ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ message duplication without using pub/sub

Post new topicReply to topic
MQ message duplication without using pub/sub View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
mq_population
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:28 am Post subject: MQ message duplication without using pub/sub Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 14 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

Hi All

I have come across a situation where messages from a certain source is required across 3 (or 4) queue managers / environments .

Naturally - I have suggested to use Pub/Sub to achieve the same - But the requester informed that they are not able to change the code to publish message into a topic - instead of writing to a queue , which is what they are doing currently .

Is this possible to configure in MQ without making any code change from Sender APP ? possibly using a wildcard as topic string and altering the target to a topic ? any suggestions ?

Just to clarify - the flow goes like this -

1. Sender APP writes messages to QALIAS on SDR QM(Java Code using JMS)
2. QALIAS Points to a Cluster Q on the receiver QM
3. Receiver APP consumes the message from LQ on Receiver QM

But this Step 3 needs to change to replicate the message across 3 different QMGRs instead of only one , which is what it's doing currently .

And there will be no code change allowed in Sender APP (Step 1) to publish into a Topic.

Can anyone suggest if this is possible by using MQ only , No scripting or external coding to copy / move messages please .

FYI - we are using MQ Version 8.0.0.7 ;

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:33 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25266
Location: Ohio, USA

You could use an exit (mirrorq or something similar that's production strength).

I repeat what I've said many times in here - if the answer is an exit you're asking the wrong question.

It's going to be much safer / cheaper / easier to maintain to simply change the receiver app (not the unchangeable sender app) to read the message of the existing queue and then publish it as needed.

<plug>You might be able to mitigate some of the exit problems by buying a commerical exit with this capability</plug>
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mq_population
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:52 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 14 Jul 2009
Posts: 23

Thanks for the response !!

But we are not planning to use any exit , because we don't have budget to have one . Also - it will take considerable time to get the exit up and running in customer environment , probably not possible in a week or so .

The receiver application code change maybe possible - need to check that option .

But , are there any options to achieve this purely within MQ configuration , without changing any code in Sender and Receiver side ?


Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:05 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 25266
Location: Ohio, USA

mq_population wrote:
probably not possible in a week or so .


Oh hell no! You need to test the contact admin out of an exit.

(unless you bought it - no offense intended to any vendors reading this, who will have already tested the contact admin out of their product)

mq_population wrote:
But , are there any options to achieve this purely within MQ configuration , without changing any code in Sender and Receiver side ?


Nothing springs to mind. Someone smarter than me may be along in a minute.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exerk
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:24 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 02 Nov 2006
Posts: 5935

With props to Mr. Potkay, whom posted this many years ago...

Quote:
App A is putting to a local q called Q1. App B is pulling from Q1. You have MQ 7 and want to duplicate the messages but do not want to change the sending or receiving app code.

Define a topic called Q1T, with a topic string of Q1

Define a sub to topic object Q1T, with a destination of Q1

Define a Q Alias called Q1Alias, target type topic with a target of Q1T

A put to Q1Alias will now produce a message to the Q1 local queue

Define another sub to topic object Q1T, this time with a destination of Q2

A put to Q1Alias will now produce 2 messages, one to Q1 and one to Q2.


The only change in the original setup is that App A puts to Q1Alias instead of Q1. App A and App B don't know they are using Pub Sub. The subscriptions are created by the MQ Admin using admin commands.

Define as many subs as you need...
_________________
It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tczielke
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:59 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Shaman

Joined: 08 Jul 2010
Posts: 739
Location: Illinois, USA

IBM MQ also has a support doc to help with this type of configuration.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21574670
_________________
MQ administrator since 2010.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:30 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8159
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

tczielke wrote:
IBM MQ also has a support doc to help with this type of configuration.

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21574670


Paraphrased from the abov URL, it's important to note that the data payload will be duplicated, BUT each message will have its own unique message-id. Thus, the usual request-reply app design model will not work.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:53 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3074
Location: London, ON Canada

<Vendor>
Capitalware created and sells a product called MQ Message Replication. Its sole purpose is to clone messages written to a source queue (local, alias, remote and/or cluster) then write the exact same message to 'n' target queues.
</Vendor>

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
Capitalware Inc.
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportMQ message duplication without using pub/sub
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.