30 am Post subject: Re: Unable to process Scandinavian letter Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25787
Location: Ohio, USA

Ammu509 wrote:
I am trying to fetch the value with Scandinavian letter from property file


It's never a good idea to use a property file with broker; there are so many better ways to store properties.

Ammu509 wrote:
I had set CCSID as shown below:
Set outputroot.properties.codedcharsetid = 1208;


And how did you set the CCSID for the property file? The file has no inherent CCSID so it will default to the CCSID of the OS (which might well be a generic Latin CCSID where your Scandinavian letter maps to a symbol).

Probably worth checking the OS where it works to see if that's been set differently.


Ammu509 wrote:
While debugging I saw getting replaced by �. Also in backend system also it's getting displayed as �.


The debugger is a bad way to solve this kind of problem, because it has to translate what it's seeing into the CCSID of your Windows.

I assume you've checked this back end system speaks Scandinavian and will not incorrectly parse your JSON back into a symbol when you get this fixed........?
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ammu509
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 7:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Posts: 6

Yes in backend system the Scandinavian character is displayed properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 8:37 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25787
Location: Ohio, USA

Ammu509 wrote:
Yes in backend system the Scandinavian character is displayed properly.


Even if it's a symbol to broker?

I stand by my previous advice in any instance.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rekarm01
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 4:43 pm Post subject: Re: Unable to process Scandinavian letter Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 1366

Ammu509 wrote:
I actually included subject line earlier but was not displayed for some reason.

If the subject line had non-ASCII chars in it, that could cause problems when posting. However, you should use the "Edit" button on the upper right corner of the first post, to go back and add a subject line, otherwise, it's almost impossible for anyone else to open this thread, and participate. Also, the "Preview" button helps to show what problems might occur, before submitting a post.

Ammu509 wrote:
I had set CCSID as shown below:
Code:
Set outputroot.properties.codedcharsetid = 1208;

ESQL references are case-sensitive. That's not going to work, as-is.

Ammu509 wrote:
While debugging I saw Ä getting replaced by �. Also in backend system also it's getting displayed as �.

Please be more specific about what it is that's doing the displaying of the problem characters. It's possible that the message passed to the back end is ok, but whatever tool you are using to snoop at the message contents is not configured to display the data properly. It often helps to have a tool that can also display bytes in hex, to confirm they are good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ammu509
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2019 9:12 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Posts: 6

As I mentioned is not getting passed to backend system properly. This particular character is displayed without any issue in that system when tested with SOAP UI, but when App connect sends this value is not getting displayed properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexWebSphere Message Broker SupportScandinavian char not showing right...
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.