ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportRDQM 9.1 resize filesystem

Post new topicReply to topic
RDQM 9.1 resize filesystem View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
charanR
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:29 pm Post subject: RDQM 9.1 resize filesystem Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Posts: 28

Hello,

Is there a way to resize the filesystem in RDQM HA or DR scenario ? I see there is "setmqsize" command for MQ appliance but couldn't find anything for MQ 9.1 installed on RHEL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:47 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 2032
Location: Melbourne, Australia

On UNIX/Linux systems, the OS disk file systems where MQ data and MQ recovery logs are stored can be resized using the normal OS commands for doing so. This can be done while MQ is running.
_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charanR
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:40 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Posts: 28

gbaddeley wrote:
On UNIX/Linux systems, the OS disk file systems where MQ data and MQ recovery logs are stored can be resized using the normal OS commands for doing so. This can be done while MQ is running.


OK. just wanted to make sure that those lvm commands are safe to run. RDQM DR is creating multiple logical volumes for the queuemanager. I want to make sure resizing them wont create any issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:49 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8512
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

charanR wrote:
I want to make sure resizing them wont create any issues.

Of course, you will test this process in a TEST environment, yes?
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:34 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1274
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

charanR wrote:
gbaddeley wrote:
On UNIX/Linux systems, the OS disk file systems where MQ data and MQ recovery logs are stored can be resized using the normal OS commands for doing so. This can be done while MQ is running.


OK. just wanted to make sure that those lvm commands are safe to run. RDQM DR is creating multiple logical volumes for the queuemanager. I want to make sure resizing them wont create any issues.


I would be surprised if just changing the size of volumes on disk would be enough. When you create an RDQM you tell it the size of the volume, e.g:-

Code:
crtmqm -sxs -fs 1000M MQG1


If you don't tell it a size, the default value for the -fs flag is 3 Gigabytes (not 3MB as Knowledge Center says!)

I see nothing in Knowledge Center that suggests you can change that size after the queue manager is created.

I will ping a Hursley contact and ask them to have a look at this thread so that you can get a definitive answer.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
charanR
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:49 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Posts: 28

Thank you Morag. I also reached out to IBM support with more questions than these but this one is troubling me a lot so posted this question here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charanR
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Posts: 28

bruce2359 wrote:

Of course, you will test this process in a TEST environment, yes?


Before I do anything and go through the hassle of recovery. I wanted ask few questions if anyone faced similar issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_colgrave
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 5

You cannot change the filesystem size for an RDQM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8512
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

john_colgrave wrote:
You cannot change the filesystem size for an RDQM.

Why not? Please cite a source.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
john_colgrave
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 02 Jun 2014
Posts: 5

There is a dedicated logical volume created for each RDQM and the filesystem is automatically created as part of crtmqm to fill the logical volume.

I designed RDQM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:50 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1274
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

bruce2359 wrote:
john_colgrave wrote:
You cannot change the filesystem size for an RDQM.

Why not? Please cite a source.

Let me introduce John Colgrave, from IBM Hursley, the lead architect of RDQM. He is the source!

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:37 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8512
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

I bow to the source.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charanR
PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:47 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 05 Oct 2017
Posts: 28

john_colgrave wrote:
There is a dedicated logical volume created for each RDQM and the filesystem is automatically created as part of crtmqm to fill the logical volume.

I designed RDQM.


I see. If I find out that logical volume isn't sufficient in future, what's the best way for me to increase the size ? Is it recreating the queue manager again ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ftdmnt1600
PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:25 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 20 Jul 2018
Posts: 11

john_colgrave wrote:
There is a dedicated logical volume created for each RDQM and the filesystem is automatically created as part of crtmqm to fill the logical volume.

I designed RDQM.


Thanks John
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
umatharani
PostPosted: Sun Nov 03, 2019 8:30 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 23 Oct 2008
Posts: 39

As John indicated the size can not be changed. There is no setmqsize equivalent currently available for RDQM. Hence the option is to backup the QM, recreate and then restore from the backup. The procedure is documented in the following MQ knowledgecenter URLs lately added to the MQ knowledgecenter.

RDQM HA: https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.1.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q133350_.htm
RDQM DR: https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.1.0/com.ibm.mq.con.doc/q133360_.htm

Thanks,
mahesh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportRDQM 9.1 resize filesystem
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.