ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportHow to config MQ to allow MQE connections

Post new topicReply to topic
How to config MQ to allow MQE connections View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
psala
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:16 am Post subject: How to config MQ to allow MQE connections Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

I installed MQ v.8 on AIX.v.7, then,
I created and started a queue manager called QM1
On QM1 I Defined a local queue called QUEUE1

I then installed MQexplorer v.9.1 on my Linux laptop. In MQE I tried to add the remote QM1 I created. But I get this MQE error: "Could not establish a connection to the queue manager - reason 2538. (AMQ4059)"

How do I configure my QM1 to allow a connection from MQE. What if I want to allow a READ only access or FULL-CONTROL access?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:21 am Post subject: Re: How to config MQ to allow MQE connections Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8510
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

psala wrote:
I installed MQ v.8 on AIX.v.7, then,
I created and started a queue manager called QM1
On QM1 I Defined a local queue called QUEUE1

I then installed MQexplorer v.9.1 on my Linux laptop. In MQE I tried to add the remote QM1 I created. But I get this MQE error: "Could not establish a connection to the queue manager - reason 2538. (AMQ4059)"

How do I configure my QM1 to allow a connection from MQE. What if I want to allow a READ only access or FULL-CONTROL access?

Google is you friend.

What research have you done?

What does r/c 2538 tell you?

What does AMQ4059 tell you?

What actions do these tell you?
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psala
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:09 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

Hi Bruce

Thank you for your help Bruce, I did try to google How+to+configure+IBM+MQ+to+allow+MQ+explorer+connections but every thing seems to point to that MQE is already conected to MQ. So I am sort of stuck.

What does r/c 2538 tell you? An MQCONN call was issued from a client to connect to a queue manager but the attempt to allocate a conversation to the remote system failed. Common causes of this reason code are:
The listener has not been started on the remote system.
The connection name in the client channel definition is incorrect.
The network is currently unavailable.
A firewall blocking the port, or protocol-specific traffic.
The security call initializing the IBM WebSphere MQ client is blocked by a security exit on the SVRCONN channel at the server.

What does AMQ4059 tell you? AMQ4059 = Could not establish a connection to the queue manager.

What actions do these tell you? That I need to somehow configure MQ to allow MQE to connect ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8510
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

psala wrote:
What actions do these tell you? That I need to somehow configure MQ to allow MQE to connect ?

Somehow?

Did you search for 'how to connect MQExplorer to server' or something similar?

I searched with this exact wording (above) and found this as the first search result:https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.0.0/com.ibm.mq.ins.doc/q009345_.htm
Setting up the server and client using IBM MQ Explorer on Windows
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:54 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6109

THIS should give you a starting point but I also advise you to search out Morag Hughson's articles on CHLAUTH etc., especially if you intend to map any users to a privileged user.
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psala
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 12:09 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

bruce2359 wrote:
psala wrote:
What actions do these tell you? That I need to somehow configure MQ to allow MQE to connect ?

Somehow?

Did you search for 'how to connect MQExplorer to server' or something similar?

I searched with this exact wording (above) and found this as the first search result:https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_9.0.0/com.ibm.mq.ins.doc/q009345_.htm
Setting up the server and client using IBM MQ Explorer on Windows


Hi Bruce I did find that article, but as I said it and many others assume that MQE is already able to connect to MQ.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:03 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1274
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

psala wrote:
What does r/c 2538 tell you? An MQCONN call was issued from a client to connect to a queue manager but the attempt to allocate a conversation to the remote system failed. Common causes of this reason code are:
The listener has not been started on the remote system.
The connection name in the client channel definition is incorrect.
The network is currently unavailable.
A firewall blocking the port, or protocol-specific traffic.
The security call initializing the IBM WebSphere MQ client is blocked by a security exit on the SVRCONN channel at the server.


Q1) do you have a listener on the remote system?
Q2) Is the connection name correct, using the port that the listener is listening on?
Q3) Is the network available? Can you ping the machine the queue manager is on?

Etc

Once you fix the network connectivity problems, you will then come across a different return code, and then you're into allowing access from a security perspective and my posts on configuring CHLAUTH etc may be helpful to you.

Cheers,
Morag

P.S. Perhaps you'd like some MQ training? Our "First Steps with MQ" module is free, see link in my sig
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
psala
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:21 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

hughson wrote:
psala wrote:
What does r/c 2538 tell you? An MQCONN call was issued from a client to connect to a queue manager but the attempt to allocate a conversation to the remote system failed. Common causes of this reason code are:
The listener has not been started on the remote system.
The connection name in the client channel definition is incorrect.
The network is currently unavailable.
A firewall blocking the port, or protocol-specific traffic.
The security call initializing the IBM WebSphere MQ client is blocked by a security exit on the SVRCONN channel at the server.


Q1) do you have a listener on the remote system?
Q2) Is the connection name correct, using the port that the listener is listening on?
Q3) Is the network available? Can you ping the machine the queue manager is on?

Etc

Once you fix the network connectivity problems, you will then come across a different return code, and then you're into allowing access from a security perspective and my posts on configuring CHLAUTH etc may be helpful to you.

Cheers,
Morag

P.S. Perhaps you'd like some MQ training? Our "First Steps with MQ" module is free, see link in my sig


Hi Morag, I will definitely take your "First Steps with MQ" module, thanks for sharing. As far as you question: Q1) do you have a listener on the remote system?
Well no I have not, I don't know how to do that. Can you provide an example? The only thing I have done so far are the steps I spelled out above. But I can't seem to find any info on how to set this up even tho it seems like it should be very simple
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:30 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 6109

Have a look at THIS...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:01 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8510
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Sorry. Not simple, but part of system admin basic training courses.

Get training. IBM offers MQ V9 System Administration training with lecture and hands-on lab exercises.

Also, search for MQ primer documentation. Download and read.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psala
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 11:53 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

bruce2359 wrote:
Sorry. Not simple, but part of system admin basic training courses.

Get training. IBM offers MQ V9 System Administration training with lecture and hands-on lab exercises.

Also, search for MQ primer documentation. Download and read.


Hi Bruce, Thanks....I have down loaded the primer...no luck there.
You said it wont be simple to config MQ to allow MQE to connect to it, I guess you are correct because I can't find it anywhere and no one here seems to have the exact commands. Odd I would think this simple task would just take just two or so simple commands, but I guess that's not the case at this for me being a newb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:05 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25838
Location: Texas, USA

psala wrote:
Hi Bruce, Thanks....I have down loaded the primer...no luck there.


It contains information not luck; it's a book not a 4 leaf clover.


psala wrote:
no one here seems to have the exact commands.


No, we don't.

psala wrote:
Odd I would think this simple task would just take just two or so simple commands


Guess again.

psala wrote:
but I guess that's not the case at this for me being a newb


No, it's not the case because it's not just 2 or so simple commands. I've been working with MQ for a little over 2 decades and it's not 2 or so simple commands for me either.

Morag has offered you her free training and I cannot endorse her work (all of it) highly enough. Once you move past this and into production strength MQ, you'll find her insights into security invaluable.

Even in this thread, her decomposition of the error message is right on the money:

hughson wrote:

Q1) do you have a listener on the remote system?
Q2) Is the connection name correct, using the port that the listener is listening on?
Q3) Is the network available? Can you ping the machine the queue manager is on?


So locate in the primer and the documentation how and where to define a listener, if you don't have one. That's 2 or so commands and are specific to your configuration - see below

Once you've defined that and got it running, establish a connection channel using the information in the primer and the link @Exerk provided. Again, this will be specific to your set up and 2 or so commands.

Then you fight it out with the network and this will be the most specific part of all as the connection channel, listener and other components must be set to values allowed by your network and where (for example) MQ traffic is allowed to flow to the port specified.

I wish you good fortune as you move from newb to expert.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8510
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Please consider...

Many come here as newbs. We enjoy helping, but we appreciate those who first help themselves.

Reading, training, basic research, trial and error, are the primary tools for acquiring and ultimately mastering a skill.

Asking us to look up error messages and ReasonCodes, or how to issue commands is NOT helping yourself.

We are volunteers here. Most/many of us are paid to do MQ work, either as an employee or as a consultant. I'm confident that you could engage one of us to come to your site in one capacity or the other to do the needful.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:06 pm Post subject: Re: How to config MQ to allow MQE connections Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 1274
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

psala wrote:
I installed MQ v.8 on AIX.v.7, then,
I created and started a queue manager called QM1
On QM1 I Defined a local queue called QUEUE1


After installation, did you verify your installation? The instructions should have taken you to this page:-

Setting up the server using the command line on AIX

These are probably the instructions you are looking for.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexIBM MQ Installation/Configuration SupportHow to config MQ to allow MQE connections
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.