ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexClusteringClusqmgr in stopped status

Post new topicReply to topic
Clusqmgr in stopped status View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 12:46 pm Post subject: Clusqmgr in stopped status Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 546

I am running MQ V8 under win7.

I have a cluster C1
C2QM1, C2QM2 are the full REPOS
IIB10QM is a member of C1 cluster

All looks normal when display from IIB10QM
runmqsc IIB10QM
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.IIB10QM) CHLTYPE(CLUSRCVR)
CONNAME(R9RVFCT(6414))
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.C2QM1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2411))

DIS CHS(TO.C2QM1)
14 : DIS CHS(TO.C2QM1)
AMQ8417: Display Channel Status details.
CHANNEL(TO.C2QM1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
CONNAME(127.0.0.1(2411)) CURRENT
RQMNAME(C2QM1) STATUS(RUNNING)
SUBSTATE(MQGET) XMITQ(SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE)

DIS CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL STATUS
15 : DIS CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL STATUS
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL(TO.IIB10QM)
CLUSTER(C1) STATUS(INACTIVE)

But when I display the cluster Qmgr from REPOS C2QM1 IIB10QM is in stopped status

RUNMQSC C2QM1
DIS CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL STATUS
8 : DIS CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL STATUS
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL(TO.IIB10QM)
CLUSTER(C1) STATUS(STOPPED)

-- I tried to do a start on the channel
START CHL(TO.IIB10QM)
5 : START CHL(TO.IIB10QM)
AMQ8227: Channel not found.

I have a cluster Q (GCLQ1) defined under IIB10QM and the REPO C2QM1 can see it
AMQ8409: Display Queue details.
QUEUE(GCLQ1) TYPE(QCLUSTER)
ALTDATE(2018-10-04) ALTTIME(12.19.35)
CLUSDATE(2018-10-04) CLUSTER(C1)
CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CLUSQT(QLOCAL)
CLUSTIME(12.16.06) CLWLPRTY(0)
CLWLRANK(0) DEFBIND(NOTFIXED)
DEFPRTY(0) DEFPSIST(YES)
DEFPRESP(SYNC) DESCR( )
PUT(ENABLED) QMID(IIB10QM_2017-08-15_13.53.52)

When I put a message to GCLQ1 from C2QM1, it goes to the SYSTEM.CLUSTER.TRANSMIT.QUEUE and stays there. The message is suppose to kick off the channel TO.IIB10QM. But it did not.

Any idea how I can fix this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:25 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 838
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

On each queue manager in your cluster, issue the following command and post the output.

Code:
DISPLAY CLUSQMGR(*)


You are looking for TEMPQMGR in any of the names.

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:35 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 19770
Location: LI,NY

Please display the manually created cluster receiver channel on IIB10QM with all of its properties...
_________________
MQ & Broker admin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:03 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 546

Just FYI, all qmgrs in the Cluster (C1) are locally defined on the same windows & server. So conname R9RVFCT and 127.0.0.1 are local host.

Quote:
You are looking for TEMPQMGR in any of the names


This was the first thing I look for and dd not see any. Below are some detail displays as requested

On IIB10QM
runmqsc IIB10QM
Starting MQSC for queue manager IIB10QM.

DIS CHL(TO.IIB10QM)
1 : DIS CHL(TO.IIB10QM)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.IIB10QM) CHLTYPE(CLUSRCVR)
ALTDATE(2018-10-09) ALTTIME(11.37.1
BATCHHB(0) BATCHINT(0)
BATCHLIM(5000) BATCHSZ(50)
CERTLABL( ) CLUSNL( )
CLUSTER(C1) CLWLPRTY(0)
CLWLRANK(0) CLWLWGHT(50)
COMPHDR(NONE) COMPMSG(NONE)
CONNAME(127.0.0.1(6414)) CONVERT(NO)
DESCR( ) DISCINT(6000)
HBINT(300) KAINT(AUTO)
LOCLADDR( ) LONGRTY(999999999)
LONGTMR(1200) MAXMSGL(4194304)
MCANAME( ) MCATYPE(THREAD)
MCAUSER( ) MODENAME( )
MONCHL(QMGR) MRDATA( )
MREXIT( ) MRRTY(10)
MRTMR(1000) MSGDATA( )
MSGEXIT( ) NETPRTY(0)
NPMSPEED(FAST) PROPCTL(COMPAT)
PUTAUT(DEF) RCVDATA( )
RCVEXIT( ) RESETSEQ(NO)
SCYDATA( ) SCYEXIT( )
SENDDATA( ) SENDEXIT( )
SEQWRAP(999999999) SHORTRTY(10)
SHORTTMR(60) SSLCAUTH(REQUIRED)
SSLCIPH( ) SSLPEER( )
STATCHL(QMGR) TPNAME( )
TRPTYPE(TCP) USEDLQ(YES)

DIS CHL(TO.C2QM1)
2 : DIS CHL(TO.C2QM1)
AMQ8414: Display Channel details.
CHANNEL(TO.C2QM1) CHLTYPE(CLUSSDR)
ALTDATE(2018-08-09) ALTTIME(12.22.23)
BATCHHB(0) BATCHINT(0)
BATCHLIM(5000) BATCHSZ(50)
CLUSNL( ) CLUSTER(C1)
CLWLPRTY(0) CLWLRANK(0)
CLWLWGHT(50) COMPHDR(NONE)
COMPMSG(NONE) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2411))
CONVERT(NO) DESCR( )
DISCINT(6000) HBINT(300)
KAINT(AUTO) LOCLADDR( )
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1200)
MAXMSGL(4194304) MCANAME( )
MCATYPE(THREAD) MCAUSER( )
MODENAME( ) MONCHL(QMGR)
MSGDATA( ) MSGEXIT( )
NPMSPEED(FAST) PASSWORD( )
PROPCTL(COMPAT) RCVDATA( )
RCVEXIT( ) RESETSEQ(NO)
SCYDATA( ) SCYEXIT( )
SENDDATA( ) SENDEXIT( )
SEQWRAP(999999999) SHORTRTY(10)
SHORTTMR(60) SSLCIPH( )
SSLPEER( ) STATCHL(QMGR)
TPNAME( ) TRPTYPE(TCP)
USEDLQ(YES) USERID( )

:
DIS CLUSQMGR(*) CONNAME STATUS
3 : DIS CLUSQMGR(*) CONNAME STATUS
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL(TO.IIB10QM)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(127.0.0.1(6414))
STATUS(INACTIVE)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(SYSTEM.TEMPQMGR.R9RVFCT(2411))
CHANNEL(TO.C2QM1) CLUSTER(C1)
CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2411)) STATUS(RUNNING)


You can see that IIB10QM shows status of inactive which I think is Normal.

On FR C2QM1
DIS CLUSQMGR(*) CONNAME STATUS
2 : DIS CLUSQMGR(*) CONNAME STATUS
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(C2QM1) CHANNEL(TO.C2QM1)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2411))
STATUS(RUNNING)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(C2QM2) CHANNEL(TO.C2QM2)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2412))
STATUS(RUNNING)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(C2QM3) CHANNEL(TO.C2QM3)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2413))
STATUS(STOPPED)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(C2QM4) CHANNEL(TO.C2QM4)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(2414))
STATUS(STOPPED)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(GWQM1) CHANNEL(TO.GWQM1)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(3411))
STATUS(STOPPED)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(GWQM2) CHANNEL(TO.GWQM2)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(R9RVFCT(3412))
STATUS(STOPPED)
AMQ8441: Display Cluster Queue Manager details.
CLUSQMGR(IIB10QM) CHANNEL(TO.IIB10QM)
CLUSTER(C1) CONNAME(127.0.0.1(6414))
STATUS(STOPPED)

You can see that IIB10QM is seen as in STOPPED status.

I also noticed that some other Qmgrs are also in stopped status. But this is a test cluster and my focus is on getting IIB10QM working at this time. This may indicated very well that the issue is on C2QM1 and not IIB10QM.

I tried a start chl on TO.IIB10QM and get NOT found error. I think this is because it is seen as in STOPPED status.

START CHL(TO.IIB10QM)
3 : START CHL(TO.IIB10QM)
AMQ8227: Channel not found.


BTW, I checked AMQERR01.LOG of IIB10QM, C2QM1 and found no err
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:04 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8183
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Rather than quoting your post, I edited your post to highlight the TEMPQMGR attribute. This indicates that the CLUSSDR and CLUSRCVR channels could not bind to each other. Often it's an incorrect ipaddress and/or port.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KIT_INC
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:44 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Knight

Joined: 25 Aug 2006
Posts: 546

Sorry, I must be drinking too much over the weekend. I remember doubled checked for tempqmgr and did not see it.
Thanks a lot for your time. I fixed it by removing IIB10QM from cluster and rejoining.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:10 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8183
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

KIT_INC wrote:
Sorry, I must be drinking too much over the weekend. I remember doubled checked for tempqmgr and did not see it.
Thanks a lot for your time. I fixed it by removing IIB10QM from cluster and rejoining.

Happy to help.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexClusteringClusqmgr in stopped status
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.