ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ setting primary server setmqinst

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ setting primary server setmqinst View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
psala
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:33 am Post subject: MQ setting primary server setmqinst Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Posts: 6

I am new to IBM MQ. I just installed my first MQ server v.8 on AIX 7. The IBM installation guide for AIX states that after the install is complete that the next step to consider is:

If you have chosen this installation to be the primary installation on the system, you must now set it as the primary installation. Enter the following command at the command prompt:
MQ_INSTALLATION_PATH/bin/setmqinst -i -p MQ_INSTALLATION_PATH

I have two questions

1. I am not 100% sure what setting the primary server actually does. Can someone enlighten me. So I guess you can have for example MQ.v.8 and MQ.v7 installed on one AIX server. Does setting the MQ.8 one as primary mean that any commands you enter without paths will be for the primary server. If I only have one server is setting it as the primary of any benefit?

2. When I entered this command as root to set the primary server: "/usr/mqm/bin/setmqinst -i -p /usr/mqm", I saw this output:
89 of 89 tasks have been completed successfully. 'Installation1' (/usr/mqm) set as the primary installation.

what are the 89 tasks that took place?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:48 pm Post subject: Re: MQ setting primary server setmqinst Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25464
Location: Ohio, USA

psala wrote:
1. I am not 100% sure what setting the primary server actually does. Can someone enlighten me. So I guess you can have for example MQ.v.8 and MQ.v7 installed on one AIX server. Does setting the MQ.8 one as primary mean that any commands you enter without paths will be for the primary server. If I only have one server is setting it as the primary of any benefit?


It's not just a question of paths, it's a question of run time environment. Hence....

psala wrote:
2. When I entered this command as root to set the primary server: "/usr/mqm/bin/setmqinst -i -p /usr/mqm", I saw this output:
89 of 89 tasks have been completed successfully. 'Installation1' (/usr/mqm) set as the primary installation.

what are the 89 tasks that took place?


....all the needed configuration.

As to what actually happened, what benefit does this knowledge give you? What use will you put it to? You've grasped the concept of multiple installations so what else can you do with this?

If you're new to MQ then I would urge you to put this in the "and then it does what we paid IBM the license for" category and focus on topics of more immediate value. Return to this when you've figured out auto-triggered channels, pub/sub topologies and overlapping clusters.

You'll get ROI from any of those concepts. All you'll get out of multi-environment configuration is an interesting diagram. And an easier time migrating to v9.


_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:12 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8301
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

psala wrote:
I am new to IBM MQ.
I did a quick Google search for 'ibm mq primary installation' and found this: https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgecenter/en/SSFKSJ_7.5.0/com.ibm.mq.ins.doc/q005740_.htm

Please read.
_________________
There are two types of people in this world:
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mvic
PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 12:50 pm Post subject: Re: MQ setting primary server setmqinst Reply with quote

Jedi

Joined: 09 Mar 2004
Posts: 2069

psala wrote:
what are the 89 tasks that took place?

I think they are the actions listed in /opt/mqm/instinfo.tsk
(Replace /opt/mqm with wherever your installation is located).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ setting primary server setmqinst
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.