ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Connecting to remote queue using VB.Net and MQAX200

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Connecting to remote queue using VB.Net and MQAX200 « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
MaxPowers
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 11:14 am    Post subject: Connecting to remote queue using VB.Net and MQAX200 Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 3

I am trying to connect to a Win2k server running Websphere MQ. The queue manager's name is MQ_PORTAL. I have setup a server channel named CH1 and added the environment variable MQServer=CHL1/TCP/X.XX.XXX.XX(1414). I am trying to access the remote queue manager with the following VB.net code:

Dim mqSession As New MQAX200.MQSession
Dim mqQueueMgr As MQAX200.MQQueueManager

mqQueueMgr = CType(mqSession.AccessQueueManager("MQ_PORTAL"), MQAX200.MQQueueManager)

Dim mqQueue As mqQueue = CType(mqQueueMgr.AccessQueue(_requestQueueName, MQ_PUT_OPTIONS), MQAX200.MQQueue)

I am receiving the following error:
ReasonCode = 2058, ReasonName = MQRC_Q_MGR_NAME_ERROR,
stating the queue manager is not vaild.

Any thoughts?
_________________
Thanks,
Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I've found that a 2058 usually indicates that you found a qmgr, but you have the wrong name. Issue the dspmq command and verify the name (including the case).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
MaxPowers
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 3

It is probably finding my client queue manager, but I need to use queue manager on the server.
_________________
Thanks,
Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Are you sure that the listener for MQ_PORTAL is running on port 1414?

If it's running on a different port, and there is a listener for some other queue manager running on 1414, you will get a 2058.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrlinux
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 14 Feb 2002
Posts: 1261
Location: Detroit,MI USA

Well I just ran across this one yesterday
When you do the following and leave a space between the = sign and the rest of the definition you get a 2058 ????

SET MQSERVER= SYSYEM.DEF.SVRCONN/TCP/HOST(PORT)
_________________
Jeff

IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MaxPowers
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 3

I should also mention that the amqsputc DOS command works correctly. It puts a message on the remote server as I would expect. It is the .Net code where I am receiving the 2058 error.
_________________
Thanks,
Max
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrlinux
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 14 Feb 2002
Posts: 1261
Location: Detroit,MI USA

Where your .net code is running is MQServer Installed or just client ???
and if you installed just client did you install it from the client CD or the server CD ???
_________________
Jeff

IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rbharatha
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2003 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 5

Hi Maxx

Dim oMqEnvironment As MQEnvironment
Dim m_sQChannelName as string = "CHL1"
Dim m_sHostName as string = MQ Server Name
Dim oMqQMgr As MQQueueManager
'
oMqEnvironment.Channel = m_sQChannelName
oMqEnvironment.Hostname = m_sHostName
oMqEnvironment.Port = m_nHostPortNo

by using the above code of lines there is no need to set in the environment on the system.

m_sChannelDefinition = m_sQChannelName & "/TCP/" & m_sHostName & (1414)

'try to connect to the MQ Host by QueueMgr and Channel parameters
oMqQMgr = New MQQueueManager(MQ_PORTAL, m_sChannelName, m_sConnectionName)

by this you should be able to connect
_________________
Ramesh Bharata
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ API Support » Connecting to remote queue using VB.Net and MQAX200
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.