ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportcan runmqdlq list DLH ?

Post new topicReply to topic
can runmqdlq list DLH ? View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:29 pm Post subject: can runmqdlq list DLH ? Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 571

I was called out to fix a MQ 75 standalone server. The network was down. There were lots of messages on the DLQ. The server has no sample program or any supportpac installed. The error log has nothing interesting. At the time, I need to read the DLH of the messages on DLQ. V75 has no dmpmqmsg. I cannot use explorer because there was no network. The only thing available for me was the runmqdlq program. But I cannot figure out if there is a way to get it to list the DLH. I end up has to go back to my office to get sample program on a USB key so that I can read the DLH and fix the problem (an application issue). It will be nice if the runmqdlq can do the work. It is not documented. Is there any undocumented way ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:09 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19945
Location: LI,NY

you could have used the browse sample program...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:33 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1949
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Quote:
The server has no sample program

That's unfortunate. amqsput, amqsget, amqsbcg, amqscnxc are pretty much de rigueur for MQ support. I would not hesitate to copy the binaries from another installation on same OS and same MQ version.
We wrote custom programs to do detailed reporting on the contents of DLQ, such as time ranges, number of messages, reason codes, queue names. It can get very messy in that queue. amqsbcg and runmqdlq are not much help in understanding what happened, before doing something with all the messages.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:35 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 571

Thanks, I just want to make sure t that I have not missed anything.
MQ servers that were not built or supported by us before can become our responsibilities as a result of any business changes. This is a lesson learned. We have to carry what we need on a USB key all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ Supportcan runmqdlq list DLH ?
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.