Author |
Message
|
rahaman |
Posted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:50 am Post subject: Pub/Sub support in a clustered environment |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 6
|
Hi ,
We are trying to use the MA0C support pac provided by IBM for pub/sub through JMS.We are able to successfully publish and subscribe in a single stand alone Queue MAnager.
We are trying to implement the same in a MQ clustered environment where an application subscribes to a topic in a different QM and publisher publishes to the same topic under a different Queue Manager in the same cluster , is it possible for the subscriber now to receive the published message?
Does the MA0C support pac supports Pub/Sub in a clustered environment?
thanks in advance
Rahaman |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rwa |
Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 12:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 22 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: Duesseldorf/Germany
|
Hi Rahaman,
it is possible to run subscriber and publisher on different queue managers.
Example: publisher and pub/sub on one queue manager (QM1) and subscriber on another queue manager (QM2)
Run pub/sub as everthing running on a single queue manager (QM1).
Define a remote queue definition for the subscribtion queue from QM1 to QM2.
The subscriber has to name QM1 and the receive queue in the subscriptions. QM2 needs a route to QM1 to send the messages. This can be achived by using the default transmission queue or create a transmission queue with the name QM1 on QM2. (also create the appropriate channels for the transmission queues)
You can use a pub/sub broker domain which would support a clustered environment. With a broker domain a broker run on QM1 and a second broker run on QM2. Both broker will exchange there publications.
If a publisher publishes "local" on QM1. The broker on QM1 exchances the publication with the broker on QM2. Now the publication can be retrived on QM2 using a "local" subscriber.
Regards,
Rainer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rahaman |
Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 6:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 6
|
Hi Rainer,
Thanks a lot for the info.
I would like to briefly summarize what i understood from your reply.
I suppose you are talking about two different ways of implementing the solution.
First method is by using a remote queue definition method.
Second method is to use the pub/sub broker domain.
We are using the MA0C support pac from IBM.There is a broker service provided by this pac.
My question is : Is this what you refer to as pub/sub broker domain?
If that is so then we would try to implement your solution (Second method)and get back to you.
Thanks & Regards,
Rahaman |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rwa |
Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 6:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 22 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: Duesseldorf/Germany
|
Hi Rahaman,
the MA0C pub/sub functions are implemented in a broker service. A broker domain is two or more brokers connected to each other to transfer publications and configurations between the brokers. Each broker needs it's own queue manager.
How to build an broker domain is describes in the MA0C docu and some redbooks (~ sg246282.pdf).
Regards,
Rainer |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rahaman |
Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 8:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 6
|
Hi Rainer,
Thanks again for the info.
I checked out the document you referred , it is very useful.
It talks about the broker networks configuration.
We will be implementing the same and get back to you once we did that..
Regards,
Rahaman |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rahaman |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 8:02 am Post subject: pub/sub broker network |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 6
|
Hi Rainer,
Sorry for delay in getting back to you..
We implmented the pub/sub broker domain in a clustered environment..
It worked after the broker services were started in parent-child mode..
Thanks a lot..
I have another query for you, is it possible to implement the broker network without parent-child relation.We are trying to setup broker network in such way they should be able to communicate without a parent broker. Though the user guide suggests it is not possible,I would like to know whether you have any clues on this type of broker network setup..
Is it possible to do this with MQSI?
Thanks & Regards,
Rahaman |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dletien |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Aug 2002 Posts: 9 Location: Chicago
|
Hi,
You can avoid a parent/child relationship with WMQI by using a collective if I remember correctly.
Didier |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rahaman |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 6
|
Hi Didier,
Thanks, I went through the docs refering collective which can be done using WMQI(MQSI).
I want to know whether it is possible to do the same with MQseries pub/sub support pac..
Thanks & Regards,
Rahaman |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dletien |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Aug 2002 Posts: 9 Location: Chicago
|
Hi,
You can't do the same with a WebSphere MQ based broker.
Hope this help,
Didier |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rahaman |
Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Oct 2003 Posts: 6
|
Hi Didier,
Thanks for the quick reply..
You are right, the pub/sub guide says it is not possible with WMQ based broker..
Regards,
Rahaman |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|