ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTrigger monitor stops working randomly in windows

Post new topicReply to topic
Trigger monitor stops working randomly in windows View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
donbirno
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:36 am Post subject: Trigger monitor stops working randomly in windows Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 01 Nov 2013
Posts: 10

I have an issue with our PROD MQ.

MQ trigger monitor was working fine for over an year.
Issue started last month and occurred 3 time in a month, During issue I see runmqtrm.exe process is running but messages were not processed.

When I kill the process and start the process back messages are processed.
I monitored both MQ and server end nothing no abnormalities were noted.

What are the possible scenarios for this occurrence?
Trigger event is set to Every.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:32 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8188
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Do you mean that Trigger Tyoe is set to EVERY on the application queue? Which Was set? TRIGGER or NOTRIGGER on the app queue?

When this occurs, what is the depth of the initiation queue? What is max depth of the initiation queue?

The trigger moniter writes informational messages to stdout about normal and abnormal events. What were the last 20 or so?
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
donbirno
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:06 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 01 Nov 2013
Posts: 10

Yes Trigger type is every, application queue set as TRIGGER(please note it was working good over an year without any issue).

depth of the initiation queue-110.
What is max depth of the initiation queue - default, 5000.

stdout ?? How to check it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hughson
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:19 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 09 May 2013
Posts: 840
Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Is it possible that the trigger monitor is running triggered applications in line instead of as background tasks and that some long running application was triggered?

What was new 3 months ago? Did a new queue get set up for triggering? Review all your triggered queues to ensure they are correctly configured - e.g. how the application is run. Is the newest created queue different from all the other triggered queues in some way?

Cheers,
Morag
_________________
Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 6:20 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Poobah

Joined: 05 Jan 2008
Posts: 8188
Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.

Id suggest that you modify the runmqtrm command that starts your trigger monitor to redirect stdout to a file. Something like:

runmqtrm -m qmgrname -q initqueuename >> runmqtrm.out

Next failure, look for evidence in the runmqtrm.out file.
_________________
I would tell you a UDP joke, but you might not get it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbaddeley
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 3:47 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Padawan

Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 1898
Location: Melbourne, Australia

hughson wrote:
Is it possible that the trigger monitor is running triggered applications in line instead of as background tasks and that some long running application was triggered?

Yes, this can prevent the trigger monitor from processing trigger messages in a timely manner.

@Donbirno, Is the depth increasing on the initiation queue? Is ipprocs = 1 ?

Is your trigger monitor set up something like this:
Code:
define service('TRIGGER.MONITOR') replace
  control(qmgr) servtype(server) descr('Trigger Monitor') +
  startcmd('+MQ_INSTALL_PATH+bin\runmqtrm.exe') +
  startarg('-m +QMNAME+ -q %TRIGMONINITQ%') +
  stopcmd('+MQ_INSTALL_PATH+bin\amqsstop.exe') +
  stoparg('-m +QMNAME+ -p +MQ_SERVER_PID+') +
  stdout('%TRIGMONDATADIR%\stdout.log') +
  stderr('%TRIGMONDATADIR%\stderr.log')
 start service('TRIGGER.MONITOR')

_________________
Glenn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:
Post new topicReply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum IndexGeneral IBM MQ SupportTrigger monitor stops working randomly in windows
Jump to:



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.