Author |
Message
|
St!n0 |
Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:48 pm Post subject: SET CHLAUTH command abnormal completion |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 Jan 2019 Posts: 14
|
Hi,
I am having this weird issue when executing a SET CHLAUTH command on our mainframe queue manager.
So whenever i execute a SET CHLAUTH command it ends with abnormal completion and the reason is mqrc 2053 Q_Full.
output:
Code: |
SET CHLAUTH('XXXXXX') TYPE(USERMAP) +
CLNTUSER('user1') ADDRESS('0.0.0.0') MCAUSER('mcauser') +
USERSRC(MAP) ACTION(REPLACE)
CSQN205I COUNT= 4, RETURN=0000000C, REASON=00D44004
CSQM056E MTC1 CSQMSCA MQPUT failed for queue
SYSTEM.CHLAUTH.DATA.QUEUE, MQRC=2053 (MQRC_Q_FULL)
CSQ9023E MTC1 CSQMSCA ' SET CHLAUTH' ABNORMAL COMPLETION |
Now this SYSTEM.CHLAUTH.DATA.QUEUE is nowhere near full, it's maxdepth is 999999999 and the current depth is 7.
PUT and GET is also enabled on the queue.
The queue was manually created using the ibm example in 'CSQ4INSA'.
After executing the chlauth command, when i check the chlauth data queue i can see that a new chlauth record is present and my MQ explorer also shows the new chlauth rule in it's list.
And after testing the connection it seems to be working, so why am i getting that Q full error message?
I have read an other forum topic about someone with a similar problem where chlauth commands were failing but the rule was active anyway, the issue there was that PUT was disabled one the chlauth data queue so MQ was not able to harden the rule on the queue but the chlauth rule remained active in memory untill queue manager restart.
This hopefully isn't the case for me because i can see messages show up on the queue, so i really hope they are hardened.
Does anyone have any idea what could cause this Q full error and can i be sure that my chlauth rules are hardened and won't be gone after a queue manager restart?
MQ Version: 9000
Platform: Z/OS
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
Sounds like a bug to me - have you opened a PMR with IBM?
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
St!n0 |
Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 Jan 2019 Posts: 14
|
hughson wrote: |
Sounds like a bug to me - have you opened a PMR with IBM?
Cheers,
Morag |
Thank you for your reply.
My colleague has just submitted a PMR with IBM concerning this issue.
We'll see what IBM's feedback will be and i'll post any relevant information or solution in this topic. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
RogerLacroix wrote: |
Is the command server running?
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. |
It would appear to be running since it has replied.
Code: |
SET CHLAUTH('XXXXXX') TYPE(USERMAP) +
CLNTUSER('user1') ADDRESS('0.0.0.0') MCAUSER('mcauser') +
USERSRC(MAP) ACTION(REPLACE)
CSQN205I COUNT= 4, RETURN=0000000C, REASON=00D44004
CSQM056E MTC1 CSQMSCA MQPUT failed for queue
SYSTEM.CHLAUTH.DATA.QUEUE, MQRC=2053 (MQRC_Q_FULL)
CSQ9023E MTC1 CSQMSCA ' SET CHLAUTH' ABNORMAL COMPLETION |
Cheers,
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
St!n0 |
Posted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 3:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 Jan 2019 Posts: 14
|
RogerLacroix wrote: |
Is the command server running?
Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc. |
Yes the command server is running, other commands complete normally and a DISPLAY CMDSERV command yields this:
Code: |
MTC1 DISPLAY CMDSERV
CSQN014I MTC1 COMMAND SERVER STATUS IS WAITING
CSQ9022I MTC1 CSQNCDSP ' DISPLAY CMDSERV' NORMAL COMPLETION |
I have submitted a PMR with IBM and they have not encoutered this issue before, they requested a dump of the MSTR and CHIN logs and so i did.
I am now waiting for a response from IBM |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
St!n0 |
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 Jan 2019 Posts: 14
|
For those who are interested, together with IBM support we have found the issue for the failing chlauth commands.
From trace data the IBM support engineer could see that my chlauth command gets interpreted by the command server with no issues.
It is actually the PUT for the MQEVENT message destined for the SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT queue that fails because that queue is actually full on our queue manager.
For some reason MQ misleadingly indicates that the CHLAUTH.DATA.QUEUE is full instead of the config event queue. They are aware that this is not normal behaviour and will be forwarding this issue to Hursley.
As for now, disabling config events or purging the SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT queue solves this issue and chlauth commands now end with normal completion. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
Until now I was confident in being able to say that while its not ideal that an Event Queue is full, and you should look into why that is, at least the full event queue wouldn't cause any issue with the queue manager or the apps that use it. You simply would lose (or never see) new event messages.
Glad they are treating it as a problem. Its the first time I've heard of an event queue filling causing issues. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Until now I was confident in being able to say that while its not ideal that an Event Queue is full, and you should look into why that is, at least the full event queue wouldn't cause any issue with the queue manager or the apps that use it. You simply would lose (or never see) new event messages. |
That is certainly how it is meant to be!
PeterPotkay wrote: |
Glad they are treating it as a problem. Its the first time I've heard of an event queue filling causing issues. |
Me too. _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|